We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect little trip”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shari w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect little trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

myself and my partner went for a quiet long weekend break and it was amazing.
from start to finish there we had the best time. Pete the owner was very polite and could not of been more helpful.
We were amazed at the price we paid for what we got. The pool and hot tube were for our use only and very simple to use.
Set in a lovely area quiet peaceful and great views, it was lovely to eat breakfast out on the veranda.
in the local towns I would most highly recommend to eat simply Italy and the queens head great value for money and fantastic food.
we are happy t say I am definitely looking forward to planning my next mini beak to blackthorn cottage
:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: privacy and peacefulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Many thanks for taking time to write a review - it's much appreciated.
We're really glad that Blackthorn ticked all the boxes, and that you were able to visit Rye.
The beautiful old town of Rye has some great places to eat out at, and Simply Italian is one of our favourites. We're also fortunate to have two pubs that do good food in the village, and the Queens Head rarely disappoints: massive home-cooked portions of food, with a number of guest ales, all set in a cosy traditional country pub complete with log fires for the winter and a large beer garden for the summer... It doesn't get much better than that!
We hope you'll get a chance to return and sample some more of this fabulous area soon.
Peter & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithlor...
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Even better than anticipated!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Hugely enjoyed our long anticipated easter break at blackthorn. after reading so many glowing reviews of this lovely place we were prepared for at least some small disappointments...but NO...everything met or exceeded our high expectations. blackthorn ticks all those boxes for a couples escape. beautiful location, great facilites, privacy, lovely and spacious grounds, cosy accommodation, well equipped and immaculately presented and maintained. delicious eggs..thankyou ladies...and wildlife at your door are the icing on the cake. we spent most of our break sightseeing (so much to see and do in the area for virtually all tastes) so we simply have to come back to enjoy a few days wallowing in the pool and hot tub! we´ll be looking fwd to those return trips (notice plural) even more than our first visit. a BIG thankyou to our hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and grounds
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. Yes, next time you must indulge in the hot tub and indoor pool! Perhaps after a day-out taking the little boat to Bodiam Castle and catching the steam train back, or exploring the unique churches on Romney Marsh? Whatever your choices happens to be, it will be great to welcome you both back to Blackthorn!
Best wishes until there.
Peter & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazda1988
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant little gem!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Amazing holiday rental in a quiet setting with easy access to Hastings and Rye. Stayed for a long weekend and couldn't be happier!

Lovely hot tub which sitting in at night watching the stars is great and its seems very cosy with the log fire (after a couple of attempts to light!) at night. Nice sized swimming pool and the hosts were very helpful and pleasant and can't do enough for you !

will definitely come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Many thanks for the review. After driving such along way I'm glad to know that you made the most of your weekend. Certainly sitting in the hot tub gazing up at the stars is special! Fortunately being both near the sea and not having light pollution means you can enjoy a larger expanse of sky, and if there's only a little cloud cover then the night sky is awesome, - the same with the sunsets at the local beach.
Thanks again for the lovely review, and we hope to welcome you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service beyond the call of duty and amazing cottage”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had to book this 5 months in advance but it was worth the wait. Great value compared to some of the others I looked at. Cheaper AND better.
Blackthorn is about 1.5 hours away from London Kings Cross by public transport. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful countryside yet within easy walking distance of buses to Rye and Hastings.The house, hot tub and swimming pool were all very clean and there were absolutely no problems with the facilities. Admittedly we were really lucky with the weather, rare march sunshine. The hot tub is outdoors so would have been less great in colder months or rain.

The town of Rye has some great little independent shops and can be covered in 1 day.

The most pleasing thing was the excellent customer service provided by the host. Peter arranged for a predelivered birthday card and chocolates to be waiting for us on arrival, gave us all the information we could possibly need to help us plan our trip and even picked us up from Rye train station since we were not driving.

Probably the best guest accommodation I have ever stayed in and I would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Many thanks for the glowing review. It's great to know that your special weekend went as well as it did!
Personally I think relying on public transport to get you to a rural location, somewhere new and unknown, was quite brave of you, so I was more than happy to help in any way I could.
Blackthorn's location is the best of both worlds, as although we're situated on the edge of a village with stunning rural views, we are quite close to the Hastings/Rye trunk road - served by a regular bus service running between both Hastings and Rye railway stations, which in turn have regular trains from both London Charing Cross, and London St Pancras via Ashford. We even have a small country station at nearby Three Oaks on the Hastings to Rye line where I have collected guests from in the past. So, idyllically rural but not remote!
Anyway, many thanks again for the review, and we hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favourite place to relax”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Blackthorn for a weekend with my partner. We had the most wonderful and relaxing weekend ever! The cottage is furnished and fitted beautifully with modern facilities whilst still maintaining a cosy feeling. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub with a glass of champagne, and a quick dip in the pool (which is so warm even in the winter). The views are beautiful. We didn't explore any of the local towns much as we just wanted to relax and unwind after working so hard all year. We even stayed in and cooked dinner! plenty of utensils/pots and pans to use. Even a dishwasher.
Peter and his family are very welcoming and helpful and are there to offer help and advice but also respect your privacy and give you space to enjoy your stay. We had some of their fresh eggs for breakfast (which were left in the kitchen on arrival) that was a really nice touch.
Would recommend it to everyone, and I already have, Will definitely come back as soon as I have some time off, maybe in the spring/summer and would love to stay an extra day or two as we didn't want to leave after just two nights :(
Best place ever...there's no other place like it in England....I've looked!
Thanks for a lovely weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and huge bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
I'm not sure how to respond to such an incredible review - I'm speechless, which is a rarity! Many, many thanks for all your complimentary words - it makes running Blackthorn such a pleasure!
Karen and I just try to offer the type of self-catering and weekends away that we would personally like to experience and enjoy ourselves, and also to make it as affordable as possible so that as many people can enjoy Blackthorn, and not just an elite few.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best wishes to you both for 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing