We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
steve k
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

MG really lived up to its billing and was the best cottage holiday my wife and I have had and we've regularly taken this type of holiday in recent years.The house is well appointed and very comfortable with all the necessary amenities.Bourton on the Water is a beautiful village offering many good eateries and well located for touring the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray E
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Perfect Break”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

To stay in Middle Gable was a privilege. A beautiful period building, clean and well, maintained in the heart of a picturesque village. Walk a few hundred yards to the center of Bourton on the Water and you have the river with five pretty bridges surrounded by some very nice bars and restaurants. Food and drink in the village was plentiful. The house is stunning, original beams, low doorways, beautiful staircase, period fittings - comfortable beds, good kitchen, etc. The owner was very personable, provided good customer service and was easily contactable. We found there to be plenty of space for two couples. There were an abundance of walks to enjoy around the village. Would highly recommend to the discerning traveller.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location in the village
Liked least: day trippers and it rained one day
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth O
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon Heaven”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

WOW, a gorgeous place full of character. A MUST stop place.
Middle gable was amazing.
A really nice village, and surrounding villages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Gypsy
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“English Cottage Stay”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful English cottage experience in a picture perfect town. The cottage exceeded our expectations and was presented beautifully. Our host was very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMcG68...
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We are glad we did not read the somewhat negative 14th October comment before opting to rent this property. Our expectations were fully met and we found that the quirkiness of the house and the historical feel of it all added to our enjoyment. the accommodation successfully combined the feeling of something old with modern facilities and it had a warm feel to it at what was a cold time of the year. We also felt that Kate, the owner went out of her way to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. She even took the trouble to phone us on the evening of our arrival to check that we were happy with everything.
It was perfectly situated for the town, alternative shops and good pubs and restaurants and we would not hesitate to recommend Middle Gable for those who enjoy something a bit different.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so different from other holiday homes we had stayed in.
Liked least: We have nothing bad to say about it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing