We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect country retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty country comfort in the Hay Barn and Tack Room Private entrance to the Hay Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Pretty country comfort in the Hay Barn and Tack Room
Private entrance to the Hay Barn
Sunny private patio garden.
Cosy up on a Winter afternoon with a good movie or a good book in front of the log burner and relax
Soft furnishings and a bright aspect makes The Hay Barn the perfect place to take some time out.
Ideal for all seasons with patio doors to fling open and enjoy the out door indoors or both!
Fully equipped kitchen with light airy dining
Meet Victoria our beautiful King size bed from The Cornish Bed Company.
Sleep soundly on a sumptuous 1800 pocket sprung mattress
Enjoy the luxury of 400 count pure silk banded Egyptian cotton bedding and pretty soft furnishings.
Bathroom with everything you need and big on the shower!
The view from Clare Cottage garden over the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Duncan M
1 review
“A perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Hay Barn is a cozy 1 bedroom let, & is a perfect country getaway/ retreat for either a couple or small family.
The barn is renovated to a high standard, with great amenities, lovely kitchen (including washing machine & oven), great shower/ bathroom, log burner etc. There is an adjoining let but we found it no problem, the barn was both private & quiet.
Sarah (owner) was incredibly helpful arranging a last minute let during the Xmas period for us (while she was on holiday), so huge kudos for that.
The location is absolutely fantastic for exploring north Dorset (& Somerset/ Wiltshire). The Hay Barn itself is situated in a quiet, rural farm/ village but is within easy reach of many fabulous local towns - Sherborne, Yeovil, Sturminster Newton, Blandford, Shaftsbury, Dorchester etc. - Salisbury (& Poole) are also within an hours drive.
There are a huge number of beauty/ spots/ local attractions to visit (the list literally goes on & on) - Glastonbury Tor, the Magna Carta at Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge, Avebury, Eggardon & Hambledon Hill, Maiden Castle - a name but a few. Lots of great pubs & local restaurants also in the immediate area.
Finally, there is George the friendly farm cat :) Highly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you for your splended review Duncan, where would we be without the internet! So pleased we were able to help you out at short notice even if we were the other side of the world. We hope as a result you had a really splendid Christmas. Do come and see us again some time. Hopefully we might get to meet you next time round. Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely romantic stay 😊”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The Haybarn is a beautiful-The photos on here do not do the place justice- it is cosy, clean and very well equipped. We wanted a romantic weekend in the countryside and were so pleased with our stay. I loved the the fire and waking up to the cows! The whole place was really cosy and we had a very relaxing break. Sarah and the cat were very welcoming hosts and communication was excellent- she gave us some fantastic suggestions for dinner. I would highly recommend and hope to return soon. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you found our little place so romantic and cosy - do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Sorry I have been rather remiss with my responses - it's been a busy Summer! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location a good one.....so may people miss this point! We really are very central for all the attractions which are wonderful any time, but can be a real bonus on those not such good days when doing the Mortor Museum or simalar gets you under cover, then our beautiful National Trust properties have plenty to see and do for all weather conditions and the beach are really not far when the sun is out! So thank you for pointing this out. We do hope you will come and see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OliviaZ91
1 review
“The beautiful, idealic, cosy stay we were looking for.”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't fault The Hay Barn, from everything down to the log burner to the Egyptian cotton sheets. This is truly a beautiful place for a countryside getaway. We have everything we could have wanted (even sunshine!) - it is the perfect spot for a stroll to the local pubs, a drive down to the coast or a wonder around the lovely local town of Sherbourne. Sarah our host was so helpful and lovely, and her attention to detail didn't go unnoticed. Felt very relaxed and can't wait to visit again. Thank you Sarah and David.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the sun did decide to shine for you for at least part of your stay! The weather is settling into a warmer pattern now, so hopefully next time you come we will have wall to wall sunshine so you can enjoy sitting out on your patio and trying out the BBQ. Or if you wait till the Autumn you can toast your toes in front of the log burner!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichik
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Once again a fantastic holiday let!”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at the Hay Barn to try the new conversion and we were not disappointed. We normally stay at The Stables which is lovely but the Hay Barn was just that little bit bigger. The furnishings and linen were a high standard, as always. It has been very well thought out, with plenty of privacy and everything you need. We spent a nice evening outside with a glass a wine and our cat friends George and Itty visiting. We love coming here so will return once more. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is so relaxing
Liked least: Having to leave so soon!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
So pleased you enjoyed staying in the new property and found it comfortable. This part of Dorset must almost feel like your second home now.... you will soon know it better than we do! Do come and see us again we enjoy having you - and so do George and Itty!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing