We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Gold Hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gold Hill
Kitchen Aqua kingsize bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Gold Hill
Kitchen
Aqua kingsize bedroom
View from Updown Cottage and garden
Sitting room
1st floor slate-tiled bathroom
The front door
Sofa beside the woodburner and inglenook
Baby grand piano
Dining room
Halfway up the garden path
Bathroom with 1920s copper cruise ship mirror
Toile bedroom with canopied single sleigh bed
Romance
Teal bedroom with kingsize bed
Tulip bedroom with single antique sleigh bed
Updown at Christmas
Bathrobes
Piles of towels
Updown Cottage
Teal bedroom with kingsize bed, flatscreen TV, DVD, CD, Digital radio, ipod connection
The view from the music room
Contemporary comforts
Stourhead National Trust
Salisbury Cathedral
Dusk over Gold Hill
Classic wedding car awaiting the bride staying at Updown Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FionaDall
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I have just returned from a weeks stay in Updown Cottage. What a gorgeous place it is! It is worthy of its 5 stars as we could not fault it in any way. From booking to arriving Jane was very helpful answering any questions we had promptly. The cottage has been finished to a very high standard and anything we could have asked for and more was made available to us. The views from the music room were stunning and we were lucky enough to get some lovely weather so spent a lot of time sitting in the secluded and very private garden. The cottage is situated just yards away from the bustling town centre but you would never believe you were in a town as it was so peaceful. All you can really hear is sheep bleating in the distance. The welcome basket we received was just right and included the essentials to get us going. I would recommend this cottage to anyone! If you're looking for a luxurious cottage with all mod cons this is for you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you so much Fiona - we couldn't ask for a better review from exemplary guests!
Do come again whenever you can and I'll do my best to ensure that the weather is as lovely next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeCeJacks...
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Beautiful! Wow!!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Updown Cottage is way more than 5*. I would give it a 20 out of 10! It is so beautiful and historic and everything is so first class. Jane was so helpful before and after we arrived and really added so much to our experience. The cottage had absolutely everything that we needed. We had two families together in the house and had been worried about space but it was perfect. We especially loved the huge dining room table overlooking the Blackmore Vale. What a great place to eat and play games as well as to sit and look at the view. My husband and I stayed on the top floor and loved the privacy of this suite. What a view from the window and the room was spacious and the bath beautiful. We really loved staying on such a beautiful street. People were out photographing the street every day and it was fun to know that they were taking pictures of where we were lucky enough to stay. We had been worried about the steep hill but it was absolutely no problem at all. We ate at the Grovesnor Hotel restaurant (wonderful, wonderful!), Ye Two Brewers (great, great!) and Amore' (very good). We loved the village and spent a whole day sightseeing and shopping. Loved the convenience of the grocery stores as well. All in all it was absolutely the BEST way to end our trip. We stayed in England for 5 1/2 weeks and this was the BEST place we stayed. We would love to go back again and highly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for such a kind and generous review.
We're delighted that you had such a wonderful time and it was a pleasure to help in any way that we could to make your visit to England memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina B
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage – Stunning Location!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Updown Cottage will provide everything you need and more. It is beautifully presented. It has retained all of the traditional features whilst providing all the modern conveniences you would require. I loved the Nepresso machine – a real treat every morning!! You will be provided with loads of fluffy white towels, robes, and locally made, natural toiletries - comparable to any 5 star boutique hotel. The cottage is very spacious, easily accommodating our family of four adults and an active 4 year old. The views from the cottage are breath taking and tempt you to explore the local countryside. The parking is very convenient- you are able to drive right to the door for unloading and you can then park your car just at the end of the cobbles – just a few steps away! A few more steps (uphill) in the other direction will bring you into the centre of the town. Shaftesbury has some lovely little shops my particular favourite was MINE, a boutique/gift shop with lovely, helpful staff. We paid several visits to Turnbull’s Deli- beautiful homemade food and an extra special hot chocolate that my four year old is still talking about. If you choose to stay at Updown cottage you will not be disappointed - it provided a perfect base for us and it was a pleasure to return to it each evening. Thank you Jane and Simon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you so much. I can't tell you how much I appreciate you taking the trouble to leave such a detailed and glowing review. You've summed up perfectly what we feel about both the cottage and Shaftesbury. We'd love to hear from you any time!
PS Mine and Turnbull's are favourites of ours too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_E_2...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Updown cottage provided a high quality and very comfortable stay for our break, everything provided worked perfectly (which we have not always found to be the case in holiday rentals) and the cottage was was the ideal size for our party of four adults and two children. The coffee machine stocked with an array of capsules was a particularly nice touch. Dinner at the nearby Grosvenor Arms was a highlight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We're delighted that the newly refurbished Grosvenor Arms is such a success!
We'd love to see you back at any time.
Best wishes
Jane & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairE33
Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING HOUSE- AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Updown Cottage from Australia in April. It was much bigger then we needed but we were intrigued by the description and pictures on the web. Centuries of history are a novelty for Australians. We were not disappointed and it very much lived up to the web description.

This cottage has a Five Star Gold Award and very much deserves it. It was a wonderful mix of the old and the new and cleverly restored to maintain historical character, but providing luxury, modern surrounds. Everything is beautifully presented and the piano room adds an amazing dimension.

The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, including an AGA Cooker. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms very modern.

The hosts were very attentive and there is a lot of detailed touring information available in the cottage. The views from the cottage are panoramic, and it's location in Shaftesbury is central and easy to walk to shops and restaurants.

The cottage has 4 levels, so it is not for anyone who doesn't like stairs.

It was a week we will always remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you could want and surrounded by history
Liked least: The winding roads to get there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2013
Thank you so much Blair. It was a real pleasure to exchange emails with you and compare notes on holiday properties in different locations!
Do come back as often as you like!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing