We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bonnie123...
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Eden! We had a wonderful few days at Blackthorn. Both Peter and Karen were excellent hosts and the cottage was immaculate. What a treat to wake up in the morning and see rabbits scampering around the superb grounds - it was so peaceful and will be our bolt hole in the future. Thank you both so much for allowing us to share your lovely place. Our stay was quite simply ' fabulous'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Too short a stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for the complimentary review, and thank you for booking Blackthorn again later in the summer! I'm not sure I'd refer to the grounds as 'superb' - that may give readers a slightly false impression of my efforts - but the ol' gardener does his best... There are certainly a LOT of rabbits at the moment helping me keep the grass short! Have a lovely couple of months, and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended ... can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Blackthorn Cottage is perfectly equipped for a comfortable and enjoyable stay and was way beyond our expectations.
Karen and Peter were the perfect hosts, helpful from beginning to end! They really did think of everything, even down to recommendations of various restaurants in which we tried - the Robin Hood in particular is a real gem and right on your doorstep.
All the little extras from the Prosecco chilling in the fridge to the eggs provided from their ducks and hens makes for an enjoyable and memorable stay. The cottage is beautifully furnished and has everything you might need and is only just short distance from the many local attractions with the added bonus of the private pool and hot tub if you don't feel like venturing out. We will definitely stay again and will recommend to all our friends and family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thanks for such a lovely and thorough review!
I'm glad you tried the Robin Hood. It's an intimate, friendly pub that has a great selection of home-cooked food, a cosy bar of local characters, and is only a 5-7 minute walk up the lane - a perfect location if you don't want to stray too far. Considering you hear that pubs are closing down all over the country we are very fortunate in having two thriving pubs in the village, two more in nearby Pett, one in nearby Winchelsea, two more in Winchelsea Beach, and one at Pett Level - many of them offering a good selection of quality pub grub if not finer dining.
We hope that we'll see you both again at Blackthorn sometime, and then you can discover even more of what this fabulous area has to offer...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked Blackthorn to celebrate my Fiancé's 40th Birthday and it didn't disappoint, if anything the pictures on the website don't actually do it justice.

Peter and Karen are fantastic hosts - we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, and a Birthday card which was a lovely touch - not to mention freshly laid duck eggs! They are on hand in the event of any problems, but not intrusive in any way.

Blackthorn is in an ideal location in many ways being a 10 minute drive from Rye and 20 mins from Camber. A cracking local pub (The Queens Head) is approx 15 minutes walk and the Robin Hood even closer, although we ran out of time to try it out.

Facilities were excellent, the views stunning and the hot tub was the ideal way to relax (with a glass of fizz obviously!). There is a lovely outdoor seating area, which is a bit of a sun trap. A great spot to sit and have breakfast while enjoying the amazing views.

Thanks Peter and Karen for making our break so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thanks for the glowing review: You had a packed weekend, and we're glad it was such a success - you certainly pulled out all the stops!
We ate at The Tuscan Kitchen the night after you for my birthday (sadly NOT my 40th) and we must have another excuse to revisit The Ambrette too some time... Rye is now full of great places to eat - many of them quite individual and distinctive, with lots of locally sourced produce, such as Romney Marsh salted lamb, and fresh fish straight off the boats!
Incidentally, TripAdvisor are offering a free professional photo shoot to listings so I may get in touch with them as I think you're right: our current photos don't really give you a sense of the place or the surroundings....
Hopefully we'll see again and you can experience more of the delights of this fabulous area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed here for a well deserved break. And it did not disappoint. Peter and Karen were very friendly and helpful regarding the local area. Blackthorn was perfect and had everything that we needed. The swimming pool and hot tub were an added bonus. we will be booking to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - and so quickly due to you only leaving yesterday! We are glad you had such a successful midweek break, and took in more than just the local sights: for example, the Designer Outlet Centre in Ashford (40 minutes) is a great place to visit if you're in a shopping mood due to so many quality retailers being under one roof, plus familiar high street cafe and restaurant brands, but it's a gem which I often forget to tell guests about - holidays aren't always about pub lunches and sandcastles!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S
2 reviews
“An idyllic cottage to rest, relax and enjoy.”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Blackthorn is a beautiful cottage set in gorgeous, peaceful countryside. The cottage itself had everything we needed, and we loved enjoying the novelties of a log-burning stove and the outdoor hot tub. On the few occasions we managed to drag ourselves away from the cottage there is plenty to do nearby e.g. Winchlesea, Camber, Rye, countryside walks, pubs, etc.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Many thanks for your comments in both our guestbook and taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. As I recall you had lovely crisp winter days filled with sunshine. Ideal for getting about and visiting places such as nearby Winchelsea - an old, historic town often bypassed, but a true gem with it's impressive cellars, old court house, and the stunning church of St Thomas - with Spike Milligan's gravestone in the churchyard featuring his self-penned and humorous epitaph (regrettably in Gaelic) 'I told you I was ill...'! We hope you'll be able to return to Blackthorn some day and experience more of what this special part of Sussex has to offer. Best wishes to you both, and thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 101
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing