We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Sherborne!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently had the most wonderful night's stay at the Rose Cottage. Mary goes out of her way to ensure you enjoy your stay in her fantastic town. The room was well equipped, light, bright and very clean. The B&B is a short walk to the Abbey, local shops and restaurants. Breakfast the next morning was all you could ask for and certainly prepared us for the day ahead!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

A gentle amble up from the station, this lovely B and B is a delightful 10 minute walk through the park and the stunning grounds of Sherborne Abbey. First tip, don't walk past. There is no sign. Thank you Mary for the most fantastic stay. The room was absolutely lovely, and Mary went out of her way to be helpful, even managing to get us a table on a Saturday night at the booked up best restaurant in Sherborne, The Green. We were only here one night and felt so welcome. Would love to come back - no point looking anywhere else, this was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celloconcert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A delightful 200 year old cottage which is very close to the centre of the lovely town of Sherborne. The room was small but very comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom was also small but perfectly adequate with a good shower. Everthing was spotless. Tea making facilities were provided along with good quality biscuits.Quality soaps etc were also provided. The breakfast was very hearty and of excellent quality. Very tasty home made marmalade and jam were provided. The raspberry was especially flavoursome. Mary, the owner was very friendly and even offered to run us round to the restaurant on the 2 nights we stayed as the weather was so bad. An excellent place to stay for exploring the Dorset countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rose Cottage is very welcoming. Our bed was incredibly comfortable, the shower was excellent and the breakfasts were delicious. I especially enjoyed the local sausage and homemade raspberry jam. Mary herself is a lovely lady and enjoys friendly conversations with her guests. We had mixed up our booking and arrived a day before she was expecting us, but Mary was very flexible and let us in right away. It was a great weekend! Thanks, Mary!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Mary is a wonderful Hostess and runs a spotless Bed and Breakfast. The Breakfast is excellent and could not be more central in Sherborne. She has great taste and decor. We stayed for three nights and her Muesli is home made along with her Jams and Marmalades.

Room Tip: Back Room I would imagine is quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanctumBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
2.7 km away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.4 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
249 reviews
0.7 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#9 of 24 in Sherborne
245 reviews
4.8 km away
The Rose & Crown Trent
The Rose & Crown Trent
#3 of 24 in Sherborne
46 reviews
4 km away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 77 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Cottage is my home, and I always aim to make it a "home from home" for my guests.With two guest bedrooms (both en suite), and a central location just 5 minutes walk from Sherborne's ancient centre, Rose Cottage provides comfortable accommodation and a hearty breakfast.My home is more than 200 years old and has period charm - as well as modern facilities including free WiFi.I look forward to welcoming new and returning visitors to beautiful Sherborne,the North Dorset jewel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Bed & Breakfast Sherborne, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing