We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny afternoon”
Review of Fortune of War

Fortune of War
Ranked #44 of 132 Nightlife in Brighton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Having opened its doors way back in 1882, the Fortune of War is far and away the oldest seafront watering hole, and hence the only pub amongst numerous clubs and bars. It is also the only venue in the whole of Brighton to be shaped like an upside down boat. The main attraction, however, has to be the extremely large beer garden, otherwise known as Brighton beach.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Great place for a pint on a sunny afternoon. Funky decor, friendly staff and a great atmosphere.
Can’t stop going back.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank johannadavis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea front"
in 6 reviews
"outside seating area"
in 2 reviews
"watching the world"
in 2 reviews
"brighton seafront"
in 2 reviews
"bar"
in 14 reviews
"benches"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I don't drink alcohol, but I like this pub for food and atmosphere. I also enjoy the ginger beers.

It's a blazing hot May summer day and I asked for a soda water before getting a lunch menu. I was told 'No' to the free water as I'd been "sitting there too long without ordering anything" (about 20 minutes)

I left, I wont return to eat again either if their policy is to force sales on people in a PUBLIC HOUSE. Water should always be free and I shouldn't be asked if I'm going to order anything or not in an empty pub.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank TomosW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Stumbled upon this bar by the beach. Good array of drinks. Highly recommend the seaciders variety. Bar staff friendly. Only gripe was the toilets. You had to go up a few steps next to the bar, all the way down the inside of the pub (which seemed quite dark and murky) and down a flight of stairs at the other end. Chose to use the public loos next to the terrace after that initial trip!! We went back several times, nice place.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank hfen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent pub in an excellent location right on the sea front. We visit this pub every time we are in Brighton as the outdoor seating is perfect for relaxing and enjoying many sunny weekends in summer. This is defienetly our favourite venue in Brighton. Many a great afternoon/evening has been spent here watching the world go by and enjoying the good music and atmosphere that buzzes through the pub. Can’t wait to return...

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank rachelschofield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Stopped in this pub for a pint while having a walk on the beach. The staff is friendly and there are plenty of tables to enjoy the sunshine. They even offer a student discount !

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank EricNJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortune of War also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Fortune of War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing