We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munden House(Alweston)
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoneleigh Barn(North Wootton)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Bakehouse(Sherborne)
USD 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
USD 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
496
177
51
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
177
51
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menuwine flightsecret escapessuperior roomtravelzoo dealafternoon teahomemade biscuitsseparate showerlovely hotelnext morningone night staylocal producean overnight stayamazing foodshort breakpretty townlovely garden
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed a Friday night on a dinner b&b deal, en route to Devon. Our room was recently refurbished, smart bathroom and very nicely appointed. One of the good things about the hotel is that although it is in the centre of the pretty town it is located on a no through road so traffic noise is minimal. We were very impressed with the tasting menu included in the deal, excellent balance of nice seasonal quality local produce (and a wine flight only £25 per person, we've paid an awful lot more recently). We both felt the quality matched that of some very well known restaurants at a good value price.
All in all a great find that we probably wouldn't have discovered without the offer on Secret Escapes but would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank acp262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Went as a couple with friends on a travelzoo deal, which included the tasting menu. Nice welcome, room was good and although faced the road,it was very quiet,the beds and the pillows were extremely comftable . Our friends had a larger room up at the top and this was well laid out. All the little touches were appreciated, such as the bottle of water, and the coffee filter. The shampoo/conditioner supplied was amazing!! I have tried to buy but so far have been unsuccessful, the challenge continues!! The bar service was excellent as was the dinner service. We chose to have to wine flight to compliment the tasting menu and this, along with the food, were well explained by the staff, great touch! The breakfast was adequate. I personally would have liked a selection of cold meats/salamis and cheeses added to the selection, and also, although a note said we could request a warm crossaint, a selection of pastries ready to chose from would have been nice, I do appreciate when you buy a 'deal' online maybe this is being a little cheeky, but a lot of othe hotels do offer this! Altogether though a lovely relaxing stay, and Sherbourne is a delightful place, we will be back for a longer stay to investigate all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your comments I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and very much hope that you and your friends will be back to see more of Sherborne but also try more of the delicious food produced by the very talented chefs.

I have noted your comments regarding brekafast and we will certainly revisit the cold meats and cheese when we next revise the menu. You are able to order cold ham and cheese from the breakfast menu but we do not presently offer other meats or salamis so we can certainly look into this. We have made a decision not to offer pastries other than croissants mainly from the point of view of wastage. Once cooked pastries have a very short shelf life and we would not like to see any thrown away at the end of service. We hope that warm croissants with locally made jam or marmalde will provide the sweet fix that is so delicious in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

warmly greeted by Gemma on front desk so knew that this hotels aim was to make their guests feel SO welcome ---due to a few things I am not able to eat the tasting menu was a challenge for me but I should not have worried because while my husband & I were enjoying a drink in their quaint bar the Chef appeared concerned that I would miss out & I was amazed he was charming & suggested other items of food he could cook especially for me ---talk about feeling special & yes spoilt --I'm not complaining because we had a great stay so happy to have found such a charming hotel 5 star hotel & service --breakfast was great too --so will be back

Room Tip: Bedrooms to the back of the hotel over look courtyard & gardens so lovely & quiet
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lesleya887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Restaurant 7 course tasting menu included in Spring promotion with b&b. Superb tasting menu with the right portions and timed to enjoy the food at leisure. Room was at front of hotel and right up top as requested , no noise and superb bathroom with bath and shower. Fresh milk available if wanted.. don't like these tots. All no problem. Really worth it after 450 mile drive. Gardens and environs lovely with resident bunny. Must go back soon.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank ghazalion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Eastbury Hotel many times.
Reception is very welcoming the rooms are comfortable and so are the beds. But the most outstanding here is the food. We have the 7 course taster menu which is always excellent and imaginative.
The breakfast can't be beaten. All food is locally sourced and of the best quality. Even the in room tea tray has a jar of homemade biscuits, lovely.
All the rooms have flower names, this time we stayed in Bluebell and Anemone which are at the top of two flights of stairs and the second flight is step and narrow where they curve. The rooms were quite and comfortable. The only sound we heard was the dawn chorus. We would recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews