We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,106)
Filter reviews
2,106 results
Traveller rating
271
549
627
372
287
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
549
627
372
287
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front both mornings weekend break comfy bed a sea view room cooked breakfast full english pier staircase
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 2,106 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Stayed in mews room which is at back of hotel so quiet, can imagine those at front with seaviews but facing main road would be much more noisy. Room clean and bed comfy, room came with hairdryer, iron and board, TV etc, got cleaned and new towels each day. Had breakfast in hotel but no other food, so much choice in Brighton for eating and much cheaper, especially for drinks. Would agree with other reviewers that the hotel is over priced and not up to 4* standards, feels a bit tired in places. Can’t fault the staff however who were friendly and attentive, perhaps those managing should also be more attentive.

Room Tip: Mews rooms are quieter
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gannet95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your review and I am please that you found the Mews section of the hotel quiet and the staff friendly and attentive. The public areas of the building are due for a refurbishment next year and as it is a grade two listed building this does take planning and discussions with the local heritage department.
I hope you will return when the new look hotel has been completed.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

In a great location with really helpful and friendly staff.

However, given the fact we were on the 3rd floor, we got rather fed up with the fact that the lift was not working and apparently they do not know when this will be fixed. We managed to use it a couple of times - after waiting for 15 minutes listening incessantly to 'doors opening, doors opening'. Thankfully there was no emergency.... It was really annoying. Our toilet also seemed to have issues with flushing a few times and my partner fixed it. We didn't see the point of ringing Reception as God knows how long it would have taken (at the weekend) for someone to come and have a look - you know - given the fact the lift wasn't working either.....

The only good thing was the staff were so good on reception and also in the bar. Very polite and efficient. They were apologetic about the lift but not really much they could do....

We didn't get much sleep as the beds were so uncomfortable and as they were two single beds placed together for a double - but completely different heights. Pillows were rock hard.

We both left there feeling tired and disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MMMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your comment after you recent stay and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. The lift does operate however it has a delay and a new lift is being manufacture to replace the current one. In emergency situations all lifts should not ne used for safety. Had you reported your toilet to reception someone would have come immediately. We have maintenance service over the weekend. I appreciate your comments regarding the staff who are a great team. The bed configuration was a zip and link arrangement which is common place in many hotels.

I am sorry you felt disappointed.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

My other half booked us in for the night on a Woucher or Groupon deal ( one or the other ) for £109 for bed , £22 each for dinner and breakfast. Parked in front of reception for extra £18 , checked in within 2 mins and had a lovely room in the 'Mews' section. Dinner of the set menu was decent . I had soup of the day , fish chips and mushy peas and a lemon posset. Ready nice. Room was perfect temperature and perfectly clean. The front of the hotel , reception steps etc could do with a once over with a mop and bucket and the headroom in the shower was a bit tight if you 6 foot or taller , but these are minor points. Decent location opposite the i360 / West Pier ruins and ten minutes walk to city centre and Lanes etc. Really nice all you can eat buffet, continental, full English breakfast etc. Sea views from bar and restaurant etc. Good value for money. Definitely go back . Oh and remember some rooms probably don't have air conditioning. We had a fan if needed. Also an ironing board and iron was a welcome touch . Plus good local guide books in the room . Bar and a la carte menu prices city standard ( ££ ) and we had to ask for the set menu we had been offered in our deal when we booked .

Room Tip: Book parking . Consider an upgrade if you are booking on a deal.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heimi_henderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Greta to read you enjoyed your stay and food at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Iain Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner. Check in was easy and the lady Kat on reception was really lovely and friendly. Sadly the compact double room we stayed in was rather dirty and very dark- there are only lamps no ceiling lighting so it was quite depressing. The room had an instantly noticeable smell of cigarette smoke. Someone who had used the room had definitely smoked in there it was horrendous. We called reception and asked if we could upgrade we paid £20 and were put in a much larger room with a sea view. Definitely worth it. Both rooms were rather dated and definitely need updating- especially the bathroom. Overall the hotel is not great but it was worth paying £20 to upgrade to a brighter more spacious room. I think this hotel should consider lowering its prices. I realise they are in good location however the hotel is not up to standards for £150 per night we payed for the compact room.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank roikate2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Booked this room months ago on a pay when you get there deal and they took the money straight away, but when we got there the room was down a tiny alleyway had to use a fire exit lift that takes ages to get going and then when we get to the room it’s a tiny dark room with paper thin walls we saw that we could upgrade for £20 a night go to the desk and it’s £40 for 2 ppl so £80 for 2 nights we asked to see the room before paying the upgrade and OMG what a difference sea view massive room with a balcony you can access from your window, it had been a long trip so we then had some dinner downstairs but had to send that back because it was just tasteless and processed and the drink prices were expensive for what they were so we ended up going to the off license down the road and taking it to our room in the end we it was a lovely break but will not be staying at this hotel again any time soon

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steephanniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews