We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask to view the room before you accept it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ask to view the room before you accept it!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. This is a big victorian hotel which has impressive public areas. However because of the age of the hotel many of the rooms are of different sizes and shapes. Some are extremely small and some whilst larger overlook the scaffolding for the ongoing building works. Tip if you stay here ask for a high floor sea view and ask to see a selection of rooms as they really do differ in size for same price. It was a special occasion and a nice touch was they gave us a free bottle of bubbly. Restaurant large with the usual good selection you would expect from hilton chain, seemed very crowded the second morning with lots if extra tables very close to the buffet which put us off having dinner at the hotel. Great position for visiting local attractions, seafront shops etc Nice leisure facilities. Comfortable clean room. Would stay here again if in Brighton we enjoyed our break but you just need to be fussy when you check in.

Room Tip: High floor seaview our room was 515 nice quiet room spacious with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devongill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear devongill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed the service from the team here and also our superb breakfast.

The hotel as you say has a great location and with the facilities we provide and refurbishments we have made is a great base from which to explore the local area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    1,114
    1,043
    676
    490
See reviews for
666
1,442
201
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Metropole recently for a work conference. It's a perfectly decent conference hotel - and the conference / business facilities are of a good high standard. The bedroom however was a bit of a disappointment; mine overlooked what seemed to be industrial cooling vents. Colleagues' rooms were in some cases in serious need of refurbishment.

I'd previously looked at staying here with my wife for a romantic weekend. I would struggle to recommend this for a romantic getaway, and was glad I had not spent my own money here.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondoner1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear NorthLondoner1000,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

The hotel is still in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms. I was disappointed to read you would not recommend or stay for a romantic weekend, please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel was filled with charm and elegance. Location was excellent with outstanding water views. As part of a tour our room didn't have a good view, but the size was great. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Dinner was provided and it was very good with many options to choose from on the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DClif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear DClif,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that the hotel and service provided for such an enjoyable stay for you.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had booked a "romantic" weekend for my partner and myself. Asked her where she would like to go and she said Brighton. Looked online and thought - Hilton, must be good - how mistaken I was.

Booked a delux room. Again, a mistake, the room was very poor, towels etc., only for one, plus a used bath mat and towel, furniture chipped and old, top end of a broken glass on the carpet, various other details which for the price of the room, were unforgiveable.
Spoke to the Customer services Manager and received another room. Unfortunately the damage was done.
Although the revamped room was okay, it still was not what I expected from a noted hotel chain. Room service personnel barely able to speak English, cost of a bucket of ice, just under £10.

As indicated to the Customer Service Manager, I travel a lot on Business worldwide and had often stayed in one of the Hilton chain but this was scarcely credible. Unless free of charge we would not stay there again.

One positive point, the reception staff were very friendly.
David Newton

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Mr Newton,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay and I am sorry to read that your stay fell below the Hilton standard. The hotel is still in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

I was delighted to read that you found our reception team to be friendly during your stay.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently had a Sunday brunch in Brighton Hilton Metropole. I would call overall experience as very good, it looked like restaurant was fully booked, so we couldn't get table we wanted, but restaurant staff got that sorted and we were offered another table that we were happy with. The overall atmosphere felt warm and friendly.
Little worse on the food side, the quality of the food offered was very good, but more variety would be welcomed (for example cheese was not on buffet at all, but brought personally by Tanya).
Overall great atmosphere and attentive staff, very good location and fine food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear John B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent experience at our Jazz Sunday Brunch.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful experience and service.

Your comments regarding the choice and variety has been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Head Chef to review

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.7 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): $162 - $590
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing