We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Most Wonderful Stay~”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
towns9
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Most Wonderful Stay~”
Reviewed 5 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This was our second time staying at this fabulous cottage (Blackthorn Cottage) which is set in the middle of the countryside and is surrounded by the most beautiful scenery. The accommodation is ever so homely and comfortable, as it has a very relaxed feel to it and we just loved spending time in the hot-tub which is set in the courtyard next to the heated indoor swimming pool.

Both Peter and Karen are probably the friendliest hosts that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting and they are such an interesting couple to talk to, as they are just so passionate about their community and they really do care about the needs off anyone staying there, as they will both go out of their way to assist you if you need it, but at the same time they will kindly leave you alone to just enjoy yourselves. Karen even passed on some of her award winning home made honey and fig pie, which she had entered into at their local fete and had won 1st prize!

We have booked again for next year (2019) this time for two weeks, as we just feel so relaxed by being here and it will be a pleasure to meet Karen & Peter again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for your very sweet review. It means a lot to us to know that we have helped to make your holiday the success that it was. Karen made a delicious honey and almond cake recently, but it didn't last long! Hopefully we'll still have some of this year's honey from our hives when you holiday next year, and you can then sample that lovely cake. I hope in 2019 that you'll also have the opportunity to visit some of the beautiful National Trust properties in the area: Batemans and the castle at Bodiam are of particular interest, along with the imaginative gardens at Great Dixter and Pashley. See you both next May!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious75...
2 reviews
“Friendly and luxurious.”
Reviewed 13 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A warm welcome as expected from Peter on our return visit and this time we were lucky to enjoy a beautiful sunny day in Hythe. Blackthorn Cottage boasts a beautiful view, peace and quiet and a huge bonus of a hot-tub and pool. What's not to like? PS: The honey and eggs were delicious!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to write the great review.
I'm glad your return visit was a success, and that you liked our honey too! We actually had a delivery of small jars today with the idea that we can now offer our bees' honey to future guests, or home-made Damson preserve from our little orchard, as a 'thank you' to returning guests such as yourselves, as well as people who book week-long breaks or more.
We hope we may see you again in the future as there is so much more to discover in this special part of East Sussex...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“A superb 40th Birthday treat”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My wife booked this amazing little cottage as a surprise for my 40th Birthday.
The owner Peter was very accommodating and provided my wife and I with instructions,directions and general information about the area. We both loved our stay and would definitely be booking to return. The homemade birthday cake, fresh eggs and wine on arrival was a nice touch!
We have recommended Blackthorne to our friends and family as we found it to be a relaxing hideaway.
The hot tub was amazing!
Thanks again Peter!
Dave & Jen

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Thanks for leaving the review. We enjoyed having you stay, and hope you'll return sometime - perhaps next time with your 4 yr old daughter? Blackthorn is a special place to celebrate a birthday, honeymoon, or anniversary, and Karen and I enjoy adding in some extras to make it even more memorable, so we're happy that it all worked out!
Thanks again for taking the time to write the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose J
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Blackthorn for my partner’s birthday. Peter was SO helpful with recommendations for walks, visits and restaurants. Everything was perfect and we were given a free bottle of prosecco to celebrate with! Thank you so much Peter and Karen! We highly recommend staying at Blackthorn or Cedarwood (we had a little tour). :) Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
...you can ONLY have a little tour of Cedarwood as it's so compact! Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm glad the birthday weekend was a success, and we hope you'll return some day. Blackthorn is an ideal place to celebrate a special occasion, and Karen and I always want our guests to get the most out of their stay here - and if it's a celebration then we'll endeavour to pull out all the stops! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage very well maintained with beautiful views. Great value 👍🏻”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights at end of May. The cottage is located between Rye and Hastings and is perfect base for exploring local coastline and attractions. The cottage is in grounds of owners home and is just utterly lovely and kept spotlessly clean. Peter the owner is such a nice man and makes you feel very welcome and obviously cares that guests have a pleasant stay. Having exclusive use of the swimming pool & hot tub was the cherry on the cake!
We had a lot of rain on our second day but even so still plenty to do and see. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants in the area and some exceptionally pretty villages. We had a lovely time and will definitely return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Wow Paula, what a lovely review! I'm not quite sure where to start...except, please return whenever you can, and I'll see what I can do about the weather! It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you stay at Blackthorn. Since opening in 2007 we have had many guests, and only a few don't wish to have any contact with us and know exactly what their itinerary will be during their stay, but many, like yourselves, are happy to receive our recommendations, and occasionally tell us of places and experiences we don't have first-hand knowledge of but can then pass on to future guests. This part of East Sussex of full of great places to visit and things to do, and you're right - I want our guests to get the most out of their brief time here, and for them to have the best experience - one that they will treasure for years to come. So, thank you once again for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and please try and return - perhaps a little longer next time...?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing