We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

The Star Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Greeted by ladies behind bar, offered range of seating, and drinks order taken, good menu with plates to share , we chose seafood sharing platter which was excellent, fresh clean and well presented. offered coffee choices and had good coffees. staff knew their stuff and were very delightful.

Thank michaelvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear michaelvb,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are very pleased that the food, seating arrangements and service were to a high standard, and we will pass your comments on.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Julie Garvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Called in here for a Sunday Lunch as on website It said range of roasts. It was beef only which my husband enjoyed but I don't eat meat so took the ploughmans (not very Sunday lunch like) which was good. Serving meals the waitress practically threw the plate in front of my husband gravy flew everywhere over my husband his phone which was sitting by the table etc. We asked for water but had to go to the bar for more as waitress had vanished.
Don't think we would return

Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Elizabeth,

We are sorry that you didn't get a roast to suit your requirements; all I can say is that it was probably busy and we provide roasts until they run out, However, I do of course appreciate your disappointment.

As for the service we will check which staff were working that day but apologise on behalf of The Star.

We are increasingly busy in all areas, and it is a shame that you would not wish to return as we are a very popular venue.

Many Thanks to you.

Julie Garvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The food here was incredible! I had the belly pork which was cooked better than I have ever eaten (in that style) before, not fatty, not chewy but divine and with a deep and rich gravy. My wife fish and chips were excellent too, as were the burger and sausages and chips my children ate. Service was friendly and welcoming, always concerning when you have smaller children, but they were made to feel just as welcome as a table full of adults. There was an excellent local beer on offer and a good selection of other drinks from the bar. The setting was lovely and the seating and tables were comfortable.

Only criticism; It took quite a while for the meals to arrive after they were ordered, and with hungry youngsters this made for a stressful time for my wife and I. Fortunately dinner arrived and everyone was satisfied!

Thank DaveWilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear David W,

Thank you for sending in your review, and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the food, drinks, service and ambience!

We work very hard to try and give customer satisfaction, and so glad that you had a memorable experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Julie Garvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We live locally and wanted a nice meal to celebrate a anniversary.
The Star Inn as a venue is good especially for tourists looking for a typical English pub. Unfortunately we found the service very poor.
It took over 15 minutes for a beer to be served by which time we were well into our starters. For starter we opted for a shared sea food platter. Warning in our opinion one piece of bread is not sufficient to accompany the seafood for 2 people. We had to ask for extra bread for which we were charged £3 extra. And we had to ask for plates to eat the starter off!
For main course we had fish and chips and monkfish. The fish and chips is a safe option. The monkfish was poor value for money, you need to order side dishes to fill you up which adds £6 to your meal.
Overall we paid £79 (without a service tip) for 2 courses and a bottle of wine. The service was amongst the worst we have experienced, young inexperienced staff that did not have a clue.
We won't be returning soon.

1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn.

We are sorry that you found the service poor on this occasion, and we have spoken with our team and they have met to discuss further training and the improvement of standards so that we are always consistent.

We are also sorry that you had to ask for the extra plate for the seafood platter.

With regard to your main meals, our food is very popular and our prices are competitive for the area.

As mentioned we will be looking into staff training immediately, and we will look to rectify the situation.

When we are at fault we take immediate steps to put things right, and we are sorry that on this occasion you felt let down.

Kind regards,

Julie Garvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Such a beautiful place, had our honeymoon here 30 years ago, returned to celebrate, hotel lovely, staff great, food fab, location amazing. Breakfast was a delight, one member of staff really stood out, didn't get her name, petite lady serving breakfast drinks, she is such an asset to your venue, so welcoming. Such a friendly place, locals willing to chat too.Thank you so much for an enjoyable stay.

Thank Julie080887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Julie080887,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our much-loved inn!

What a milestone to have returned after 30 years!

We will speak with Lydia, the lady that you mentioned and tell her of your kind appreciative comments: she will be delighted.

I will also pass this review on to all departments - we hope to see you again very soon - before another 30 years have passed!

Kind regards,

Julie Garvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn Restaurant also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 
Alfriston, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to The Star Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing