We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful break in a beautiful setting!”
other travellers have booked this property
West Lane Cottage sleeps 4 plus dogs.  It has 2 reception, 1 bath, 1 shower, 1 cloakroom  and wi-fi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Lane Cottage sleeps 4 plus dogs.  It has 2 reception, 1 bath, 1 shower, 1 cloakroom  and wi-fi
West Lane Cottage is on the left, set amongst thatched cottages The warm and cosy lounge has TV with Sky, DVD player, wi-fi, I pod docking station, tourist guides
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
West Lane Cottage sleeps 4 plus dogs.  It has 2 reception, 1 bath, 1 shower, 1 cloakroom  and wi-fi
West Lane Cottage is on the left, set amongst thatched cottages
The warm and cosy lounge has TV with Sky, DVD player, wi-fi, I pod docking station, tourist guides
The cottage was built with reclaimed materials and this ethos is echoed inside
The oak dining table looks out onto the garden in this light and bright dining area
The kitchen was new in 2015 and has everything you could possibly want for a self catering holiday
The snug has a dvd player, a large supply of games, books and DVDs - a quiet place to sit and read
The double bedroom  is en suite and has plenty of storage and looks over the Old Rectory
Have a good soak after a long walk - the good sized bathroom was refitted in 2013
The twin bedroom has a wardrobe and bedside cabinet and views over The Old Rectory
West Lane is a bridle path adjoining the cottage - you can take a fab circular walk of an hour
The Millennium Green play and picnic area is a short walk down the bridle path and adjoins the River
You can take a variety of country walks from the back door - some wonderful views to be had
Dogs are welcome!  The adjacent bridle path is such a boon for walks, if a little muddy after rain
Dogs are allowed all year round at Kimmeridge Bay - take in Corfe Castle on the way
Take the opportunity to try a Dorset cream tea - this at Moreton Tea Rooms (room for dogs outside)
The Dorset County Show is a great event
The fabulous Thimble Inn is a short stroll down the bridle path
The Iron Age Fort at Maiden Newton is incredible
Don't miss a trip to Sherborne - Abbey, Castle and wonderful 'different' shops and galleries
Thomas Hardy is buried at Stanford, just down the road
Sculpture by the Lakes - a peaceful haven nearby
Poundbury near Dorchester - visit to see Prince Charles' vision of a modern way of life
No visit to Lyme Regis is complete without fish and chips!
Beauty at Charmouth - home of fossils and a wonderful beach
The Blue Vinny at Puddletown never disappoints
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
617deanne
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful break in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a fantastic week staying at West Lane Cottage. The accommodation was first class! Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to stay in this beautiful part of Dorset.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
We are so pleased to get your review and to hear that you so enjoyed both the scenery in West Dorset and also our cottage. I know you would like to return and possibly stay at Wren Cottage in Tolpuddle by way of a small change and look forward to hearing from you when convenient. Recommendations are very important to us so thank you for posting yours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsBradde...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful base ”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

West Lane Cottage is a delightful place to stay. The cottage itself is both welcoming and homely. We stayed here for a week with our two sons and our working Cocker spaniel.
Helen was wonderfully helpful throughout - from our initial contact when booking, right through to our arrival, supplying us with useful information, and helpful advice regarding our stay, and with ideas for days out.
We really loved the location of The cottage. Located in the beautiful picture postcard style village of Piddlehinton, the thatch roofed houses and river piddle running through make for an idyllic setting, yet only a 10 min drive to Dorchester.

The cottage is extremely well equipped, there are stacks of local information and local knowledge, games and jigsaws, books, DVDs and the all important wi-fi access!!
The kitchen is great, as are the bedrooms and bathrooms. We enjoyed BBQs in the courtyard using the BBQ provided in the shed! Lovely.
The boys both enjoyed the Millenium field, and playing in the river catching fish, whilst the dog and I loved discovering the beautiful rolling hills of the surrounding countryside.
Thank you Helen, we thoroughly enjoyed your cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
What an evocative account of your holiday - I love the thought of the boys fishing - just as I did as a child! We are lucky to have a cottage in such a lovely village set, as you say, in such beautiful countryside. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time there and hope you would like to return at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie1140
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Week in Dorset bliss”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

One of the best rentals I've ever been to. The cottage was fantastic, well equipped, clean and a fantastic amount of information supplied for Dorset. We loved every minute and the dogs loved the bridal path!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
What a lovely review - thank you and we are so glad you enjoyed it! The bridle path is great for walks isn't it? Good that you appreciated the Dorset Info - I feel like a branch of the Tourist Information Service as there is so much to do in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday base”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our stay at West Lane and have lovely memories to take away with us. The cottage is very comfortable and ideally situated beside a bridle path for dog-walking. I found the kitchen well-equipped and the sitting room was cosy, with a second sitting room just made for some secluded reading. The bedrooms were great and there are also three bathrooms and fabulous showers. The cottage was so easy to find and the key safe meant we weren't tied to an arrival time, which was great as we came a long distance. Despite the rural licat o on, the cottage is close to Dorchester and we enjoyed mixing our outings between coast and inland trips. Lulworth Cove and the Durdle Door are stunning and so is Kingston Lacy, so we found the central location of the house very handy. The owner was really helpful from the first contact we made to the last, even emailing a list of July events in the area before we came.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in West Dorset and that the cottage suited you so well. You have given some useful tips for future visitors as well as your thoughts about West Lane Cottage and us which is just what people want to read about before they book I am sure! As you say, the location is good for visiting both countryside and coast as well as taking some lovely scenic walks from the back door. Thanks for your comments - I hope the trip to Wales went as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic well equipped cottage great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just spent a great week at West lane cottage. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was excellent. It was the best equipped cottage we have stayed in, ideally placed for visiting Dorset and Devon. The bridal path right next to the cottage was great for taking our dog a walk.The help and advice from Helen before we arrived on things to do and places to visit was very helpful. The tea, biscuits and milk were a lovely touch upon our arrival. Overall, I would not hesitate in recommending the cottage for a stay in Dorset. We loved it that much that we are going to stay in Wren cottage next year, also owned by Helen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed your stay that, not only had you posted this review, but that you wanted to stay with us again next year! We have tried to equip the cottage in such a way to provide holidaymakers with every comfort and to meet every requirement - holidays are much anticipated breaks from routine and, weather aside, we try to do what we can to help you get the best from your stay. Many thanks and see you in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing