We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blackthorn cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stephen k
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blackthorn cottage”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic three days at blackthorn. Huge thanks to both Karen & Peter for all the local advice and for being the perfect hosts. Three days of total relaxation in beautiful countryside with the added bonus of our own pool and hot tub. Ideally located for day trips to a lot of Sussex attractions we would totally recommend this holiday. Peter I think you should consider changing blackthorn's name to Elysium cottage. Thanks again hope to see you both again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Many thanks for the glowing review. We hope you're cold has now gone? It certainly didn't stop you enjoying your time here which was a relief. Yes, plenty of places to visit and things to do. This part of (1066) East Sussex is naturally rich in History but also has many fine, country houses with magnificent gardens, expansive sand dunes, dramatic shingle beaches, and stunning cliff tops to enjoy too. Inland is also the picturesque Bodiam Castle, Great Dixter, the Kent and East Sussex Railway, and Kipling's Batemans, to name just a few... You'll just have to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsA89
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blackthorn Cottage - a wonderful escape”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Only here for three days, which was just not enough, but we still managed to unwind and enjoy the scenery and the quiet. Peter and Karen are the perfect hosts, there if you need them with a vast knowledge of the area/wildlife/places to eat, but they leave you alone to enjoy their surroundings. Cottage is a dream and more than comfortable for two. The pool was a great bonus too. Felt at home immediately.

You have a beautiful home Peter and Karen. Thanks too for the hens eggs, they were lovely. We will definately return but for longer next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Yes, try and return for longer next time. It was good to meet you both and thanks for the lovely review. As you know, I am happy to point you in the direction of many places I think you'd enjoy, but also each guest receives a Rye Bay guide in the post several weeks before the start of their break to introduce them to the area, and help them plan their stay. It's a great free publication that covers much of the history of the area, what to see and do, but also where to eat and drink. The Rye area is full of breakfast places, coffee shops, tea shops, pubs that do great food, and quality restaurants. If you're on a diet then it's probably NOT the easiest place to enjoy a holiday...but come and test your will power!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Blackthorn cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great place for our stay, everything we needed and pool was great. Such a good location and view as well. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks for taking time to leave your review. Blackthorn is very well located to enjoy so many places and things to do - young or old (and in-between)! If you'd been staying longer then there are a number of places to go to that are ideal for little Isaac. We had so many great days out when our son was that age... Good luck with no.2!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cedarwood - A wee gem in a grand setting!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cedar wood is a dear little cabin, most tastefully decorated and furnished, and with everything one might need for an overnight, or weekend stay near Rye. There are so many restaurants, walks and other attractions within a short car ride, that we regretted we were not staying longer. Sharing a huge lawn with Blackthorn Cottage, Cedarwood is far enough away from it to offer peace and privacy. We stoked the little fire with logs when the weather was bad, and lunched on the sunny deck when the weather was good. We enjoyed the dorma window above the bed, and fell asleep under the stars, listening to the rustle of leaves overhead.
From the onset of our initial enquiry, through to the end of our stay, Peter was the perfect host. He was prompt and attentive in all communications; considerate and accommodating - always to hand if needs be, but never imposing.
We would definitely consider Cedarwood again, and Blackthorn Cottage for a longer stay, only due to size.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Many thanks for the thoughtful review of our little clamping cabin in the copse! As you suggested, it's totally self-sufficient with a galley kitchen, small bathroom and many of the comforts of home - just a little smaller! (Ideal for a romantic weekend break or a little longer, although we do have guests currently staying for one week)! Unlike Blackthorn it has it's own private garden, handy car park close-by under the trees, and several areas to relax and unwind in the peace and the quiet of the Sussex countryside. Anyway, we have a few formalities before we can start to advertise Cedarwood properly, but it will be on with Trip Advisor/Holiday Lettings very soon, so please watch this space and we hope to welcome you in the future; and to this kindly reviewer, 'please come back to England sometime and you can experience Blackthorn!'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footsie67
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay ”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

6th stay at blackthorn and booked for next year. Shame the weather was not the best but still relaxed in pool and hot tub.

Peter and Karen are brilliant hosts and there is lots of information in the cottage and they know most things about the area.

Cottage is well equipped with TV, DVD player, dishwasher, microwave and kitchen equipment. Just bring your food and drink.

Great views and not far from rye and local pubs with great food.

Well worth the stay for relaxation and chill out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely review - 6th time here - that's a great Blackthorn compliment! Another 50th celebration next year so we'll have further complimentary treats in store for you in August 2018! Enjoy the rest of the summer - still mixed weather here but of course the indoor pool comes into its own when guests can't go out and play, and it's only a short walk across the courtyard (passed the bubbling tub)... Anyway, see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing