We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Shiplake

Little Shiplake - A self contained, sleeps 4 property for hire on a B&B or self- catering basis.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Shiplake - A self contained, sleeps 4 property for hire on a B&B or self- catering basis.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Little Shiplake - A self contained, sleeps 4 property for hire on a B&B or self- catering basis.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ems823
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little home from home.”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights at Little Shiplake. Unfortunately we didn't have much time to explore the area but it's in a beatific part of the country and not far from the seaside (Seaford beach was a 15 minute drive). The cottage itself is across from the pony's stables which was lovely for our little girl. We felt very at home there, very comfortable and warmly welcomed by the owner, Sam, who is very happy to help with anything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your review, sorry for the delay, its been a bit busy here at Little Shiplake, hopefully see you all next year !
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here 2 nights whilst visiting for a wedding.
Lovely accommodation with everything we needed.
Lovely setting, pretty garden with lots of bunnies hopping about as well as some chickens and a horse!
Would like to have had more time to do one of the nearby walks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara T
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and accommodating”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for the Brighton marathon weekend, which worked absolutely perfectly.
Sam was wonderfully accommodating and helpful, allowing us to check in and out at what ever time suited us, as there were no guests staying either side of us. heating was adjusted according to the time we were going to bed and getting up.
Set to the side of a stable yard, the children were happy to see the ponies and the property had its own pretty garden they could run around in, plenty of parking but you need to keep your eyes peeled to see the driveway in when arriving.
Oh and the sofa bed was amazingly comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you so much and hope we see you again next year for the marathon !!
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little ship lake ... Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at here for one night, as we were attending a local event. Sam greeted us and showed us around the cottage which has everything you would need for a very comfortable stay. The accommodation was very clean and in perfect order. There was lots of local information of where to visit and good places to eat. The setting itself is situated in a beautiful village. Next time we visit Laughton and need a place to stay we will definitely book in at Little Shiplake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing the horses first thing in the morning.
Liked least: Leaving!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
We look forward to having you back one day and thank you for our review.
Regards Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve Y
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little shiplake ”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Little shiplake is a lovely little cottage converted from a cattle shed it is very comfortable and tastefully decorated .
It contains everything you need to enjoy your getaway Sam the owner is very nice and welcoming
There is a nice pub within walking distance that serves good beer and brilliant food
I would recommend it and will be returning for a longer stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Thanks Steve for your review, and we look forward to having you both stay again some time when you can sample the brand new boiler we have had installed !!!
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing