We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middle Stable taken from the Tack Room patio The converted barn Comprising The Hay Barn plus The Tack Room and Middle Stable
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Middle Stable taken from the Tack Room patio
The converted barn Comprising The Hay Barn plus The Tack Room and Middle Stable
Inside Middle Stable showing the main living area and kitchen
Two comfy sofas to snuggle up on
Spacious kitchen and breakfast room
Kitchen
Light and airy Master Bedroom
Master bedroom showing en-suite bathroom with large shower.
Patio garden outside the Master bedroom with direct access from the bedroom.
Twin bedroom with deep mattress 2ft 6in beds which can be converted int one King size bed.
Twin bedroom with en-suite bathroom and large shower
Path to private Master bedroom patio showing child friendly secure main patio.
Gate to patio from twin bedroom and living room.
Pretty wood structure secluding patio for twin bedroom from the Master bedroom private patio
View from the main house over the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Pinz
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The accommodation was excellent and had everything we needed for our weekend stay. The cottage was extremely comfortable & was spotlessly clean. Set down a small lane it was so quiet & such a relaxing place to stay. Every morning & evening the cows from the nearby farm take a slow walk past the front of the cottage, fascinating to watch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Much more than we expected”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My partner, me and our 18 month old just got back from our stay. It was a last minute booking and a truely wonderful few days. The cottage was bigger than we expected, has everything you need, very clean and bright, beds so comfortable! You were also left alone to get on with your holiday but could also knock if you needed anything. My son loved waiting to see the cows go directly past every morning! Beautiful views and surroundings! Will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your last minute get away and that the cows performed on que daily for your little one!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelshWenc...
gosport
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peace and comfort.”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Tack Room and Middle Stable at Stowell near Sherborne, Dorset. The sight of two fruit scones, jam and clotted cream put out to welcome our arrival by Sarah was a great beginning. Our party consisted of 2 but the accommodation sleeps 4 in two very well appointed bedrooms, each with ensuite shower rooms. Our bed, bedding and pillows were extremely comfortable. The living room/kitchen area is spacious and the kitchen appeared well stocked – we ate out so didn’t test-drive the cooking facilities! A wood-burning fire provided a lovely focal point in the evenings and otherwise the central heating was entirely satisfactory. We enjoyed the very peaceful location and the joy of sitting in bed in the morning and watching the local herd of cattle strolling past after milking just beyond the fence – very rural for us townies! Located near the border of Dorset and Somerset you are given access to a great range of venues to visit and glorious countryside to enjoy. You will need to traverse the roads with care – high hedges, lots of tractors and single track roads are the order of the day – you’re on holiday – chill! Before arriving I had asked Sarah to recommend some local restaurants and was provided with a very comprehensive list. We ate in 3 local establishments as suggested and found them excellent and just as described.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Sorry for my late reply, early Summer bookings and the garden all got going at the same time and my winter clock was still ticking! So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of some of the excellent places to eat around here... why cook when someone else can when you are on holiday! Do come and visit again when you feel like you could do with some restful timeout and more good local cooking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTent
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I am extremely fussy about the accommodation I choose for my family's holidays so I was both happy and a little cautious when the Tack Room and Middle Stable showed as being available for a last minute break recently. You're always pleased that something is available but cautious because you get a niggling feeling that it is not going to measure up - after all, it'd be snapped up months in advance if it was THAT good right? WRONG!

Sarah answered all my questions quickly in emails leading up to our holiday (I literally booked a week or so before). She gave us advice about where to find a supermarket en route so we didn't have to go out again after a long drive with a nine year old. Her directions were spot on so we weren't driving around relying on our sat nav.

As soon as we turned up the drive we knew we'd made the right decision. The accommodation is exactly as you see in the photographs. A batched of huge scones, clotted cream and home made jam was waiting for us which was a nice touch.

The beds were comfy and, considering we were there on some of the hottest days of the year (our car thermometer hit 28 degrees on the way down) we didn't have to sleep with the bedroom windows open as the house stayed pleasantly cool.

George and Itty, the owner's cats, greeted us at various times in the holiday. Sarah mentions them in her information pack. The cats aren't allowed in the house but our son enjoyed playing with them as he visited the goats that live on site.

One highlight for us each day was the moving of the cows from the field next to the house to the farm up the road. It's a bit of a shock to suddenly see a herd of cows right outside your window but we looked forward to seeing them each day.

A beautifully quiet location but only a few minutes drive from Sherborne where there are lots of shops to stock up on supplies or just wander around. We drove down to Charmouth which took about an hour.

Sarah is a delightful lady, extremely helpful and willing to point out the best places to visit for fossil hunting etc.

One thing to be aware of is that the washing machine is in a laundry room. Not a problem but nice to know if you're travelling with a young family and may need to be using the machine a lot. You get your own key and there are no restrictions on when or how often you use it and the machine is free of charge.

All in all a very, very nice holiday. Next time I won't be so dubious if I find a late booking availability but I doubt if we'd be lucky enough to find such a lovely place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location and the cows!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank youso very much for your outstanding review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and managed to find some fossils! Quite a chalange at the end of a good Summer when many keen fossil hunters have done the same! We were so pleased the space was taken last minute, it is sad to see it empty in high season when a family could be enjoying it! We had actually blocked the dates for family, but illness stopped the visit. We are usually pretty choka block in August so alway worth a look if you want to book last minute as you might just get lucky .... and always look at the reviews!
Hope to see you again next season - but possibly a good idea to look us up in plenty of time. Enjoy what's left of the Summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themarlbo...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Far from the Madding Crowd !!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spotless tastefully decorated - just perfect !
Sarah is on hand for advice on where to visit and any help needed with cooker/ tv / internet etc.
We received a very warm welcome with some naughty scones cream and jam on arrival.
We immediately felt relaxed and knew our holiday was going to be perfect - it was.
Beds are soo comfy time was spent trying to work out how to sneak out in the middle of the night with the beds (to rob them lol)- duvets and pillows !
Very peaceful place and Sherborne with the new and old castle is a delight .
Do not buy a newspaper or watch the news and you would think that all was right with the world.
If pushed the only minus - it would be harder to have taken my two youngest boys when they were babies/toddlers or young teenagers as the emphasis is on peace and quiet.
My youngest boys are now 16 and 17 and they enjoyed staying here. wfi was good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: silence
Liked least: driving to anywhere
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Pleased you had a good time and enjoyed everything about your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing