We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
496
177
51
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
177
51
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menuwine flightsecret escapessuperior roomtravelzoo dealafternoon teahomemade biscuitsseparate showerlovely hotelnext morningone night staylocal producean overnight stayamazing foodshort breakpretty townlovely garden
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017

My wife and I stayed there for two nights in May 2017 as part of a group. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable with friendly staff and very good rooms. Our only quibble was that at both dinner and breakfast the service was slow. Whilst we recognise that catering for a party has its own problems, for both the dinners we had completed a pre-order menu (as had the rest of the group) which should have reduced the delays.
Breakfast service was also slow and led to a rush for a group in preparing for our departure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing over the garden are quieter than those overlooking the road, although overnight traffic was not a problem.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts following your recent stay. I am sorry that you found the service to be slow particulalry as you rightly say you had pre ordered food in the evening. We are one of very few hotels that cook breakfasts to order which can on ocassion mean a delay particulalry when a large number of people order at the same time. I will look at how we might speed up the dining experience so that guests do not experience any delay and thank you again for bringing this to our attention. I am delighted, however, that overall you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Lovely big room and comfy bed and bathroom. One small window and it was very warm! Thick duvet in summer really. But it's in a charming place and was a great stay overall. Did the tasting menu and very good.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank kersfees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. The recent hot weather has made for very sticky nights. We would have been very happy to change your duvet for a lighter version or even made your bed up with sheets and blankets if you prefer. Not all rooms have electric fans but this has now been rectified so hopefully that too will make the rooms more comfortable in this hot weather.
We very much hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We booked a Secret Escape deal which included a 7 course tasting menu. We arrived and were greeted by Jessica who was lovely and made us feel so welcome, she and all the staff were a credit to the hotel. The room was fantastic and way more than a 3 star. The restaurant staff were very attentive and described each course as it arrived and the food was of a very high standard, breakfast was equally as good with the lady who's name I didn't get was very efficient and friendly. This hotel really is superb. I have stayed in many Hotels and I think this is the very best, the staff appear happy and the atmosphere is very positive, which is so often missing especially in the branded chains.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed a Friday night on a dinner b&b deal, en route to Devon. Our room was recently refurbished, smart bathroom and very nicely appointed. One of the good things about the hotel is that although it is in the centre of the pretty town it is located on a no through road so traffic noise is minimal. We were very impressed with the tasting menu included in the deal, excellent balance of nice seasonal quality local produce (and a wine flight only £25 per person, we've paid an awful lot more recently). We both felt the quality matched that of some very well known restaurants at a good value price.
All in all a great find that we probably wouldn't have discovered without the offer on Secret Escapes but would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank acp262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Went as a couple with friends on a travelzoo deal, which included the tasting menu. Nice welcome, room was good and although faced the road,it was very quiet,the beds and the pillows were extremely comftable . Our friends had a larger room up at the top and this was well laid out. All the little touches were appreciated, such as the bottle of water, and the coffee filter. The shampoo/conditioner supplied was amazing!! I have tried to buy but so far have been unsuccessful, the challenge continues!! The bar service was excellent as was the dinner service. We chose to have to wine flight to compliment the tasting menu and this, along with the food, were well explained by the staff, great touch! The breakfast was adequate. I personally would have liked a selection of cold meats/salamis and cheeses added to the selection, and also, although a note said we could request a warm crossaint, a selection of pastries ready to chose from would have been nice, I do appreciate when you buy a 'deal' online maybe this is being a little cheeky, but a lot of othe hotels do offer this! Altogether though a lovely relaxing stay, and Sherbourne is a delightful place, we will be back for a longer stay to investigate all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your comments I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and very much hope that you and your friends will be back to see more of Sherborne but also try more of the delicious food produced by the very talented chefs.

I have noted your comments regarding brekafast and we will certainly revisit the cold meats and cheese when we next revise the menu. You are able to order cold ham and cheese from the breakfast menu but we do not presently offer other meats or salamis so we can certainly look into this. We have made a decision not to offer pastries other than croissants mainly from the point of view of wastage. Once cooked pastries have a very short shelf life and we would not like to see any thrown away at the end of service. We hope that warm croissants with locally made jam or marmalde will provide the sweet fix that is so delicious in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews