We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I requested a low floor and got 2nd floor but no other rooms available to have so not a good start. The room was very small and dated, certainly not a 4*!
The bathroom was small and very slippery which isn't too good when you have just had a knee operation.
The radiator in the bathroom was really rusty so could do with being replaced, and the toilet brush..... lets just say it was rather disgusting!!
Location is good but very pricey for what you get!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 875dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesmf, General Manager at Amsterdam Hotel Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We had noticed on your booking that you had a knee operation recently and mobility problems and tried to accommodate your request by giving you a room next door to the lift. On arrival, you informed us that you were also claustrophobic and could not use the lift and we were then unable to change your room because all the other guests had checked in for the weekend. Please note that we are a 3* metro hotel, not 4*. We are currently going through renovations which will be completed in the near future. I will definitely speak with our head housekeeper regarding the toilet brush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We've visited this hotel for a few days break for many years and always have a nice stay

The bed linen and towels are changed daily
And the room given a quick clean daily too

The rooms have been redecorated but the wooden furniture has not, and although the furniture has seen better days it seems to be part of the character of this Beach Front Hotel

The Continental Breakfast is varied and plentiful - and for an additional charge you can have a Full English Breakfast ..
But be warned ..the Breakfast Chef takes it personally if you don't manage to eat everything on your plate :)

Has a good bar with outside area - with smoking areas

The welcome you get from the Reception Staff and Management is second to none

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nessaandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The hotel is centrally located in Brighton within walking distance of basically everything. There is also a lift. I had no problem with the breakfast - it's free and there's a range of foods available. Can't complain. This is where the positives end.

My room was tiny. Literally not enough room on the floor to put my suitcase down and open it. The floor was also sloping, so my suitcase would hilariously roll across the room of its own volition. The bathroom is also one of the worst I've ever even seen. You would get better water pressure out of a watering can. The shower head looks and feels like someone poked some holes into a tin and stuck it to a hose. The view out of the window looked like something out of a slum.

The staff were lovely, but I really would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We went for Sunday lunch, and the food was excellent and plenty of it too. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I have one complaint.... and rather oddly it was the guy that seemed to be the manager that spoiled the experience.

A shorter, older man seemed to be interfering with things when the waiting and bar staff were providing perfectly good service. On a couple of occasions I heard him blaming things on "our European cousins", which is incredibly patronising. Also I saw him telling one of the waiting staff off on the restaurant floor in front of all the customers... extremely unprofessional. He was intrusive, abrupt and disrespectful, which was not a nice atmosphere to be in.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The staff were great, Friendly and made us feel very welcome on arrival, and deliver outstanding customer service.

Went for a Sunday dinner with my friend and was very impressed with the food. It was a very good value roast dinner and came with plenty of veg, roast potatoes and Yorkshire.
The bar has won several awards for its roast dinners and we weren't disappointed.

We both had the Roast pork which was cooked perfectly.

We will definitely be returning :-)

Many thanks x

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FKTBrighton, Manager at Amsterdam Hotel Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Firose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
825 reviews
1.1 km away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#14 of 43 in Brighton
610 reviews
0.5 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,204 reviews
1.0 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.7 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brighton

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: $101 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing