We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time ever....”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I have had an upgrade and what an upgrade from standard double to luxury double. Period furnishings abounded in the room. Four poster, matching curtains and wall paper etc etc.

The en suite was good. Down a few steps to a bath, no shower.

Breakfast was well cooked, well presented and tasty, could have done with a bit more on the plate. Service with a smile.

Not sure what my original room was like but if you have the funds go for Lily. A luxurious room.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lkrmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

The best thing about this Hotel is the location and grounds. It was the last of many visits this summer to UK Hotels and B&Bs in the £130-£160 range and it is by comparison to these that it just reaches 3*.

Our room had a bed that was very soft and on one side had a serious bow in the mattress that made for a poor night's sleep. It would have been nice to have two chairs not one and I guess the mattress damage is as a result of people sitting down too heavily when changing.

The bathroom was OK but the fittings were ageing and the shower unimpressive. No heated towel rail. OK, average, but made one feel the place needs an injection of £££ to meet the price range it seeks to command. We paid £25 less per night for a much better offering near Dorchester the weekend before.

Breakfasts are again OK but not 4*. Kipper was poor compared to those eaten in other places in 2017. On the Sunday breakfast service was poor compared to first night with a different serving crew. Simple things like toast took ages to come. The local Ham and Cheese order was bought on a very hot plate - so hot the cheese was melting; as time came near to end of service no one was in the dining room for over ten minutes to order more coffee from. I had to go into the serving area to find them all chatting.

Dinner our first night was again OK but nothing special. No real flair or inventiveness in any dish. The wine list mark up is at the high end being in one or two cases near 5 times. I do have to mark the waitress very highly for the way she handled a hard piece of grit or stone in my wife's salad. She accepted the point and took control and I commended her on the spot.

I am surprised to see the very high scoring reviews.....

Room Tip: Better off at the rear; garden views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Eastbury Hotel on Sunday 13th August to celebrate our anniversary. This was originally meant to be on July 30th but the hotel kindly rescheduled the date for us. The stay included their 'Tasting Menu' on offer and both of us can honestly say the whole experience was perfect. The staff; perfect. The superior double room; perfect. The hotel decor, atmosphere and location; perfect. The 'Tasting Menu' experience; perfect. You could not fault anything.

The offer was for one night, but it was so nice, that same evening I booked a second night, to sample the restaurant's standard menu and enjoy the hotel for longer. Once again, the food and the whole evening was perfect.

I'd find it extremely difficult to understand how anyone staying here wouldn't be delighted too.

Many thanks to everyone at The Eastbury, and a special thank you to Jessica for rescheduling our arrival date.

David & Jenny

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavidZZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear David and Jenny
We are all so delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you when you were forced to change your arrival date.
We will be sure to keep you up to date to all the offers we have available and hope very much to welcome you back to the Eastbury Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We booked 2 nights for a family room for 3 friends on a package including the 7 course taster menu on one evening and a 2 course meal from the a la carte menu the following night and breakfasts . We were expecting great things even though the price on our deal was very good as the photos and reviews were so positive. We were greeted warmly at reception and showed to our room called Quince, we were led up very narrow quite steep steps above the bar area and immediately things seemed to go downhill , the decor in the hallway was very tired and dated not in keeping with the main communal areas. The family room was made up of one large room , which was quite nicely presented , and a smaller side room which had 2 single beds and a bathroom. The small side room's beds had not been changed since the previous guests and it was in desperate need of re decoration , there were cracks in the ceiling , peeling paint and no bedside cabinets or lamps and the beds were of very poor quality. The bathroom also was very dated and quite frankly pretty grotty with a very worn out bath and paint that was chipped and a badly stained toilet bowl . This was not at all what we were expecting as one of our group had stayed here previously in another room and had praised the decor and quality of her room . On the positive the beds were changed very quickly and we received an apology . The room had very good tea and coffee making facilities .

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and excellent quality as was the 2 course meal from the a la carte menu , we were all blown away by the quality and flavours . Service was also efficient and charming. The 7 course taster menu while enjoyable was very sparce on quantity and in our opinion did not offer value for money . A more minor issue is the lack of bar snacks offered when ordering pre dinner drinks , we were only offered chilli nuts and when one of our group asked if there any plain ones she was told that was all there was , surely it's not impossible to buy a few bags of plain peanuts !

The garden is lovely and the location fantastic being a short walk into the centre of Sherborne. Staff were friendly and helpful. A bit of re decoration and this hotel could be fantastic. Maybe we were just unlucky with our room .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FUSSYBUTFAIRLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for taking the team to provide us with feedback following your stay. I was very sorry to read that you found some aspects of your stay to be disappointing. We are soon to update the bathroom in Quince which we agree is in need of some decoration- I am sorry that this had not taken place prior to your arrival. I am so very sorry that the childrens room had not been serviced prior to your arrival. This should not have been the case and is clearly unacceptable. We will cetainly look into the issues that you have raised and address them.
I am delighted that overall you enjoyed the food whilst you were with us and very much hope that we are able to welcome all 3 of you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for two evenings food was excellent, location great and good parking at the rear of the hotel. The restaurant staff were great and happy to accommodate our vegetarian requests however the check in staff member who served us was very rude about us ordering vegetarian food and told us we should have telephoned the day before to make this request not at check in for an evening meal. We only wanted a vegetarian meal- not a lot to ask for in 2016?! As you can imagine this didn't start our stay off well. It was a shame because everything else about this hotel is great. Special thank you to the restaurant staff who were very attentive.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JenniferBK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback I am so very sorry you found our receptionist to be rude. I was very disappointed to read your comments particularly as the feedback we generally receive for our staff is normally excellent.
I will certainly look into the matter and speak to the member of staff concerned. Thank you again for bringing the matter to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
2.3 km away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
13.9 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
0.4 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
887 reviews
0.5 km away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
130 reviews
3.5 km away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: $252 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing