We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
133
230
138
82
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
230
138
82
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front brighton centre bit dated street parking four poster bed short stay enjoyable stay sea view seafront
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We stayed here for 2 night in a triple room. What a great find. Our room was spacious enough for the 3 of us. There is a sitting area out the front of the hotel to enjoy a drink and catch a glimpse of the ocean. Loved the style of the hotel and the decor. Staff were very friendly. Just a short walk from the beach and a 15 minute walk to Brighton pier. There are restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us from Down Under. Great review and you were lovely guests. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally do reviews but I thought this time ahh what the hell.

So I booked 4 rooms for my friends hen party. The staff were very helpful, the room was spacious and clean. (Could smell the bleach in the bathroom :-) ) They were accommodating with my requests. (I asked for a cheeky early check in on one room to decorate it for the bride to be).

My only issue was I had booked a parking slot via email months ago which on the day couldn’t be allocated due to a clerical error, however a parking permit for on the street parking was sorted and issue resolved.

True some bits need a patch up here and there (where doesn’t) but all 10 of us all thought it was a good hotel, and value for money.

Thank you for the stay. And sorry about the tissue paper confetti hearts you probably found all over the place :-)
X

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nickyt1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for this lovely review - Henry the hoover has been busy but for him it is a labour of love as hearts always trump crumbs!

Hopefully we can see all or some of your party back before too long from along the coast in Hastings as you really were super guests. There was a slight hiatus with the car park for which we apologise but there is invariably space in the street and we were pleased this issue was quickly resolved

What a fun reason to visit our lovely City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The hotel in general was pretty good. Worth an 8 out of 10. The room was lovely and bright. You should be aware that there are no meals except breakfast (which I didn't try). No room service though they do allow you to order in. Nice enough bar. The only thing was the shower.. it was more of a dribble than a shower (depending on the time of day). For claustrophobics: The lift is a small space so you have to be willing to use stairs. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would repeat despite the shower. Be advised: the hotel, in Hove, is a 25 minute walk from centre of Brighton. Tiny television (for those interested), more like a computer screen.

Room Tip: 405 was good for a view. And is a nice bright room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SarahJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you so much for these kind words and for visiting us from Spain. Your thoughtful remarks are appreciated and we are always looking for ways to improve, albeit working within the constraints of a building which has nobly spanned three centuries

Hopefully your plans will allow a return visit before too long as you were a delightful guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

All ok. Traditional, aged, English hotel. Nice breakfast, good price, absolutely excellent reception staff who provided first class advice regarding where to park (to avoid a parking ticket) and even went and bought a Sunday newspaper for us. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank esfcandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for these lovely comments and for visiting the Imperial from the wilds of Kent. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

There were two of us. One booked for a single room, me for a double. The first single room was appalling. Dreadful smell and impossible to open the window. This was changed to one where we discovered there was no water. The third move was reasonable but we had to transfer all luggage twice and then in a tiny lift which didn't access the first room at all.
The double room was poky. The furniture budget and the wallpaper peeling off the walls in places. The floor was uneven and a couple of boards were clearly broken beneath the carpet.
The second double room was absolutely fine.
My friend and I are both in our early 70's. It was not easy to have to keep moving. The staff were apologetic and clearly knew that we had cause to complain.
The owner is the one responsible and she has not addressed our concerns.

We were told that the owner would be dealing with our complaint in May. I have emailed and asked for an update. This wasn't acknowledged

Room Tip: Insist on a photograph of the room you are definitely going to stay in. Check lift.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

These are sentiments we would heartily echo in terms of these guests not staying again. Whilst there were minor issues with the single room for which we apologised [and offered a generous discount against a future stay - of course omitted here], the comments regarding the double room are nonsense as is the suggestion that the lift does not reach all floors

It seems clear that the Imperial, as a traditional seaside hotel, was unlikely to ever meet the expectations of these guests, with a homogeneous chain far better suited to their particular needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews