We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful wedding venue”

Review of Chaucer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LMRogers...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding venue”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We got married here in June this year, couldn't be happier with our special day. The place itself was perfect - beautiful gardens, lovely big rooms, quiet setting. The staff were amazing & helped to make our wedding run smoothly. All our family & friends commented on how lovely it was. Thank you guys again for making our day perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome wedding venue!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Chaucer Barn over a long weekend with our wedding party whilst other friends and family joined us on the Saturday for our wedding. The team at Chaucer Barn helped to make sure everything ran smoothly. The rooms were all immaculate, with each one having its own character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful character
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahAndy...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When can we go back again??!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

WOW! Chaucer Barn is pure magic. From the moment we drove up to the venue we were in love with it & didn't hesitate to choose it for our wedding. It was beyond perfect - the staff were all so helpful & Laura especially helped answer all my many questions on the run up to the day! We stayed for 3 nights - Day 1 was a BBQ at the house (it has the biggest kitchen table I've ever seen & perfect for hosting friends!), Day 2 a big rounders match at Holkham beach nearby and the following day we had the most magical wedding day. The venue suits both the informal gatherings as well as the more formal ones but the whole vibe of the place oozes happiness & you all instantly feel at home there. All our wedding suppliers were equally fantastic - 'the best wedding food ever' from Alex Chef, Heather Carpenter Floral Designs for perfectly fitting flowers, Amelia Garwood for hair&makeup, and Alexa Loy photography to capture all the happy smiles. Thank you again!! Sarah & Andy x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way you instantly feel at home there
Liked least: Nothing!! I even liked the fact it had poor phone signal!! It's actually a blessing in disguise as you have have no excuse to 'switch off' from the outside world & relax :-)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlemis...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A perfect place to dedicate your love”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Family wedding at the stunning Chaucer Barn. We were so well looked after by an enthusiastic staff. The Barn itself is just beautiful carefully mixing old and new. We filled the bedrooms as the loving couple my daughter one wanted to have both families mixing before the wedding so games in the garden. It worked. Weather fantastic so ceremony outdoors but a plan B was easy to organise. You have to cater yourself but the Barn made good recommendations for caterers, equipment, DJ and guitarist. I highly recommend the venue for weddings or family celebrations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antlers84
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful & special venue.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Chaucer Barn is a stunning venue for any occasion but especially for a wedding. Hunting for a venue we had two main criteria; somewhere we could spend the whole weekend (so the celebrations weren't limited to just a few hours) & a place where we could be married outside. Because of this, it made our search a little more difficult.

We didn't have to look far, because the moment we stepped onto the grounds we were blown away and knew we'd found our venue. It was described to us as 'our home for the weekend where we would be welcoming all our family and friends to share in our moment' and that is exactly what we wanted.

In the lead up to the wedding we visited many times to discuss how plans were progressing. All the staff are so friendly, professional, helpful and always welcoming. What we also found appealing is that we could pretty much do whatever we wanted; we really didn't want to have a cookie cutter type wedding…we wanted it to reflect who we are as a couple and Chaucer Barn embraces that. I chose to organise, make and plan most of it myself, but when I found myself looking for a certain supplier, Chaucer offered brilliant & reliable suggestions.

A whole bunch of us arrived at 2pm on the Friday to start decorating and making preparations for the wedding the following day. It was immaculate! The gardens were so beautiful and the barn and all the rooms were clean and inviting. There were staff on hand to help too who were brilliant. Not once did we feel like we were invading someone else's home, it truly felt like ours for the weekend.

The wedding day itself was just wonderful. Our ceremony was to begin at 4pm which meant that we had lots of time to get ready. We divided the house into 2 parts - the girls had the upstairs lounge to prepare and the boys had the downstairs lounge area. There isn't great signal around the barn but we took walky talkies which the bridal party LOVED and it meant that the groom and I didn't bump into one another.

Ten minutes before the ceremony began, mother nature intervened and the heavens opened and it was all hands on deck to bring everything inside. Chaucer Barn were fantastic and on hand to help co-ordinate the shift in ceremony. Although I had my heart set on an outside ceremony, I now feel that brining it into the banqueting hall made it that much more intimate and it was perfect.

The rest of the day went off without a hitch and everyone had an amazing weekend. We had a handful of kids attend who loved the space playing around the grounds. We even had a treasure hunt to keep them occupied and it went down a treat.

Chaucer Barn is truly special. Friends had noted that it felt like they were coming home for Christmas when they stepped inside the Barn because it was simply filled with love…and it really was. I will always cherish these memories and I could not imagine a venue more perfect than Chaucer Barn.

Thank you for having us, you are all marvellous and we can't praise you enough. All our love, Claire & Lewie G xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it felt like home.
Liked least: Not great signal - but who needs it when you have all your loved ones around you
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing