We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky country break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Blue Door Barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom The Sailor's House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phoebe901
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing - no sleep!”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had been really looking forward to visiting this place as it looked really nice on the website. However on arrival and after staying a night we were quite disappointed. The Little Lodge is advertised as accommodating four but to be honest it was quite tight with 2 of us. The bed is not a full sized double, there is no standing shower (or screen around the bath so water goes everywhere) and some of the doors are split doors which does show the small size. The rooms were nicely decorated, and it's in a relatively good location for visiting Sussex attractions, but we barely got any sleep. This was mainly because the lodge is on someone's driveway so there were cars going past in the night including one which stopped with full headlights on directly outside the bedroom window. There were also flashing lights directly opposite the window which were impossible to sleep through as the blind didn't block them out, and a loud extractor fan right next to the bedroom. When the people in the lodge next to us came back we could then hear everything in their lodge too. These felt more like designed outbuildings than luxury accommodation so for the expensive price it is just a bit disappointing. There is also no view - it was a hot day but the lodge is totally in shade because of the property opposite overlooking it, and from the living room all you can really see is the car park. There is also no privacy as all the lodges are very close together. The hosts when we booked it were very nice and helpful, but all in all this was not what we were expecting after looking at the website. Having breakfast as an expensive add-on is also not great given the standard of the accommodation. There were some tea and coffee sachets and a small amount of milk (not even a half pint) but no welcome bottle of wine of anything like that. All in all this just wasn't what it said on the website and sadly, we didn't feel it was worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Hello there

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and that you were disturbed. There were other guests staying over the weekend who I noted came back at 11.30 so sorry they disturbed you but we do say that we are a cluster of barns around a courtyard which we also show on the website. Just for reference the bed in the Little Lodge is a standard double from Feather & Black - it is definitely not smaller than this. And with regard to the milk, we always put this size bottle of fresh milk in for guests for tea and coffee, rather than the horrid UHT sachets that you often get.

We were also sorry you didn't enjoy the outside space - you had the place to yourself on the Saturday night as the other guests were at a wedding but I guess you went out and so didn't light the fire in the courtyard or go for an alfresco meal in the courtyard. We did also set you private patio up for you that night with views over the fields but again sorry this disappointed.

It was lovely to meet you by the way and we hope our directions to The Ram Inn got you there. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards - bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah G
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quirky country break”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A group of us stayed at Blue Door Barns in order to visit the Lewes firework parade.

We decided to make a weekend of it and the barns were the perfect place to spend it. With room for a large group of 11 or 12 of us, there was enough accomodation all of us split accross the 4 different buildings, which were all centered around a communal courtyard complete with BBQ, open fire, candles, and plenty of seating.

The two kitchens were well equipped and the showers powerful and warm, but the stand out aspect for me was how beautiful the place was. The owners clearly know what they are doing when it comes to internior design, the place was full of old character coupled with plenty of antiques, art, rugs, it was just lovely.

The owners were super friendly, helping us out in the lead up and during the stay, offering advice on local pubs and walks.

We all had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
We are so thrilled you loved your stay - we hope you come back again soon.

Best - Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alianza d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“morbid charm”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

rented 3 cottages for small family reunion, 9 persons, incl. 4 children, charming environment, place itself is somewhat "run-down", definitely lacks maintenance, nice owners, but completely overpriced,

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Hello there

We were so surprised to read your review and are very sorry you felt this way. We made every effort to make you feel welcome and on several occasions you thanked us for a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you another time.

Thank you for your comments - Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amb S
Basildon
2 reviews
“Best stay!”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wow what a lovely place to stay! Had the best birthday spending the night here and didn't want to go home, everything was perfect, the room was cosy and homely, and breakfast was delicious! The hosts Emma and Bryony were very friendly and nothing was too much of a hassle for them, we were looked after very well, I can't wait to return here!

Amber & Charlie
Essex

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark t
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, friendly & stylish”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed in two of the Blue Door Barn's excellent rooms over separate dates and found Emma & Briony excellent hosts, very welcoming and friendly and super helpful. Breakfast was excellent, local farm sourced and the whole area the Barns are on is very peaceful and rustic, a joy to visit. I can't fault the stay and it's an excellent location for both the Glyndebourne Opera, paragliding and general access to the Sussex downs. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing