We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

A tired old room with dated furnishings, a fairly grotty bathroom with a pathetic shower - a rip off even for Brighton.
This place looked great at first but it appeared I was given a room out of the limelight and I was disappointed at the overall lack of effort to make the room reasonably appealing

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Paul M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We fully encourage feedback to the hotel so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any disappointment.

Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

The hotel is a great place to host a Christmas party. The staff were very attentive and the evening was a pleasure. The food was delicious too. The room was comfy and equipped for a night's stay. All in all a lovely place especially waking up to a sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phyl569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Phyl569,

Thank you for choosing the Old Ship Hotel as your Christmas party venue. We are delighted, that you had a great time with us.

Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed at The Old Ship for 3 nights whilst working in Brighton. Quite an average hotel. Fine for simply needing a place to sleep but would not recommend for a leisurely stay. Room was clean and tidy, to be fair the bed was very comfortable and a big TV was good. No water or even cups available in the room which wasn't very good. When I returned from work knackered I was dying for a glass of water but there was not anything to put water from the tap in. Called down to the restaurant to see if they could bring me up a bottle of water or even just a glass and was quoted £7.50 tray charge! Was then told by the chap he wouldn't be able to bring me anything anyway because he was on his own in the bar. Great. Had to go down late at night in my pajamas to get a drink. Not ideal. Floors were very squeaky, pretty sure I annoyed the people below me getting up at 5 am everyday. Pretty average staff, not overly welcoming or helpful. Lift up to bedrooms can fit 3 skinny people in at a time maximum. Breakfast was quite good. A decent selection but there never seemed to be everything out at one time. Something always appeared to be missing. Breakfast staff were very good. Well presented and very polite and loads of them which tends to be rare in hotels! Was woken up very early in the morning by the keg delivery for the pub next door. No plug sockets next the the beds either. Wouldn't recommend for a family or couples trip but fine for business.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ciara B,

We provide tea/coffee station in each room. Water glasses are located on the tray as well. I am really sorry you had to come down.

Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

The public rooms on the ground floor are of a good standard, but when you go upstairs via the old rickety lift, things begin to deteriorate. The corridors are shabby, and don't look as if they have been painted in decades. The rooms have peeling paint and wallpaper, and grubby furniture. I went to the bar for a drink, and was levied an extra 10% service charge. The breakfast was good and the location is great, right on the seafront, but something needs to be done to bring this hotel up to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygeemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear jaygeemack,

Thank you for your review.
Being under new owner ship plans for future are set, and we hope to announce refurbishment very soon.

Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for for two nights while I attended a conference. From the moment I arrived to leaving the service I received from every member off staff was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Being a disabled visitor the staff’s help was a welcome change from some hotels I have stayed at.

Even my room was ideal. The hotel has two accessible rooms mine was large and very comfortable. The bathroom, which is a wet room is well designed and fully accessible. Okay the view from my window was nothing to write home about but it was so quiet.

I only ate breakfast at the hotel and I was spoilt for choice. Everything from continental to full English was on offer, there really was something for everyone.

A note for visitors that use a wheelchair or mobility scooter. Don’t use the main entrance which has steps but use the entrance to the bar area which has its own bell to alert the reception staff to come and assist you. Once inside there is a ramped access route to the reception area.

If you have a small mobility scooter you might be able to get it into the lift. If not the hotel has provided a suitable churching point in reception.

I can whole heartedly recommend The Old Ship and it’s wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. Special mentions must got to the young gentleman in reception whose name I sadly didn’t get and Jean who runs the breakfasts with precision to match anything I have ever come across in any hotel and all done with a friendly smile.

Well done The Old Ship. I can’t sing your praises enough.










Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mishthemodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Mishthemodeller,

What a fantastic review to read.
We are delighted, you felt welcome and that Old Ship Hotel met your needs.

Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,219 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,412 reviews
0.6 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
863 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $94 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing