We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved the location, view was lovely, very comfy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Front view with double doors to deck
Outside dining with views across the glenn
Enterance to shop, swimming pool & gym
The Retreat
views over historic old town from the East Hill lift
Childrens play area, including soft play
Views across the channel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved the location, view was lovely, very comfy and well equipped cabin”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The owners left wine, cake, beer, cake, milk and tea/coffee making supplies and made us very welcome. They were also contactable and came to meet us, very lovely people. The cabins' lounge area is big and bright and very comfortable and the kitchen is ideal for cooking facilities/preparation. Double bedroom has its own loo and the bathroom is roomy and has a lovely shower. The second bedroom is great for kids but found it a little narrow as a single adult. Would totally recommend for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and space of the cabin.
Liked least: Width of single bed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Was lovely to meet you, glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chezza45
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family break”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very clean, well equiped holiday home. Within walking distance to old Hastings along the cliff top. A taxi ride back (dodgy knees) was less than a fiver so we chose to walk in and taxi back. Lovely and quiet holiday park, staff very friendly. A great break even the weather was good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Glad you had a lovely stay :)
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M E
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A very clean andcomfortable lodge in a good position, really near to pool and club but far enough away not to hear the kareoke. Pool very nice with life guard on duty at all times - was open from 9-5 (maybe later at weekends). Had lunch at the club which was surprisingly nice. Well-equiped lodge; had bedding, towels, t-towels and washing-up stuff, loo rolls and hand soap for both bathroom and en-suite, kitchen roll, foil and cling film, coffee tea and sugar, and a welcome pack of milk, wine and cake. Also had small library of DVDs, books and games. Main bed was a bit hard, but spare duvet over the top helped there. We walked from the site to Hastings following the footpaths (with slight detour as one path had been closed due to landslide), arriving at the top of the cliff lift, which was nice as had whole day without having to worry about car parking fees. Really easy to find places to eat, and nice ice-creams too.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki m
1 review
“A well recommended place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I recently stayed in this lodge with our 4 month old son. We were so pleased with our stay. It was a clean and cosy lodge with everything there that we needed. We were recommended this lodge by our friends and we will certainly be recommending it aswell. The only thing i wish i did was book more nights!! A perfect place to stay and we will be returning again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
So glad you enjoyed your New Year break.
Sarah & Paul Read
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane S
Wilmington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great base to explore surrounding area...”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We couldn't have asked for better accommodation. Our holiday lodge at Shearbarn was perfect for sleeping 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. Very clean and well equipped. Heating worked well, great strong shower with constant hot water.... Girls enjoyed the Freeview TV. Had a fun evening at the "Retreat". We ate there lunchtime and found the food to be good, drinks reasonably priced.
Welcome pack was a lovely surprise. Thank you to Sarah and Paul for use of your lovely holiday home. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2014
Glad everything was ok & you've enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing