We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely retreat in a beautiful part of the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Summers day at The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn The Stables and winter log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn
The Stables and winter log store
Sumptuous kings size bed with deep 1400 pocket sprung mattress and soft 400 count pure cotton linen.
Cosy living area and breakfast room
Log burner and ample supply of logs for cold winter nights! Stables doors open to a sunny patio.
Well Equipped Kitchen.
Modern Bathroom With Large Shower.
Nothing better than a Summer complimentary Cream tea if your ETA is between 2.30 and 5.00pm
Our home and The Stables
View of the paddock
Some of the animals who share our paddock
More Of Clare Cottage
Orphan Lambs
The Beautiful Valley We Call Home
If You Are Up Early Our Sunrise Can Be Breath Taking Too.
The Stunning Sunests At The Village Of Stowell.
What Ever The Weather Is Doing There Is Always A Warm Welcome At The Stables At Clare Cottage.
For A Special Occasion Why Not Take A Balloon Ride
The Arresting  Beauty Of The Jurassic Coast.  Taken From Above The Village Of Abbotsbury.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
callowd
Chelmsford, Essex
1 review
“A lovely retreat in a beautiful part of the world; fabulous hostess!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our hostess Sarah was brilliant- she was on the lookout for us when we were due to arrive to guide us to her home where The Stables is situated! She was very helpful and went through everything we needed to know before leaving us to our own devices knowing that we could turn to her or her husband if we needed help with anything!
The Stables were beautiful, a lovely little hideaway for one or two people; well equipped and cosy too!
The property is situated right out in the Dorset countryside, so local amenities were few and far between, but the area was so beautiful we were pleased to have an excuse to go for a drive through the scenery!
The Stables were fabulous, the area was fabulous and our hostess was fabulous! Thank you Sarah!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself- it was perfect!
Liked least: The proximity of the train line, but we appreciate that this cannot be changed and it did not detract from our enjoyment whatsoever!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Well I don't know what to say to such a glowing review - except thank you!
It makes us very proud of our little hideaway, when people enjoy The Stables as much as you obviously did.
You may like to know - we are adding to our holiday properties this spring, each will be individual and private, so we hope you will come and visit us again and perhaps try out our new accomodation when it is completed. Thank you again for a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Settling down in front of the woodburner in the evening
Liked least: A better cooker would improve the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Thank you for your lovely informative review, we enjoyed having you and hope to see you again if you are down this way, there is still much more to see!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: No oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Dec 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.
Have a wonderful Christmas.
Regards Sarah and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: bed was great
Liked least: intrusive owner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Oct 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and felt I had not respected your privacy, but as discussed on your departure - not only did I need to leave you a note in respect of the wood-burner, but I also had concerns over the black plastic bin bags you had attached to the insides of the bedroom windows in the property. On entering The Stables, my concerns were not unfounded, as you had driven numerous drawing pins into the solid oak window frames in order to achieve your objective! You had also helped yourselves to extra logs from my wood store without even asking - although you had already been supplied with ample logs and kindling of the appropriate size for the wood-burner. You then proceeded to chop up kindling on the terracotta floor in the living room, presumably with one of the kitchen knives, as there is no necessity for me to provide an axe. I was only alerted to this as my husband was in his workshop one evening and heard loud banging coming from the Stables and asked me to find out if there was a problem.
We have always enjoyed sharing our little corner of the Dorset countryside with likeminded people who appreciate and show respect for the properties high standard and cozy atmosphere. We pride ourselves on a personal service and the ability to gauge the right amount of contact with our guests. On this occasion I must tell you I was much relieved when you left and if any further incident had occurred prior to your departure I would have felt compelled to ask you to leave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
isle of grain
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the breakfast hamper
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Oct 2012
Thank you for you very informative review. I think I may leave information on the mattress make in The Stables as so many people comment on how comfortable it is. I felt you really got the juice out of your stay as you did so many things – glad you enjoyed yourselves. Sorry I couldn’t fix the weather for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 78
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing