We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
6
15
9
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
15
9
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget accommodationroom feelopen wardrobeone nightsmall roombooked last minutehastings old townmezzanineseafrontensuite
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Lodge was clean and great location, we had seafront room which was nice. Good for the price we paid, owners were very nice. stay on seafront if you can as cheaper than staying in front of Astral Lodge.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Joycie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Booked the Astral Lodge for price and location, although was a little unsure after reading the reviews. We had four single rooms, 1, 2, 20 + 25, all recently refurbished, very comfortable, no view but we asked for quiet which was perfect. Laura on the desk was incredibly helpful. We would use again and recommend to others. Parking available on meter outside, and the underground which was free 4pm to 11am with permit from hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

It is quite a basic hotel/ lodge with limited facilities.

Positives-
Location is excellent. We got a parking pass from the reception from 4pm to 11am next day. Very good restaurants nearby and loads of activities for children.

Not so positive aspects-
Family room was really tiny with bunk beds
Creaking floor in bathroom, shower holder broken, wash basin outlet blocked (thankfully partially)- taking a long time for water to drain.
It was very noisy from other rooms- could clearly hear someone snoring from adjacent room.
Lot of noise from the street- people shouting at 2 AM, although we were on 3rd floor (with no lifts). Sound proofing (or the lack of it) is a major issue.

The room was not cheap either. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone, especially family with kids.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Swapnil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

If you don't need gym, spa and restaurant in hotel just basis but very clean room with nice sea view perfect for weekend break, very friendly staff on reception ,good location on the front of the beach and about ten minutes walk from train station

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Darek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This could be fab with some money spent but I suppose they are choosing the least effort route. The room did not contain much that was not bolted down. 2 iron bedsteads only served to enhance the prison-cell atmosphere. All very clean however and great sea view. Downs: hole in window frame which had to be stuffed with paper, bath but no taps or plug...small hard towels, long way up stairs (I did ask for high floor to avoid traffic noise). Biggest problem was that it was COLD. Asked for heating which was put on but tiny radiator and only 1/2 of it got warm. No heat in bathroom and no heat next morning. Sat having cup of tea in my coat.

Room Tip: has to be sea view, but you will pay for it of course
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews