We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a one-night mid-week stay”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night mid-week after a business meeting in the hotel. Very good value at £99 for bed (inland view room) and a very good cooked breakfast.

We had a massive room and a huge bed, which was comfortable enough. Everything was white and contemporary in feel. Our only complaint was that the clothes hangers do not come of the rail at all and are very high up, so difficult to get your clothes on them.

We'd stay again on an over-nighter. Not sure what it would be like for a longer stay e.g. great central marina location could be noisy at weekends, but no problem for us mid-week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,179 - 1,183 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

This new-ish hotel is situated in the heart of Brighton Marina. It has a modern feel and the service is "casual". That is not to say it is in any way lacking, simply, it takes a while to get used to all the staff wearing jeans in a hotel of this standard. Staff at the hotel are all friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little small but comfortable enough. The location is interesting. Ideal for the marina area, however the road system that connects to Brighton seems ever so complicated, twisting back on itself several times. It is 2 miles from the centre of Brighton and not easily reached on foot. A great place to stay if the marina area is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for Marina views as the inland view is very drab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoBBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

very nice location in the marina, good food in the restaurant and also nice buffet for breakfast. Large room for our family. very friendly. good value!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainmaker1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for a Bank Holiday getaway, and chose it for the location - slightly out of town so we could get parked and sleep at night!

The hotel is above the shops and restaurants of the Marina, so there's no on-site parking (you use level 6 of the multi-storey next door, and walk across a walkway to get to the hotel) and I would imagine in summer with windows open it could be quite noisy. We liked where it was, though, as it gave the break a different side to it, looking at the boats and wandering round the marina was as interesting as the main town.

However, we thought it was very nice. The reception areas and staff were lovely, and the restaurant served a great breakfast - although they were understaffed and panicky on the Sunday, which meant waiting for a long time, despite numerous tables being available but just not cleared. The bar area is nice and big, though being served was quite odd - you ordered at the bar and then the drinks were brought over. Surely it would be better offering either a full table service, or just a good old-fashioned bar service? The barman was very good at dealing with an unruly hen party who were annoying everyone - he really put them nicely in their place, explaining that they didn't actually own the place and that everyone else had a right to enjoy the hotel as well..... well done him!! He also made a mean cocktail!

The rooms get a mixed review from me. They are stylish and warm, and the bed was comfy, but it was very small and only had limited hanging space (you really wouldn't want to be there for more than 2 days). The bathroom had a great shower and free toiletries, but the hairdryer in the room had the shortest lead known to man, which made it impossible to dry your hair in front of a mirror!

Finally, the cleaning/housekeeping was rubbish: our bins were left un-emptied and the cups/glasses unwashed, which we thought was very poor.

All in all? A good hotel just lacking that little bit more effort, and it probably needs a small spruce-up, but we would still stay there again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a delux, which looked out onto the boats & got full 'sunshine'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wink_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Have just returned from our first trip to Brighton. Stayed two nights in the Seattle and loved it. Our room overlooked the marina, so it was nice waking up to the lovely views. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The shower was great too. Breakfast was lovely and the staff on reception and throughout the hotel polite and very friendly. We had a couple of drinks in the bar in the evening and found it to be beautifully designed with comfy sofas and chairs, a real relaxing area. We loved where the Seattle is situated as there are a good selection of restaurants to choose from on doorstep. We chose to walk into the centre of Brighton, where there is so much to see and do. Wish we'd stayed longer. Will definately return again as we loved Brighton and the seattle so much. Thank you for making our weekend so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Book a room with a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
3.3 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,842 reviews
2.1 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,252 reviews
3.1 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
2.8 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brighton

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $145 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing