We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful week with plenty to do and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ten guests can happily sit down for dinner together, in the social kitchen/dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ten guests can happily sit down for dinner together, in the social kitchen/dining area.
Deking outside the living room, in the fresh air and private behind the hedge. Pett Level beach at low tide.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Ten guests can happily sit down for dinner together, in the social kitchen/dining area.
Deking outside the living room, in the fresh air and private behind the hedge.
Pett Level beach at low tide.
Log burner on the go while preparing dinner
Outside seating for all ten guests, perfect for summer nights together.
The living room has cosy sofas around a traditional wood burner and another dining table.
Large, modern functional kitchen at Bridge House
Modern appliances in Bridge House make it an ideal location to cook for friends and family.
Double en-suite bedroom off dining area. Separate from the other four beds, ideal for grandparents.
Four main bedrooms are down this light corridor off the living room, separated from bedroom five.
One twin room, the other four are doubles
All of the bedrooms have been recently refusbished, including this double.
One of the en-suite double bedrooms. French windows lead out to the decking
A cosy double bedroom with clean wooden floor and good storage
Arty shot!
The twin single bed room
Log burner in the kitchen/dining room. Perfect reason to stay chatting at the table after dinner...
Living room. There is a smart TV with Freeview here, the traditional stove is the heart of the room.
Refusbished for 2014, the house is modern and friendly, designed to bring all guests together
Bridge House nestles behind cosy hedges, and has a simple garden spaces.
Says it all...
The remote-controlled roof windows open up in the summer to bring the outside into the dining room.
Second dining table in the living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JLovingTi...
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We were charged £200 for a burst water pipe! Money grabbing owners.”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Initially this property appears clean and modern. However, problems included : Having to sleep on the sofa cushions as our mattress which was thoroughly worn out with sharp springs sticking out of it; the second TV only had hard wooden dining chairs around it, not very relaxing after a long day, and the dining room was was also open plan to the living room with the other television; The kitchen sink had a broken macerator in it we were told not to use (in our view faulty electrical equipment in a sink should be removed before guests move in); one bedroom had a live wasp nest right outside the top opener of the window, which meant it could not be opened which in summer was not very good. This also affected our bedroom next door. However, the main problem during our holiday was the shower water pipe breaking WHEN NOBODY WAS USING IT - we went in there and water was pouring out of the wall. We called the owner who then charged us for a new shower. This meant that £204 of our £300 deposit was taken. We were offered no compensation for only having two showers for nine people, in addition to giving 13 hours with no water supply whilst waiting for the leak to be repaired.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
We are sorry that you managed to break the family bathroom shower, after your party had used it quite happily when you started your stay. We are sorry that you told Mulberry Cottages, who you booked with, that the reason for the physical damage to it was "erosion"... we're not clear how "erosion" could cause bends and leaks in two pipes simultaneously... and neither was the plumber who pointed out that the shower valve appeared to have been pulled from the wall; both the hot and cold water input pipes were bent, having been physically wrenched from the valve, consistent with someone using it as some sort of handle to pull themselves roughly out of the bath.

Because this happened over a bank holiday weekend, the property manager that was called out at short notice asked that if you wanted to stop the water flow from the broken shower into the bath, that you turn off the water mains supply when you were out of the house, or unable to have a look in on the leak, until a plumber arrived the next day.
He explained to you that if you wanted to use water in the house that would be okay, but you would need to keep an eye on the leak (fortunately it leaked into the bath) until a plumber arrived, it being a bank holiday weekend. He pointed out that at the time you were quite happy with his practical suggestion, and quite happy that you could see how to turn the master water supply on and off when you needed to. If it had been urgent, we are told a plumber could have been called straight away at an emergency rate. We are sorry that you have neglected to mention this in your review, and that there was indeed no need for any 13 hours with no water supply that you suggest happened...

No-one has ever told us they've had to sleep on the sofa before; again it's odd that our guests before never found these problems. One of the mattresses is a memory foam and the rest aren't, perhaps this has some bearing upon your perception of the mattresses ?

The second TV is in the kitchen. It only has "hard wooden dining chairs around it", because it is, in fact, on the wall above the dining table, and the chairs are dining chairs. Placed around the dining table. This is a reasonably standard dining chair/table arrangement... and this and the TV are clearly displayed prominently on the Mulberry Cottages web site.

You said there was a problem with wasps four days into your visit, yet you didn't tell us about this problem that supposedly ruined four days of your holiday, until you decided to ask for "compensation" for this wasp problem that you hadn't told us about - when you did, a pest control firm was requested straight away and removed a small nest. But curiously you only asked for this "compensation" when it became clear that the damage you had caused to the shower necessitated a replacement shower valve, rather than simple repair...

The macerator was not broken, and was working at the start and the end of your holiday. You did, however, tell Mulberry Cottages that it had flooded the kitchen. When asked for details of this flood, you were unable to give any. We provide instructions for how to use it in the welcome documents at the house. We never were able to work out what problem you had with it, although it's interesting that you only reported this problem at the same time you were asking for "compensation" for the wasps that had apparently spoiled your holiday for four days... when you realised that the shower valve you had broken needed replacement not repair.

In truth, it is unexpected that the guests the week immediately before you never had this sort of problem with wasps etc. that was so bafflingly troubling for you. The house can take quite a battering when it's used back-to-back over the summer, and we have never been in a situation where we've had anything other than breakages of glasses/crockery, wear and tear etc. (we are dog friendly and the entire house is painted white and is designed to be relatively low maintenance for holiday home usage) which we don't believe would be reasonable to hold back a deposit for.

We have never had to personally withhold a deposit from direct bookings ever, and as far as we are aware this is the first time Mulberry Cottages have withheld a deposit from a guest at Bridge House. However, we do understand why Mulberry Cottages, who you booked your holiday through, did not return all of your deposit to you, and we fully support them in this.

You say "We called the owner who then charged us for a new shower", yet we have never discussed the damage you caused with you. Our understanding is that the decision to withhold your deposit was made after you had vacated Bridge House.

We are very happy with the service we provide on balance, and we feel Bridge House has given many families and groups very happy holidays for a very reasonable price. We don't factor in the amount of damage your party caused as fair wear and tear, and we are not planning to increase our prices to factor in an allowance for guests such as yourselves to cause that amount of damage, and not have it reflected in the deposit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortyfami...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful week with plenty to do and accommodation which suited us down to the ground”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The area was a complete revelation ... really pretty and plenty to do and see. The accommodation really worked well for us, providing for all our wants . It was comfortable and welcoming. We particularly liked the kitchen and dining area, which was a real social focal point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed Pett!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill N
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a large group holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a family group of ten celebrating a 90th birthday. We had a brilliant week in this lovely, unusual and very comfortable property. The beds were extremely comfortable and everything we could have wished for was provided - it was exceptionally well equipped. We enjoyed the deck outside and the large amount of space inside. The location suited us well - a short walk to a lovely quiet beach and a short drive to both Rye and Hastings.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Glad you enjoyed your week!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissJo14
Basel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house for adult group”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great house for Christmas entertaining, very well appointed, clean, uncluttered and in an area where there is a lot to do, beach walks and pub near by make even winter weather cheerful. Appreciated four double bedrooms for adult group but some mattresses need toppers or replacing as springs can be felt. Living room could do with another sofa or chairs, instead of small table and chairs perhaps (?) as there is currently seating only for seven.
Decorated Christmas tree was a very thoughtful touch.
Thank you we had a lovely time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. The original mattresses were replaced. We agree about the living room, but we wanted the option to have a second dining table in there, for jigsaws etc. and to keep it separate from the kitchen/main dining table. We think the only solution is a custom made L-shaped sofa which would let us have the best of both worlds, watch this space...!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshMadn...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape for a weekend”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent two nights at Bridge House in June 2014 and had a wonderful weekend. The house is in a lovely tranquil location and offers a great space for a large group of people (we were 9 adults). A short walk from Pett Level beach, there were also local pubs within walking distance which offered freshly cooked food if you don't fancy cooking.

That said, the kitchen offered everything you could need to cook a great meal with a lovely dinning area. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all clean and comfortable. There is also wi-fi available.

We had wonderful weather and were able to make use of the raised decking area all weekend. The decking gets sunlight from first thing to the late evening and is a great space for socialising and eating outside. The garden and decking area is secured with a fence so ideal for children and dogs.

I would highly recommend this property for groups who wish to spend time together in a great location. Beach lovers will appreciate being able to walk to a clean pebbled beach which also offers free parking if required.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The decking area
Liked least: Was a little difficult to find
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your kind words, and we are glad you had a lovely weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing