We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Fabulous ”
Review of New Dawn Inn

New Dawn Inn
Ranked #39 of 615 Restaurants in Gloucestershire
Price range: USD 6 - USD 26
Description: A very warm welcome awaits you to what was once the Kings Head situated in the village of Norton situated on the A38 between Tewkesbury and Gloucester. The Kings Head ceased trading in 2011 and was totally refurbished during the early months of 2017 and re opened in August 2017 as the New Dawn Inn It was decided to give the old name a rest and start with a new fresh beginning A new Dawn.  The proprietors have quite a bit of experience in the trade, having run restaurants and bars in Gloucestershire for well over 20 very successful years. We employ 4 highly trained chefs (not cooks) who are deeply passionate about what they produce and our head chef coming from a 4 star Cheltenham hotel. tel- 01452 730001 info@newdawninn.co.uk we operate a no children policy as we wish adults to take the time to relax and enjoy high class food in a child free environment. There are a number of great children venues in the local area that cater for children. where we take ours.
Restaurant details
Description: A very warm welcome awaits you to what was once the Kings Head situated in the village of Norton situated on the A38 between Tewkesbury and Gloucester. The Kings Head ceased trading in 2011 and was totally refurbished during the early months of 2017 and re opened in August 2017 as the New Dawn Inn It was decided to give the old name a rest and start with a new fresh beginning A new Dawn.  The proprietors have quite a bit of experience in the trade, having run restaurants and bars in Gloucestershire for well over 20 very successful years. We employ 4 highly trained chefs (not cooks) who are deeply passionate about what they produce and our head chef coming from a 4 star Cheltenham hotel. tel- 01452 730001 info@newdawninn.co.uk we operate a no children policy as we wish adults to take the time to relax and enjoy high class food in a child free environment. There are a number of great children venues in the local area that cater for children. where we take ours.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Tonight we had a family dinner at the New Dawn Inn and once again we couldn't fault it. They have a great team and the food and service once again was excellent. Highly recommend you give this place a try

Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Guest Relations Manager at New Dawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Many thanks for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Visited for Sunday lunch and had a nice meal with family. Very busy and most tables were reserved so best to book. Although busy there were plenty of staff dealing with orders. Gluten free meals available.
Food was well presented and enjoyable

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David71242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Manager at New Dawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We ate an evening meal on a Thursday with friends, so there were three couples. There were several other tables in use and our waiting staff were attentive, and capable without being intrusive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndyHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Director of Sales at New Dawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your review please see more reviews on the New Dawn Inn on Facebook and Google.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Hi there, another quick review whilst I'm having my brekkie. So, thought the wife and I would pop out for something to eat over the bank holiday on a whim like you do. Decided to pop back to the New Dawn at Norton as its not too far from home and have always had a decent meal in nice surroundings to try and get in over the bank hols.
Yet again were pleased that we chose to go back, as always the place is busy but to me thats a good sign, I'd be worried if it was empty.
The wife opted for scallops for starters, nice to see that they've improved an already great dish by giving you more black pud, nomnomnom.
As i'm a pudding man i thought i'd save the space for the banoffee pie.
Both had steak for main, nice to find a place that sources local produce and to cook it how you want with that lovely seared effect on, i always try and fail when i attempt it at home.
Nice meal washed down with a couple of pints of cider, not rushed, and looked after by the regular crew.
Glad we popped back, glad to get in, and will gladly pop back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank taniasnuth0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, General Manager at New Dawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your review please see more reviews on the New Dawn Inn on Facebook and Google.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

What a shame that such a nice meal was let down by slow service. The time taken to serve the meal was ok, we had finished a one course meal in an hour, but then had to wait 25 minutes for our plates to be removed. We were then handed the desert menu and all staff then disappeared again. In the end we got so fed up with waiting, we got up and paid at the bar, without ordering our desert as we were concerned how long this would take! Three staff were just standing at the bar talking to one another, completely ignoring their waiting customers. We will not be going back to this restaurants again.

5  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, Director of Sales at New Dawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Many thanks for your review please see more reviews on the New Dawn Inn on Facebook and Google.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Dawn Inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Norton, Gloucester
 

Been to New Dawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing