We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Brighton.”
Review of Nineteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nineteen
Ranked #17 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My partner and I have been travelling to Brighton for the last forty years suffering B & Bs with terrible beds and half a crown meters to get hot water for the shower.
How things have changed, clean, bright and wonderfully decorated, the team at Eighteen are really good they say they are new owners and they are but they run the hotel like they have experienced years in the business.
Everything was seamless,N ice people,Nice bed, Nice in the room breakfast,
all in all wonderful, we will return, Well Done and Thanks,, Clive & Philip

Room Tip: Top floor rooms may be difficult for mobility impaired people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CLIET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan J, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi CLIET

Wow! Thank you so much for your great feedback there! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Nineteen (as well as the Soul Disco the night before we hope?!) and we really look forward to hosting you both again soon!

Thank you again for your kind review.

Dan, Liam & Gracie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Looked at this bed and breakfast on trip advisor and read the reviews that is why we decided to book it due to the location and the price. The location is great accessible for lanes all be it a ten minute walk away and the seafront at the bottom of the road.
When we arrived we parked in a near by car park which was very small and smelly and access made a hell of a lot easier if you had a smaller car. We later found out that we could have asked for a permit to park in the streets for a discounted price. The car park was £18.50 for 24 hours, wasn't too far from hotel though.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely young man who advised us that his partner had only just bought the business and it was their first night of new ownership ! His hospitality was great and seemed like he would be a good and ideal new manager. The room was in the ground floor and had everything you needed for a pleasant stay and best thing was the beds were comfy. The only thing I would stay is maybe the window dressings could maybe be altered to make the room darker in the mornings as the light wakes you up early. But anyhow that's just a suggestion.
So At breakfast time we decided to take breakfast at the cafe up the road instead of having the continental in our room in the morning. The hotel guests can use the cafe and the price is included in their stay you just pay a £3 supplement on top. The new owners said they were putting coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms soon so that will be an added bonus. (They also said they are thinking of doing breakfast in one of the rooms downstairs which would be nice). At the moment you have to make your own coffee and tea in the downstairs kitchen, not that I minded because it gave me the chance to have a proper gossip with the new owners, they are very nice and I wish them all the luck
In the world in their new venture. If I go back to Brighton I will be staying there again but this time will probably be with my girlfriends. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Popsta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan J, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Popsta73

Thank you so much for your kind review! It was lovely hosting you!

We know that parking in Brighton can be challenging and we are now offering guests an alternative to the on-street permits by way of pre-booking parking spaces. We give the website address when we issue booking confirmation and whilst it can be slightly more expensive, it gives you the peace of mind that you have somewhere to park once you arrive.

Thank you also for your feedback on the in-room facilities. We have already added tea making facilities to all rooms, and work on our breakfast room will be underway soon! We will still offer a breakfast in bed option to those guests who wish to have an easier start to the morning though. Hopefully when we next host you, you will be able to experience the upgrades that we are making and let us know how we doing!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of Dan and Liam's hospitality.Our room was spacious ,über clean , bed comfy, quiet and relaxing, in the morning a beautiful continental breakfast so fresh and beautifully presented ,thank you both.
Dan helped with the parking but you couldn't be better situated , the pier and beach and bars and restaurants all on your doorstep.
Dan and Liam on hand to give excellent advice on where to eat .
See you soon and good luck your enthusiasm for you new business shines through , felt very welcome .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

My Boyfriend and I just spent a fabulous Saturday night staying here. Mark could not do enough for us, even getting our room ready early as we arrived before the normal 2pm check in time. We stayed in the Japanese Courtyard room which is situated on the ground floor at the back of the B&B, I was very impressed with the cleanliness and the little touches e.g the bottled water, slippers, robes and the Bluetooth speaker. The décor is pleasing to the eye and the artwork wonderful. Bed was very comfortable too.
We were also greeted warmly by Arif who has the biggest smile! You are given a card with choices for breakfast, continental is served in your room-lots to choose from-even Eggs benedict (for a small supplement) which is served at a café literally 2 minutes walk from the B&B.
You help yourself to teas and coffees from a communal kitchen (I believe it is Mark and Arifs personal kitchen) you can even help yourself to chocolate Hob Nobs-Just so relaxed and such a good vibe.
Thank you Mark and Arif for a fantastic stay I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a quiet yet centrally located getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnypoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Bunnypoop, it was our pleasure to host you both last weekend: thank you for choosing to stay at Nineteen. We're very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for posting this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Nineteen is a small well run hotel set on a small street with little traffic and surrounded by lots of small shops/cafe's. The owner clearly knows how to please guests. Lots of really nice touches. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking time out to post this review Desmond M. We're delighted you enjoyed staying with us, and that you plan to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,410 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,746 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#16 of 95 in Brighton
895 reviews
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#28 of 95 in Brighton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nineteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nineteen

Address: 19 Broad Street, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $167 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nineteen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury stylish boutique Guest House close to all Brighton's attractions, with high standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nineteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing