We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage, great location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob442a
Saughall Massie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Much has been said about cobwebs and cockerels - this is barn conversion in the countryside; what do you expect?
Owners Doreen & Peter very friendly and even offered to pick us up from the pub(!)
The cottage is cosy and very well situated for lots of NT properties, Bury St. Edmunds, Cambridge, Lavenham and so much more.
We recommend The Bell Inn in Kersey - good beer, great food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We think of our guests as friends and treat them as such. We get many return visits.

We thoroughly clean the cottage immediately before the arrival of guests.
However, the few spiders we may have missed do not go to sleep!!!

We also have timers on the chicken houses to try and ensure the cockerels do not get up too early.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leximonke...
Bucks, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I read the reviews of this cottage before booking and so was aware of the cockerels that start crowing early in the morning. We sleep with windows open especially when it is hot, which it was) and was indeed woken very early in the morning. However, the next night we shut the window and I then used earplugs and my husband who is a heavy sleeper said it didnt bother him, so all sorted.
The cottage itself is lovely, characterful large lounge and a big bed, kitchen was fine but we didn't use it much (kettle leaked when poured) and bathroom was perfectly adequate. As for the cobwebs mentioned in other reviews, it is an old property and you are bound to get some, I don't like spiders but a couple of cobwebs don't bother me!
The seating area out back is right near the hens, so if you don't like them, don't stay here. I found the back area a little messy looking and chose to sit out front in the deckchairs provided when the sun was out. Much prettier view of the owner's cottage! If you stay you will see the old pictures of the barn and back garden, I just wished they had kept it like that, but they like their hens, ducks, dogs etc.
The owners are a very friendly couple, who are there if any help or suggestions are needed.
Overall, a great little place to base yourselves if exploring the area. I fully believe that the price reflects all of the above and takes into account being woken early. We could find nothing as good as this locally for the same sort of price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge area and big bed
Liked least: The noisy hens
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KM602013
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you dont like cockeralls and chickens avoid”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The owners are oblivious to the fact that holiday makers may be woken up very early in the morning, when we stayed the first cockerall started crowing at 3.50am! The chickens are literally around your feet every time you enter or leave the cottage, not a pleasant experience. Also if you don't like cobwebs this cottage is one to avoid, we named it "cobweb city" as some of the cobwebs were obviously very old and not nice to live alongside (particularly the ones in the bathroom) as it made you think "where are the spiders"!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: single storey
Liked least: Chickens, cockeralls & spiders Webs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
We do make it very clear that there are chickens around.
We have fitted timers to the chicken houses to try to get the cockerels to stay in bed!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The vaulted ceiling gave a real sense of space.
Liked least: Leaving after such a short stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We do our best to make the time in Wheelwrights Cottage as enjoyable as possible for our guests whom we consider as friends.
We'd love to see you again.
Doreen and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carole L
Traralgon, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely surroundings and beautifully appointed”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The cottage is spacious for two people and equipped with everything you would want. Set in lovely surroundings on a farm. Lovely decor. An easy drive to so many great places. The cocks started crowing Quite early but ear plugs from our plane trip stopped them from disturbing us. Fresh eggs from the farm and a taste of the owners home smoked chicken were added bonuses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Only Internet connection, not wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing