We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alianza d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“morbid charm”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

rented 3 cottages for small family reunion, 9 persons, incl. 4 children, charming environment, place itself is somewhat "run-down", definitely lacks maintenance, nice owners, but completely overpriced,

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Hello there

We were so surprised to read your review and are very sorry you felt this way. We made every effort to make you feel welcome and on several occasions you thanked us for a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you another time.

Thank you for your comments - Bryony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amb S
Basildon
2 reviews
“Best stay!”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wow what a lovely place to stay! Had the best birthday spending the night here and didn't want to go home, everything was perfect, the room was cosy and homely, and breakfast was delicious! The hosts Emma and Bryony were very friendly and nothing was too much of a hassle for them, we were looked after very well, I can't wait to return here!

Amber & Charlie
Essex

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark t
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, friendly & stylish”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed in two of the Blue Door Barn's excellent rooms over separate dates and found Emma & Briony excellent hosts, very welcoming and friendly and super helpful. Breakfast was excellent, local farm sourced and the whole area the Barns are on is very peaceful and rustic, a joy to visit. I can't fault the stay and it's an excellent location for both the Glyndebourne Opera, paragliding and general access to the Sussex downs. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riekema
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in British country side”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed 3 nights at Bryony and Emma's for Easter and had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The lodges are fantastically decorated, super cosy - very quickly making you feel at home. The lodge is very conveniently placed for a fantastic walk on seven sisters, or a stroll to nearby Lewes' castle. There are some great food options nearby - the Ram Inn (5' by car) was our favourite. The home made granola for breakfast was a real treat! Last but not least we enjoyed fantastic treatments (a facial and a sports massage) - which are amongst the best we've ever had. In a nutshell a perfect stay !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words, Marieke. We hope to welcome you back to Blue Door Barns soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieDix...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sussex haven”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the Barns for my boyfriend’s birthday. Our room was cosy, well appointed and perfect for a weekend away from London. Bryony couldn’t have been more helpful, and breakfast in the main house was gorgeous - all cooked on a roaring aga with dogs and children a-plenty - it felt like staying with a slightly better version of your own family - we hope to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breafast
Liked least: Slightly tricky getting responses to our emails / phone calls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing