We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,498)
Filter reviews
1,498 results
Traveller rating
295
475
351
219
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
475
351
219
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front west pier bay window one night stay town centre short break tea and coffee bandstand seafront
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,498 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The Brighton Hotel is a pleasant middle-of-the-road hotel right on the seafront. It isn't huge, and there's lots of competition for your money, so whilst the prices might be high if you don't book in advance, they're competitive for the area (£99 a night for B&B is the going rate for hotels on the seafront) My room could have done with a fresh lick of paint and was cramped - they'd squeezed a single and a double bed into a room really only appropriate for the double, but when you're trying to make a business pay, then you have to make a few compromises. Also the shower made a very loud noise when being operated and really should be looked at (I pointed that out in the feedback form) Saying that, the side-sea view was delightful, the breakfast was very pleasant and the whole place had calm, laid-back feel with quality understated service. And there was a radio alarm clock in the room, which is always good news because it means you wake up to music rather than the infernal beeping you get with your travel alarm.
If you want to Ritz, you can get it 500 yards down the road for nearly double the price. I'm sure the room are spotless and the service is second to none, but be prepared to pay top dollar for that.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YorkshireLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNHotel, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, which is a very fair one i would say.
Most of our bathrooms are new but we still have some that are the older style. This does include the showers which we are looking at replacing this year.
We hope to see you again at some point in the near future.
Kind Regards,

John Hirons
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival the female Manager was very rude when we simply asked if it was okay to park outside. The room was small and dated, the bed was tiny and I paid £229 for one night “superior room with sea view”.. There was a view and the location was good, didn’t bother with breakfast after reading the reviews! Manager needs a course in customer service and the whole place needs updating.. Very disappointing

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KellyW2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNHotel, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am sorry you found one of our management team to be rude. I have discussed this with the team and i am confident in saying that we did not mean to come across in an abrupt and rude manner.
Our bed sizes are the standard UK bed sizes and our sea view double rooms have regular double beds while our King Sea View rooms are a regular UK King Size.
I am sorry that you were left disappointed.
Kind Regards,

John Hirons
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

A two night stay with husband arrived 30 June. Shocking bathroom with black mould!! Sloping toilet smell of drains, paint peeling from tiles - yes tiles!! Carpet minging. V noisy all night. Furniture cheap old & nasty drawers like a filing cabinet. Outside fake grass area dirty with glasses left & broken glass from night before not cleared up. £288 for two nights! I don’t think so! Checked out early after first night with refund on second night & breakfast. Not challenged or sincere apology so reckon staff are used to complaints! Shame we did not see all this on arrival but left bags on arrival to visit family and returned late. Don’t go there...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNHotel, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We have renovated the majority of our bathrooms and we do try and keep on top of issues in the remaining bathrooms (such as paint peeling from tiles - a desicion made by previous owners).
We did host a wedding on the night of the 30th June which was held until midnight. Our night team are on hand to ensure that things do not get too noisy for other guests so i wonder whether the noise was related to outside revellers.
Kind Regards,

John Hirons
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Checked in and checked out within half an hour. The manager was obnoxious and rude and then when we got our room thought it wasn’t even 3 star level to make up for the poor service so went back down to reception and checked out to find a better place to stay. No wonder this place had lots of empty rooms available.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We had a room booked for 5 nights but when we arrived we were told it had been cancelled. After trying to explain to the receptionist we hadn’t cancelled it the rude manager cane over to take over and as well as being rude to myself then my wife she was also rude to the receptionist in front of me.
It may well have been Booking.com that for some reason cancelled the room because it certainly wasn’t us but she was only going to blame us and as it was there were plenty of rooms available so shouldn’t have been a problem at all. The mistake we made was then letting her sort another room out for us because when we got to room it was very poor and not even 3 star standard. Pictures show it’s run down dirty and you don’t expect to see a deposit in the toilet. The shower looked dirty and is desperate for not only some tlc but a full refurb as did the dirty carpets , damp walls, moldy walls and peeling paint.
We were not happy at all and went back down to reception to checked out immediately. We thankfully were helped out Atists residence hotel nearby to find friendly staff and lovely room.
Do not stay at The Brighton Hotel!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sightsee802739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNHotel, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for leaving your review.
I am sorry to read that you found our Reception Manager to be rude. When making bookings online we do reserve the right to pre-authorise cards to ensure that the card details are valid. This is shown on the Booking.com website. If there is an issue with the card then we report it to Booking.com who then contact the guest to ask for the card to be double checked. If we do not receive updated card details then we reserve the right to cancel your room. This is all communicated through Booking.com.
You did take one the last remaining rooms that evening and we do not agree with your entire assessment of this room as this room was made available for a guest shortly after you left.
Kind Regards,

John Hirons
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews