We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly beautiful & special venue.”

Review of Chaucer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
antlers84
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful & special venue.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Chaucer Barn is a stunning venue for any occasion but especially for a wedding. Hunting for a venue we had two main criteria; somewhere we could spend the whole weekend (so the celebrations weren't limited to just a few hours) & a place where we could be married outside. Because of this, it made our search a little more difficult.

We didn't have to look far, because the moment we stepped onto the grounds we were blown away and knew we'd found our venue. It was described to us as 'our home for the weekend where we would be welcoming all our family and friends to share in our moment' and that is exactly what we wanted.

In the lead up to the wedding we visited many times to discuss how plans were progressing. All the staff are so friendly, professional, helpful and always welcoming. What we also found appealing is that we could pretty much do whatever we wanted; we really didn't want to have a cookie cutter type wedding…we wanted it to reflect who we are as a couple and Chaucer Barn embraces that. I chose to organise, make and plan most of it myself, but when I found myself looking for a certain supplier, Chaucer offered brilliant & reliable suggestions.

A whole bunch of us arrived at 2pm on the Friday to start decorating and making preparations for the wedding the following day. It was immaculate! The gardens were so beautiful and the barn and all the rooms were clean and inviting. There were staff on hand to help too who were brilliant. Not once did we feel like we were invading someone else's home, it truly felt like ours for the weekend.

The wedding day itself was just wonderful. Our ceremony was to begin at 4pm which meant that we had lots of time to get ready. We divided the house into 2 parts - the girls had the upstairs lounge to prepare and the boys had the downstairs lounge area. There isn't great signal around the barn but we took walky talkies which the bridal party LOVED and it meant that the groom and I didn't bump into one another.

Ten minutes before the ceremony began, mother nature intervened and the heavens opened and it was all hands on deck to bring everything inside. Chaucer Barn were fantastic and on hand to help co-ordinate the shift in ceremony. Although I had my heart set on an outside ceremony, I now feel that brining it into the banqueting hall made it that much more intimate and it was perfect.

The rest of the day went off without a hitch and everyone had an amazing weekend. We had a handful of kids attend who loved the space playing around the grounds. We even had a treasure hunt to keep them occupied and it went down a treat.

Chaucer Barn is truly special. Friends had noted that it felt like they were coming home for Christmas when they stepped inside the Barn because it was simply filled with love…and it really was. I will always cherish these memories and I could not imagine a venue more perfect than Chaucer Barn.

Thank you for having us, you are all marvellous and we can't praise you enough. All our love, Claire & Lewie G xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it felt like home.
Liked least: Not great signal - but who needs it when you have all your loved ones around you
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartynCau...
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fantastic location, great staff and such a brilliant weekend. Beautiful grounds, great support and awesome venue that can be enjoyed by all ages.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arif-Ball
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT...TAKE US BACK!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have found and tied the knot at a more PERFECT and unique fairy tale wedding venue! Our guests may not have been too impressed with the 3 hour journey, but immediately appreciated why we made the choice to have our wedding outside of London upon arrival and have not stopped talking about it since, with their biggest highlight being the Archery! The blank canvas it offers is second to none as it allowed us to create a personal, intimate and fun-filled day that we will never forget, ! The staff were fantastic from the moment we viewed the venue, especially Laura who will put you at ease and answer any questions along the way. To conclude, we cannot wait to return to this beautiful, tranquil place for a weekend getaway, and wish we could do it all over again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill T
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant wedding venue”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My niece and her husband had a large party staying here for their wedding, and the wedding meal and evening's entertainment took place in the barn. Drinks were served downstairs and I think there were over 50 of us who sat down to the meal and then enjoyed music and entertainment for the evening.
We were not staying in the barn ourselves and the wedding took place in their Quaker meeting house, but the barn was the perfect place for the party. I wish I had known the reason for its name at the time! It was a little difficult to find, although our SatNav took us there, other guests had to follow us, after losing the road several times.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Family Stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second time at Chaucer barn and we had an absolutely fantastic time.

The barn was completely as described with ever detail being completely perfect. It was really lovely to have the barn for a whole 3 days and we made sure we made the most out of our time. The room configurations we asked for along with additional cots placed in various rooms were all carried out for our arrival which instantly made us feel at home.

The rooms were all presented to a very high standard with each individual room having its own character. My wife and I opted for the flint bedroom which was extremely large with a walk in shower and bath within the en suite. the other rooms were all equally as lovely with there being much debate over whom should get which rooms.

The barn is perfect for a family retreat with all facilities needed for children being available on site

The barn also has perfect cooking facilities to cater for a large group of people with a double Aga and an oven along with any other equipment one would need to cook for so many people. This all made cooking a roast dinner on Sunday for 16 people surprisingly easy.

Laura who organised our stay was absolutely fantastic making sure everything we needed was organised in advance so we had nothing at all to worry about.

Thank you Chaucer Barn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful dinning room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing