We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
89
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muesli fruit salad homemade jams special recipe lovely tea home made full english breakfast perfect stay two nights within easy walking distance warm welcome my husband and i have just overlooked the garden many thanks bed was very comfortable a great place to stay breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A gentle amble up from the station, this lovely B and B is a delightful 10 minute walk through the park and the stunning grounds of Sherborne Abbey. First tip, don't walk past. There is no sign. Thank you Mary for the most fantastic stay. The room was absolutely lovely, and Mary went out of her way to be helpful, even managing to get us a table on a Saturday night at the booked up best restaurant in Sherborne, The Green. We were only here one night and felt so welcome. Would love to come back - no point looking anywhere else, this was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celloconcert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A delightful 200 year old cottage which is very close to the centre of the lovely town of Sherborne. The room was small but very comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom was also small but perfectly adequate with a good shower. Everthing was spotless. Tea making facilities were provided along with good quality biscuits.Quality soaps etc were also provided. The breakfast was very hearty and of excellent quality. Very tasty home made marmalade and jam were provided. The raspberry was especially flavoursome. Mary, the owner was very friendly and even offered to run us round to the restaurant on the 2 nights we stayed as the weather was so bad. An excellent place to stay for exploring the Dorset countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rose Cottage is very welcoming. Our bed was incredibly comfortable, the shower was excellent and the breakfasts were delicious. I especially enjoyed the local sausage and homemade raspberry jam. Mary herself is a lovely lady and enjoys friendly conversations with her guests. We had mixed up our booking and arrived a day before she was expecting us, but Mary was very flexible and let us in right away. It was a great weekend! Thanks, Mary!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Mary is a wonderful Hostess and runs a spotless Bed and Breakfast. The Breakfast is excellent and could not be more central in Sherborne. She has great taste and decor. We stayed for three nights and her Muesli is home made along with her Jams and Marmalades.

Room Tip: Back Room I would imagine is quieter,
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanctumBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Rose cottage is very aptly named. Not only are there beautiful flowers and roses all around the house, but Mary herself is as lively and lovely as one of them. Mary delights in taking good care of her guests, and every detail of the cottage has been carefully considered and arranged. It is a small cottage, with two rooms to let with ensuite shower facilities, and Mary's own room is located among them. Breakfast is simply the best I have ever had, and I have special dietary requirements (gluten-free and vegetarian) to which Mary responded with kind consideration and creativity, as she truly enjoys what she does. Bear in mind that the cottage is cosy and small, offering a dinning room, garden and bedroom for guests to use, and although I was more than happy in my room and in the garden, some people might prefer more living space if they have children, family members or friends who want places to spread out in and play. It is a quiet and lovely place to come home to after a day's walk or drive around the region, and to begin the next day with lovely food and atmosphere. Although both rooms are lovely, I would highly recommend the room that faces the garden, away from the road, for those who are light sleepers (although cars do stop passing by later at night, only starting again in the mornings). Please do be considerate towards Mary, as she works hard to keep everything wonderful, while remaining always gracious and pleasant!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, but the garden-facing room with the double bed is quieter during the day and evenings, for those who are "early to bed" or "late to rise" types.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews