We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Astral Lodge

Astral Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astral Lodge
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

My family and I came to stay in Hastings for one night due to an event and booked a room. We booked a family room, 1 double bed and a bunk bed. We arrived and was given our key. We walked up 2 flights of stairs with a newborn and our bags. When entering the room we found out we had been given two single beds and a set of bunk beds. The single beds were so creaky that we couldn't even move without waking everybody up! The laminate floor was rising and the ceiling was filthy. There were no restraints on the windows which is extremely unsafe for the children! The walls were so thin that we could hear people snoring! When asked about a microwave to sterilise our babies bottles we were told there wasn't one so we ended up having to ask someone at the restaurant we went too. Definitely won't be back! The room seriously needs updating!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived at the hotel we realised you couldn't check in until 3.30 so left our luggage in the lobby.when returning we got our keys and went to the room.( seaview). It was quite spacious but disappointed as there was no where to hang your clothes except for an under shelf that housed a small tv on top. So our clothes were on show.
I went into the bathroom and was appall

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank flowers1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

When we checked in and went to our room it took 2 minutes to head straight back down to see if any other room was available! The room absolutely stunk! Bathroom had no window that could open to air the smell out! We had 2 single beds and a bunk bed I booked a double and single bed room! When we asked to move rooms they advised rudely that this was only room available so I then asked if we found alternative suitable accomadation could we get a full or part refund. Neuter the owner or receptionist was even the slightest bit sympathetic to our request and point blank refused!
To add to our disappointment we had to keep curtains closed at all times as our room backed onto a building under construction and had 4 to 5 builders there looking straight into our room. Plus being woken up to hammering, drilling etc was not a pleasant way to be woken on holiday.
There are no facilities at this establishment wifi diddnt work no milk for tea or coffee nothing stocked in vending machine! Absolute shambles!
Extremely disappointed and would never return or recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jojowinmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Astral Lodge offers a reception desk, and bedrooms. There is no guest lounge, bar, or restaurant facilities. The rooms provide basic needs - metal frame beds, an open wardrobe with two hangers (one broken), a table and chair, a small television, and a kettle and two cups with coffee and tea makings. The en-suite has a single towel, and foreign-language hand wash lotion. Both taps dripped. More positively, Astral Lodge is situated right on the seafront, only a ten-minute stroll from Hastings Old Town. There is meter parking directly outside, and it also provides vouchers for free parking between 4:00 pm and 11 am in a council underground car park only a hundred metres away. We chose to breakfast in the White Rocks Hotel a couple of hundred metres away, where the Full Audrey breakfast costs £9, including fruit juice and tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We stayed in the family room at Astral lodge it had 8 flights of stairs to get to it so not very family friendly . The shelf with the kettle on was loose also poor safety for family's . None of the electricals had been PAT tested as far as I could see. No remote for the tv. And no breakfast in the price . Bedding very old fashioned beds not very comfortable . Not a very good experiance . Best bit it was very clean with a sea view

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.6 km away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
873 reviews
0 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
266 reviews
0.3 km away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
282 reviews
0.2 km away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 47 in Hastings
196 reviews
5 km away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Lodge

Address: 4/5 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: $119 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astral Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Astral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Lodge Hastings, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing