We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Valentine's break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thurston...
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine's break”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Blackthorn cottage was a amazing valentine's break.
Before we went to the cottage had lunch in the Robin Hood pub was very nice.
Got to the cottage was greeted by Peter he showed us inside and we had Prosecco a card and eggs on the table.
The eggs were from the chickens and ducks they have was a lovely touch.
Wasn't cold enough for the wood burner but we had to light it but had to open the doors it got so hot.
Bed was huge very comfortable a great nights sleep, had sole use of the pool and hot tub.
Best thing of the stay was star gazing while sat on the hot tub.
Honestly this place is amazing couldn't ask for anything more on valentine's.
Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Thank you
Peter and Karen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review but also for 'liking' our Blackthorn Holiday Cottage Facebook page. It's much appreciated. Star gazing from the hot tub sounds amazing, but is only something I manage to do occasionally as Blackthorn is so popular, and subsequently rarely empty - silly me! But the combination of being out in the countryside and close to the coast does mean big open skies and very little light pollution. At this time of year with fewer people visiting the area it does also mean that you can have the beaches to yourselves for romantic walks, and afterwards often find a cosy corner in a nice pub with a roaring fire. Thanks again for the review, and Karen and I hope to welcome you again to Blackthorn sometime...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
457Travel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Blackthorn Cottage is in a super location, as there are so many places to visit nearby, not least Rye, which is a favourite of our, especially during the quieter seasons. The cottage is well equipped, with everything to hand if you wish to self-cater (as we did on this occasion.) The living room has brilliant views of the countryside from the window, and also boasts a wood burning stove. The contribution of free range eggs from Peter and Karen's own chickens, made a nice addition to breakfast.
An added bonus is the swimming pool, and also the hot tub, which, although we stayed in January and the weather was cold, we did use on both nights of our brief stay. We had lovely clear skies, and so were able to lay back and luxuriate in the warm water, while gazing at the moon and stars. What a treat!
After our warming dip each night, we got dressed, and visited one of the two pubs that are in the village, The Robin Hood, for a pint. It only takes about ten minutes to get there on foot, and we found it very welcoming. Although we didn't eat there, the food that was coming from the kitchen looked delicious, and people seemed to be enjoying it. Next time, we'll probably eat there as well.
For anyone who enjoys walking, the area is perfect, and you will find books on local walks in the cottage. If shopping is your thing, then Rye has many little independent shops, and additionally, plenty of welcoming tea rooms for you to pick from. If you crave a larger town for shopping and a more familiar high street, Hastings is not far away, and also has a very interesting Old Town, where the series Foyle's War was filmed.
If you are in need of some downtime, Blackthorn Cottage is an excellent choice of accommodation, and somewhere we will return to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Wow, what a great review! I almost can't add anything to your lovely comments except that perhaps you should work for the local tourist board! Both pubs - The Robin Hood just up the lane, and The Queen's Head at the other end of the village - are both good for home-cooked food, and are full of genuine character and interest, and with friendly staff. Great for just a drink, a nibble or whole lot more, but bear in mind both pubs serve LARGE portions of food so a 'whole to more' is A WHOLE LOT MORE! The old town of Hastings also has some good places to eat, and some charming little pubs such as 'The Dolphin' in Rock-O-Nore crammed full of fishing memorabilia, old photos and model boats etc. If guests are only able to stay for 2 x nights then one day could be spent wandering around Rye - up and around it's beautiful citadel, and in and out of the 'antique' shops; while day 2 could be enjoyed discovering the tall, black net huts on the beach near the fishing fleet, and the network of old, narrow streets that criss-cross the old town of Hastings. Both are very easy and straight forward to visit from here...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footsie67
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant 5th stay ”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We booked for the fireworks display at the local pub, the Robin Hood. We have stayed at different times of the year and always enjoy our stay, hence returning, and have recommended to family and friends.

The cottage is comfortable and has everything in you need. The log burner in the colder months is great. You can use the hot tub even if there's snow on the ground. The pool is a good size. We have booked again for the summer.

Looking forward to see how the cabin is coming along.

It's a central location for Rye and the beach at camber and other costal towns.

Peter and Karen are so friendly and always there to help. There is lots of information in the cottage.

Well worth the visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Yes, your 5th stay! Your weekend in July will be great as there's so much to see and do in this fantastic area through the summer months - or you can just chill-out in the garden with the loungers, BBQ and the badminton set...? The only downside is you've only got 3 x nights and NOT 7... Oh well, you'll just have to come back again! We wish the 3 of you a lovely Easter break and look forward to seeing you again in late July. Best wishes, Peter, Karen, Ollie (and Ringo, the elderly German Short-haired Pointer).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob W
2 reviews
“Amazing short break with young family - highly recommend”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed for two nights in December to celebrate our wedding anniversary with a young family (5 month old) and couldn't recommend Blackthorn highly enough.

Immaculate, comfortable accommodation with the hot tub, private pool and log burner being real luxury touches. We booked for a relaxing break and two evenings spent under the stars in the outdoor hot tub delivered just that!

Peter & Karen were incredibly friendly and welcoming and made our occasion very special with a banner on arrival accompanied by a bottle of fizz and freshly laid hen eggs!

There is plenty to do in the area - more than we could manage in a couple of days - and we will certainly be back to do more, particularly in the summer to take advantage of the outdoor seating area facing the sun with lovely views.

We cannot recommend Blackthorn highly enough and on the way out Peter and Karen were kind enough to show us the cabin in the copse that is nearly finished and looks simply amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
That was a speedy review considering you only left Blackthorn yesterday! Thanks also for your kind words. It was great to have you staying with us, and please try and come in the summer as this area is bursting with opportunities for memorable, family days out. We are more than happy to accommodate a young family in 'Little Owl' - our glamping cabin in the copse - and so if you can think of a like-minded young family you'd like to holiday with, then you could book both places at an agreed rate, and the two babies could be splashing about in the pool while one set of the mums and dads were relaxing in the hot tub, for example... Basically, so long as the baby or toddler can squeeze into a travel cot then young families are most welcome at both Blackthorn and Little Owl!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely relaxing cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Extremely helpful and friendly hosts. Enjoyed the proximity of many sites to explore. A very comfortable short stay in a lovely area. Good eating in the village and plenty of walks.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thank you for the complimentary and informative review. Being National Trust members does pay dividends in this area: Batesmans, Bodiam Castle, Lamb House, Smalhythe and Scotney are easily within striking distance, with Sissinghurst and properties nearer Lewes about 50 minutes drive away. And then there all the house and gardens under different schemes or ownership: Great Dixter, Pashley Manor, Hole Park - the list goes on... You'll just have to return!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 101
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing