We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage, great location and well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Baytree Cottage

Baytree
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Baytree
Baytree Cottage Baytree Cottage and Owl Pottery next door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Baytree
Baytree Cottage
Baytree Cottage and Owl Pottery next door
A warm welcome awaits
The kitchen
Chill out in the farmhouse kitchen with the Aga
AGA
AGA and looking back to the utility room
Utility room leading to the sundeck/patio
Relax in the cosy sitting room
Wood burning stove
Enjoy the wonderful sitting room with wood burning stove
The double bedroom on top floor
Bunk room with third bed
Twin room
Family bathroom
Baytree sundeck/patio with seaview leading to garden
View back to cottage from patio
View towards the cottage
Durdle Door and its beach
Corfe Castle
Steam train from Swanage to Corfe Castle
Swanage pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma C
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, great location and well equipped”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for half term with our teenage children and grandparent. The cottage was spacious and well equipped with plenty of room for everyone to spread out. The location is fantastic only a short walk in to Swanage with shops, restaurants, the beach and just a couple of amusements and penny machines to keep everyone happy! There are also plenty of spots for crabbing for the children and a beer for the adults! The cafe at the end of the beach is worth a visit so is the open air market on Friday. If you like seafood there is a tiny shop down the road that sells locally caught fish. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage as there is so much to do not only in Swanage but the local area too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and standard of accomodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol L
1 review
“Lovely time in a charming cottage, beautifully renovated.”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

There is a lot to say about this charming cottage. It is a deceptively spacious home, cosy and thoughtfully furnished, beautifully renovated. It is ideal for a family holiday. The kitchen is large and well equipped, the living room is spacious but retains a cosy feel with large sofas and a wood burning stove. It is centrally located in Swanage, a short walk to to the sea front and town centre but allow time for distractions; there are several quirky and interesting galleries and shops en route, also several places to eat and drink although sadly I did not have time to enjoy them.
I spent two nights on my own before family members joined me, and felt safe and secure (and warm..it was October). My only regret was that I did have enough time to enjoy everything the cottage and it's location has to offer. I hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel of the cottage, the kitchen, the thoughtful renovation.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely stay in Baytree Cottage, it is close to the town and beach and railway, there is also a corner shop just over the road that sells anything you might need. Everything in the cottage was lovely quality and very clean. There is a terrace with sea views on which we had a b-b-q one evening - just lovely. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel N
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Cottage. Excellent for young children.”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Baytree Cottage. The Cottage was very comfortable - the lovely kitchen, in particular. It was extremely well kitted for young children and there was plenty of room for my husband, my two young children, my mother, my parents-in-law and myself!

We didn't have great weather - but it didn't matter too much. We enjoyed cliff top walks, the steam train to Corfe Castle and a boat trip to Poole.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent - couldn't recommend more - we've been 4 times”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a fantastic very adaptable cottage will all mod cons. Central Swanage yet parking is fine and it's 'out of the crowds'. There is a local shop opposite open til late if you want milk etc too. The location also makes it quick to get in and out of Swanage if you want to.
The bedrooms are great with loads of toys etc for the children ( if you have them).
We have been back there for 4 years running and I can't see any reason why not to go back annually!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing