We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect in every way...would highly...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Halcyon

Happy holidays
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Happy holidays
Very comfortable beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Happy holidays
Very comfortable beds
Bedroom two
Five star comfort
Enjoy the sunshine
Anyone for a BBQ?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rcimoore
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect in every way...would highly recommend if staying in Brighton”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Well what can i say....when i booked this place i was looking forward to staying in Brighton for the week, but once we arrived the flat exceeded our expectations. What the photos dont show is actually how spacious it is. We came and stayed with our two young children in one room and my brother and family in the other. The larger bedroom had a large comfy double bed, with enough space for a single futon and a travel cot with plenty more space for it not to be cramped. The built in wardrobes were ideal as it meant we werent living out of our suitcases all week.

The whole feel of the flat is light, airy and modern and with large patio doors leading onto a decked area, it would be perfect for a bbq on a warm summers evening. Unfortunately it was freezing while we were there so couldnt enjoy this but flat is good at holding its heat when chilly outside.

Free on street parking and being on a main bus route makes its really easy to get to town within 10 minutes.

This flat was great for us with kids, and was a real bonus to have a dish washer and washing machine, as meant we werent constantly washing up or having to find a laundrette.

The owners are friendly and welcoming and provided everything you could want from a holiday home. A real home from home experience...but better...just perfect!!

Would highly recommend this place :) also such a good price for central Brighton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and feel of the flat
Liked least: Finding a parking space during the day
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Julie and Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ochs6
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the best possible place for us to stay on our first visit to England.”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at this flat for a week over the Christmas holiday. It was cosy and warm and Julie was welcoming and had even put up a Christmas tree for us which was so delightful! We loved the feeling of just living in a British neighborhood and going to the butcher's and bakery and other shops in Five Ways, which were within easy walking distance.
Because of the proximity to the buses we could conveniently enjoy all the wonderful things in Brighton- Royal Pavilion, The Laines, North Lanes, the sea view and Pier and so on. Since the Preston Park rail station is just a 5 minute walk, we took the train to London for an awesome day trip and then another day to the village of Lewes where there are great pubs, and a Norman castle. It was really great to have access to so many different sites, while feeling safe and secure at this flat. Oh, and the quality of the fixtures was also exceptional. We recommend this place and would gladly return.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Happy New Year! We are very glad that you had a wonderful stay here for Christmas, it was lovely to meet you all. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on a return trip to England. Best wishes Julie and Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonfire3
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“happy to stay again”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Description accurate. Owners lovely.location great. Very happy we booked. Parking sometimes tight but we were happy to walk to the sea front. About an hour. Buses were well serviced to this area from the town too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open plan back door
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Julie and Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3asle
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, stylish apartment”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The apartment is below street level in a semi and opens onto a small deck. Very bright, beautifully renovated and with comfortable, quality furnishings, linen etc. even the sofa bed was very comfortable. Plenty of room for four adults. Internet access was good and reliable. Our arrival was a little confusing, there is no 'Halcyon" sign anywhere. The owners live in the house next door, there is a small side path separating the two houses and providing access to the apartment. Parking was sometimes available at other times a short walk away. The owners are friendly and helpful. The apartment has everything you need. Buses to Brighton are nearby though we found it cheaper to drive. Shops and a pub within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Styling
Liked least: Picking up keys,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review, we are constantly trying to improve the experience that our guests receive so your feedback is very welcome. We are sorry that you found the access a little confusing but are glad you found the flat comfortable and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Bruce and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
700monika
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay.”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The apartment was very spacious , clean, modern. It is well equipped has all the essential that you need. The welcome brochure provided all the information that we needed about the area. Our host were wonderful and very helpful in every matter. We had an excellent relaxing time and couldn't wish fr more. We will definitely coming back another time to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts were very prompt and helpful all the way through.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed with ease. It is always pleasing to hear that our guests would like to stay again, we hope to see you soon. Best wishes Julie and Bruce.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing