We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, great view.”
other travellers have booked this property
A peaceful and secluded location with glorious views and abundant birdlife,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A peaceful and secluded location with glorious views and abundant birdlife,
Rye in the background It's this one
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
90 reviews
A peaceful and secluded location with glorious views and abundant birdlife,
Rye in the background
It's this one
View up river
Passing boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
tazHants
Hants
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great view.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed at these apartments for a long Easter weekend. The apartment was perfect for our needs, very comfortable and in a perfect peaceful location. We particularly enjoyed the balcony sitting with a glass of wine watching all the birds on the river. The apartment is ideally located close enough to the town centre so that the car is not needed. It is also situated close to several interesting walks ie. Camber Sands, Winchelsea etc. Rye is a great place to visit with many lovely independent restaurants and good pubs, we loved The Mermaid. All in all perfect for a long weekend or indeed a longer holiday. Hope to go back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverchr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, clean weekend break apartment in fabulous town”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My girlfriend and I arrived on the Friday afternoon (to gorgeous sunshine and a chilled bottle of champagne in the fridge) and found a clean, cosy apartment with a sweet little balcony overlooking the harbour. Rye itself is a marvellous town to visit if you like topsy turvy cobbled streets, enchanting little shops that wonderful pubs that date back centuries. Couldn't fault the weekend. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward b
Newhaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“well appointed apartment, as shown on website.”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Good centre for walking, for culture and food. The apartment allowed us to relax in a way that a hotel would not. We were in a situation where we required a peaceful space which The Boat House provided.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannajam...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfectly situated apartment. Very clean & comfy”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Perfectly situated apartment right on the river. Only a short walk to pubs and restaurants and of course the fantastic shops in the beautiful Rye.
Very clean and comfortable with a full stock of kitchen equipment and everything else you would need to make a perfect and restful Holiday.
Enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a cup of morning coffee watching all the local wildlife enjoy the river.
A perfect base for long walks or trips out in the car. So many interesting places to visit.
Cant wait to come back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parivraja...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a good time in Rye and enjoyed our stay at The Boathouse. The quiet riverside apartment complements the lively town. It's surprisingly near to the architecture and the bustle, yet a world apart.

The beds are very comfortable. The flat has everything one would need for a short-stay holiday. (We couldn't make the bottom oven work, but that might have been down to us.)

The parking is a great benefit. The walk from the Boathouse to the Strand takes a few minutes. From there, the town is at your feet. On returning, the steps that lead down from the Hope Anchor Hotel in Watchbell Street (Trader's Passage steps) offer a convenient shortcut.

The local Churches were a highlight. We meandered across the marshes to a few isolated villages, each with its distinctive, characterful Church.

Just above the Marsh, on Oxney, near Appledore, is Stone Church. This is a wonderful space, particularly inside. The views over the countryside are delightful.

The best views across the whole expanse of the Marsh are from Lympne. You access the lookout point by a little footpath that leaves the road at the last bend before you reach the (private) castle.

On arrival at The Boathouse, we appreciated the things that had been left out to welcome us -- the makings for tea and a bottle of bubbly. The decor was agreeable. The owner's artworks fitted in well. We hope to visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing