We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Japanese Courtyard Room”
Review of Nineteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nineteen
Ranked #17 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Stayed one night in the Japanese Courtyard Room, which has lovely Japanese themed decor, very clean and comfortable. Outdoor bath was fantastic and very relaxing. Felt very much like a home :) Delicious breakfast. The owner, Mark, is really warm, welcoming and lovely. I would recommend NINETEEN to anyone. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skaw2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear skaw2211, thank you so much for taking time out to post this kind review of your short stay at Nineteen. We're delighted you enjoyed the Japanese Courtyard room, and we hope to see you both again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile


We decided at the last minute to stay over in Brighton as we were attending a gig at the Concorde. Having searched online I found NINETEEN..... what a find! It's the best guest house I've stayed in. We received a warm welcome on arrival, we were taken to our room which was lovely. We were given the option of still or fizzy water, there was complimentary fruit in our room along with slippers, robes and aromatherapy shower gel, shampoo & body lotion. The room was very clean & well decorated. The continental breakfast was superb, for a little extra you can go to an nearby cafe for a hot breakfast.
The location is perfect close to the pier, lanes and train station.
I certainly recommend NINETEEN, we will definitely be booking to stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tracey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you Tracey t: your kind words mean a lot to us. We were honoured to host you for your night out in Brighton, and we're delighted you approved of all the little things we add to our rooms to make for a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

My husband found this hotel online and booked it for 2 nights for a weekend away for the two of us.
The hotel is easy to find and parking was not a problem. We paid an additional £11 each day to purchase a parking permit from Mark (who runs/owns the hotel).
Mark also helped us to find a parking space. The first day we parked on the street on the hotel and the 2nd about 2 mins walk away.
We loved this hotel. The location really couldn't have been better being only 3 mins walk away from the pier and 5 mins walk from the lanes.
We stayed in room 2. This was a relatively small room, but we didn't need anything bigger. The bathroom is brand new with a good shower.
I think our favourite part was the breakfast which was included in the price and delivered to our room. It was so good that we had it both days rather than opting to go to the cafe.
The rooms also had some lovely personal touches such as bottled water, fruit, slippers and bathrobes. I would recommend this hotel and consider staying here again if visiting Brighton.
Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear StephanieM, what a lovely review of your stay at Nineteen: thank you so much for sharing your kind thoughts. We enjoyed hosting you both, and look forward to seeing you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

The most enjoyable B&B accomodation I ever stayed. Centrally located, only a few minutes walking distance to all Brighton landmarks and shopping streets. Really beautiful, comfy room with many nice, useful extras. Very, very friendly, helpful host and staff. Boutique hotel feeling with personal touch. Very well organized. High quality food for breakfast - even gluten-free options are provided. Kitchen available for making coffee or tea or to borrow dishes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Sabrina L, thank you for taking time out to post this lovely review of your recent stay with us. It was good to meet you, and I was very happy when you told me before you left that you had enjoyed visiting Brighton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Excellence B&B, the best one in which I ever been. In a strategic position, 10 minutes far from the train station and 1 minutes from the seaside, it provides everything you need for a pleasant stay.
Mark, the owner, has been very kind by waiting for me despite my late arrival and by providing me all the information needed for my stay.
The room was very cozy, clean and tidy. A lot of services that you don't expect from a B&B are provided: aromatherapy soaps, slippers, local journals, local guides and info, restaurants and bar suggestions, complimentary water per day, free use of the kitchen for teas or coffees, breakfast included, air drier, a Bluetooth speaker, tv with suggestions of local and interesting channels, fantastic shower, towels, bathrobe, umbrella and free wifi. Literally everything you can need at a very good level.
If you are planning to visit for a couple of days, or more Brighton, that's the right place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edoardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you very much Edoardo V - this is a wonderful review! We are really happy that you noticed and appreciated many of the little extra things we do here at Nineteen.
We feel honoured to receive your high praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,414 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,746 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#15 of 95 in Brighton
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nineteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nineteen

Address: 19 Broad Street, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $168 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nineteen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury stylish boutique Guest House close to all Brighton's attractions, with high standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nineteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing