We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, central location and peaceful stay”
Review of Nineteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nineteen
Ranked #19 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I spent 2 nights in the Japanese room and really enjoyed my stay here. The outside space is cute and it was nice to open a door for some fresh air - hotel rooms can be stuffy. Room and courtyard is private and was a lovely retreat at the end of the day. Good location, quick walk to the front or the lanes but on a quiet side street.

The room was spacious and well appointed, bathroom spotlessly clean. Enjoyed a soak in the bath and delicious coffee and breakfast bought to the room. No kettle in the room but you can make yourself a pot of coffee or tea in the kitchen.

I thought the previous review on the 'regimented atmosphere’ was a little unkind - I arrived expecting a room full of passive-aggressive post-it notes/spy cameras but nothing of the sort! If you bothered to read the guide it asked you not to smoke outside, not to use the outdoor bath after 11pm (it’s noisy) and to use the bath salts provided because soap damages the wood. All seemed reasonable and just common sense. I had a key and came and went rarely seeing anyone - certainly didn’t feel monitored.

Nice place, would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Japanese room has a private courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you so much Geri R, for staying with us, for posting this review, and for challenging the comments left by one other reviewer.
We're so pleased you were able to find some me time during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

My partner and I stayed in the Japanese courtyard room for a night in July. Whilst the B&B is clean and well presented (I loved the artwork in the communal spaces), there is a pervading atmosphere of restriction. There are a lot of rules regarding your stay here, clearly stated in the welcome manual, including the fines and charges one could incur with an infraction of these rules. Mark himself was professional and friendly enough in person, but after having read the manual I couldn't help but feel that I was being monitored and assessed. Not the relaxing atmosphere I was looking for. It is even stated in the manual that the owners actively encourage other guests to be on the look out for people smoking on the property and report them to the owners! Mark has shown his feelings in his responses to other guests: 'Experience has shown that if one doesn't set boundaries, people take liberties.'... and that attitude comes across. If you provide an outside space with a room, surely it's ok to smoke there? No, £100 fine if you do. Surely if you provide a luxury like a japanese bath you should give the guests the freedom to use it when they want? Nope, time restrictions. I understand that there are other guests but if you feel that use of facilities in one room could be detrimental to the stay of other guests, don't offer them! What's the difference between a guest smelling smoke from the courtyard and a guest at the front of the house smelling smoke from the street?

Having read Mark's responses to previous critics of Nineteen I am now bracing myself. Mark, I hope you take this criticism in a constructive way. I am not a 'troll', I have no ulterior motive, I just wanted to give an honest review. You have a lovely establishment and it is clearly working, but for me I need a little less restriction to give a higher score.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesrobinson010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear jamesrobinson010, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were made to feel uncomfortable by things I had written in the 'welcome book', but I'm grateful that I have an opportunity to justify things here.
The only 'rules' we remind guests about relate to common decency and respect for others around you; specifically that you should turn off the water feature in the courtyard when you are not in the room, and overnight, because many people do not like the sound of running water. Nineteen is a 200 year old town house, in a conservation area, so we can only ensure our guests are protected from noise at night by relying on respectful behaviour from all other guests.
The only fine or charge we talk about in the welcome book is applied when guests smoke in their room, or in the courtyard of the Japanese room. Smoking is illegal indoors and in outside areas which are more than 50% enclosed (thus including the courtyard). If our guests smoke on site it causes great upset to other guests, may cause us to take a room out of action for fumigating, or require us to give refunds to guests booked into rooms where smoking has taken place. As a business owner, if I have not taken all reasonable steps to prevent my guests from smoking, I could be fined £1500 by the council. That's why I make it very clear that smoking is not allowed at Nineteen, and why I encourage guests to report other guests' smoking to me. Unfortunately we do still occasionally have to deal with some people who do not care about the law or the impact of their actions on others, and while this continues I will continue to harp on about the non smoking rules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights for our anniversary and had the best time! Mark and Arif were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so friendly. The rooms were pristinely clean and light and airy and beautifully furnished. It was peaceful too. The breakfast options were fab but we chose to take them up on their offer of breakfast around the corner in the cafe for an extra three pounds and it was well worth it. Delicious food and lovely staff. The place is within minutes of the pier and seafront and Mark and Arif helped us with parking. They made our stay stress free which was exactly what we needed. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CHOI37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Dear CHOI37, than you for staying with us at Nineteen, and for taking time out to post this kind review. It really means a lot to us when we get feedback like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

A superb place to stay. Friendly welcome from the owners. Modern clean rooms with great en suite facilities. Option of breakfast at a fantastic local cafe and all within 5 minutes walk of all of the attractions you would want to visit. Will definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again when next visiting.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Thank you Pete H for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to host you both last week and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you to Nineteen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I stayed for one night with 3 family members before my graduation. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and they helped us sorted out another room at the last minute. The continental breakfast was delicious and the homemade museili was lovely! The overall feel of the hotel was very calm and welcoming and the stay had a personal touch. Overall a very good stay!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for sharing these kind opinions HayleyM. It was a pleasure to host you and your family during your special time in Brighton. Congratulations on your degree, and all the best for the future in the big wide world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,412 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,746 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#16 of 95 in Brighton
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nineteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nineteen

Address: 19 Broad Street, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $168 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nineteen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury stylish boutique Guest House close to all Brighton's attractions, with high standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your Nineteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing