We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for visiting Cotswolds”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pafcmike
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect base for visiting Cotswolds”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Middle Gable for a week over the bank holiday at the beginning of May - with friends of ours for the first 3 nights, and then just the two us for another four nights.
The property is awesome, both as a lovely home, and as a location.
Middle Gable is everything - and more - that you expect, from the website. It has all the functionality you need, whilst maintaining its charm and character. Oak beams, wooden floors, beautiful 17th century furniture, windows, you feel like you are actually living in Tudor times, but with the required mod cons. It's spacious, comfortable and peaceful - an ideal getaway.
It's within walking distance of the centre of town (about 2 minutes away) yet you feel like you're in the countryside. You just couldn't wish for a better location.
There's a double garage, so we and the couple we shared with over the first 3 days, could both park in there. And, if you're feeling lazy, you can also park a car on the hard standing immediately in front of the garage.
Storage heaters and underfloor heating work a treat - although we rarely needed it, as the sun shone through the lounge window most of the time. A bathroom with shower attachment on the first floor was ideal, whilst our friends used the the shower room on the ground floor. Both were lovely.
We spent a lot of time visiting the quaint shops, cafes, pubs etc in Bourton itself, where there is such a great choice of quality eateries. But we also visited lots of other beautiful towns and villages from the base - such as Stow-on-Wold, Burford, Broadway, Chipping Camden, and Moreton in the Marsh- all of which were in easy reach of Bourton. We even spent a day at Stratford-upon-Avon, which, although a little further, still took less than 45 minutes to get to.

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough, as, from first speaking to Kate, the owner, (who told us everything we needed to know, as well as a few good tips, a few days before arrival) right through to leaving day, we had such a relaxing break.

Even the neighbours were friendly, with Anne always willing to share a few ideas with us, when we bumped into her.

If you're looking for a typically quintessential English hideaway with quality, I can't believe there is a better choice out there than Middle Gable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tapper54
Frankfort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Three weeks was still not long enough!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015

The first time my husband and I stayed at Middle Gable, we rented for one week, had a lovely time, but it was over all to quickly. So, the next year, we booked for two weeks. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, now so comfortable, it was like coming home. Our most recent stay was for three weeks in September of 2015. All we can say is, when can we come back? The location of this most magnificent property is super convenient to the village, yet kept very private from the tourist element. The pubs, the shops, the bakery, all wonderful places to visit and yet return to your own patch of heaven at the end of the day. The underfloor heating makes it most comfortable, even on a cold, rainy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden.
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlikesp...
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic English Countryside”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Middle Gable. We stayed there with our 3 kids, ages 9, 11, and 14. It was perfectly located in the gorgeous town of Bourton-on-the-Water. We could easily walk to everything in town and also drove to Warwick castle and Birmingham for a premier league game. The cottage itself so comfortable and has everything that you could need to stay there a few days or longer. Hopefully we'll make it back there some day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetenore
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had visited Bourton-on the Water in the spring and we all wanted to come back at Christmas to completely immerse ourselves in the festive spirit. Our daughter came back from Australia with her boyfriend on his first visit to the UK so we wanted to let him experience a quintessential Cotswold atmosphere.

We were uncertain at first as to the exact location but when we arrived we were delighted to find that the property was literally less than a minutes walk from the village centre. MiddleGable is a magnificent listed property which oozes its original historical charm in every nook and cranny. The magnificent four poster main bedroom is everything you would imagine a room of that type to be. This property has everything you could wish for and the fact that it is located in a fabulous position in probably the most picturesque of all the Cotswold villages just makes it one of the most special places we have ever stayed at.

We were reluctant to write this review in case it attracted so many people we would not be able to rebook but in our hearts we simply could not deny this experience to anyone else. The immediate neighbours are one of the nicest couples we have met and told us that they had originally come from London as evacuees during the last war. They loved it so much they have lived in the area since then never wanting to move away. I fully understand there sentiment. This is one of those rare but very special places that has a magic and charm that simply cannot be surpassed. We have travelled extensively, stayed in some amazing places but this is right up there with the very best. IITenore

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiGlen...
Miami Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The loving restoration of this home was very cozy and true to 17th century architecture....”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Middle Gable, the large center section of a stunning 17th century manse was like a time capsule. The loving restoration of this structure was first rate and true to the period - except, thank goodness, for the kitchen and baths. The town itself was also true to the period without being hyperaware of its own quaintness. I chose to visit in Winter but the more than adequate heating as well as the much appreciated heated floor in the lounge kept the feeling cozy. Visiting from the States, where an "old" structure means something different entirely, this home was a real treat.
Kate, the owner, was also instrumental in guiding us to some very interesting spots we may otherwise have missed....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authenticity of the remodel - true to the period with the exceptions of kitchen and baths, of course.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing