We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for hen-do although wouldnt recommend for anything other than a stop-over”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for hen-do although wouldnt recommend for anything other than a stop-over”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here last weekend for a hen-do and it was in an ideal location- right on the sea front, not too far away from main pubs and clubs area in Brighton.

The room was quite basic - fresh clean towels provided - and the shower (although old and a bit ropey) was a great power shower - definitely woke us up!! Our twin room was sized about right for two people and the beds were very comfy - and tea and coffee facilities and a tv were provided.

Our room was on the forth floor and our group had a total of 5 rooms in the hotel split across 3 floors. Our room was near to the door splitting the hotel rooms on the floor and was a little noisy with people entering through it - although as we were hardly in the room this didnt affect us.

The parking there is a NIGHTMARE - they only have 11 parking spaces for the entire hotel - and you have to pay £15 per night to park in their car park.... the spaces are very small too, and we noticed that another car in the car park had been scratched from other cars getting in and out the car park.... there is a NCP car park along the same road which is £12 a night and probably easier to park in it....

The hotel staff were friendly throughout the visit and the although the bar was closed when we returned from our night out, the hotel manager allowed us to sit outside on their benches after closing.

Breakfast was lovely - we all had unlimited orange and tea and coffee and you order your english breakfast and they bring it over to you - beats the buffet style when you serve yourself.

Overall the hotel was great for our trip as we just needed somewhere to rest after a night out. We hardly spent any time in the hotel, but the bathroom was great sized and bright, and the beds were compfy - all you need really!

I wouldnt recommend for a couple on a romantic evening, or even a quiet get away, as the facilities werent very swish, and the hotel is a little dated when you get past reception.

It also may be worth mentioning that we booked this through a hen-do and stag-do company where as this would have been cheaper to book separately. Also may be worth menitoning this as it is obviously a popular hotel with groups of stag-do and hen-do people - so not ideal if you want a quiet or romantic break... :-)

Room Tip: The higher you are the less noise is heard from outside - we were on 4th floor and heard nothing fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RONDON0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    530
    390
    207
    187
See reviews for
229
704
100
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I was yet again at another trade fair and therefore had to find somewhere to stay. This was a business trip and therefore I need Wi-Fi as I need to work in the evening.
The first room I was given was a very small room with a double bed on the 5th floor. There was barely enough room to walk around the bed but the room was clean and adequate for a business stay. However the Wi-Fi did not work. This is one of my gripe as far too many hotels advertise Wi-Fi or even free Wi-Fi but in fact when it comes to it the Wi-Fi only works if your are standing on one leg in the corridor over the staircase with your PC in one hand...
I went back to reception who gave me another room downstairs on the groudn floor. This room was much bigger and the Wi-Fi worked.
The room was again very clean but there were quite a few staines on carpet. This is something I find difficutl to understand, surely it is not difficult to spot clean a carpet as soon as it gets a few staines.
The bathroom was of good size with a nice shower but again those dreaded soap dispensers rather than a proper soap bar. I do realise how much money it must be saving to the hotel but after all this is not Ryanair where this type of savings should be left.
Breakfast was great and service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel is on the sea front and close to town and good value for money. My room was quiet, clean and relatively comfortable. (Nice very white clean new towels)

Breakfast is serve yourself cereals and toast (a gold star for having marmite!). There is then a choice of fruit and yogert, pancakes, fish or full english (with vegetarian if requied). Plenty of coffee and juice.

Reception staff have limited english comprehension.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englanderin186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwen lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the Kings Hotel due to being at a conference in Brighton.

The room on the fourth floor over looked some flats and another hotel. The room itself was small with a single bed. The room was very clean as was the bathroom even though it was small. Some of the furniture was in need of repair or changing as it was chipped badly. The writing desk was also placed on wooden blocks.

The hotel itself along with the restaurant was clean and there was staff outside cleaning up the cigarette ends making the place tidy.

The breakfast was ok, served hot and on hot plates you were only given one choice off the main menu and you were served by the staff if you wanted some more you were to be charged another £4.95 which i feel is unfair and you should be able to eat all you want. The portions of the traditional breakfast were small and was the only place I know of were the serve a sprig of parsley on your baked beans.

The staff were very good, polite and attended to the needs of there customers. Booking in was quick and efficient as was booking out. I was asked to put a deposit of £50 on my card or cash just in case I got any room service or drinks at the bar. I refused to pay and the receptionist checked with the manager if it was ok to do this and I was allowed "this time".

I really dont think that the hotel have the right to basically demand this money they should offer the service and if they refuse to pay then so be it. They also charge £5 an hour up to 2 hrs if you want to a late departure. Again this is trying to make more money out of the customers and is wrong in my opinion.

Basically the hotel is ok but could do better in some areas.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before you book in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grunny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here as we were competing in the Brighton half marathon. We booked late & littlw choice was available. We paid £149 for a deluxe double room that transpired to be a small double room at sub basement level at the rear of the property with ensuite 'wardrobe type' shower & loo and view of a brick wall. It was spotlessly clean but the glaring corridor lighting under the large gap of the bedroom door didnt aid a restful night. The hotel charges an added %age to use certain credit cards which is laughable in this day & age. What we found most aggravating however was the hotel managements refusal to bring forward their breakfast service time by half an hour to allow competitors (there were many besides us) to take sustenance before the race & for which we were being charged. A seafront room might be a better experience but can't say that we'd return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeBeauvoirTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,119 reviews
0.9 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,109 reviews
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,354 reviews
0.7 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 km away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): $107 - $392
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing