We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service a complete let down”
Review of La Gondola - CLOSED

La Gondola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service a complete let down”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The food was nice. Shame really because the service was awful. One member of waiting staff was rude and bad tempered after i said i wanted to pay by card. It was lunchtime and i had one pasta dish and a glass of wine. Was made to feel totally unwelcome because i spent less than £10. Was gonna bring my work friends in on our lunch hour during the week but will now be taking our custom elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgia1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    17
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“bit of a let down”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A year ago we enjoyed our evening here. This time the service was confused and the food perfunctory. The garlic bread was a slice of bread spread with a thin paste of butter with garlic and verged on the unpleasant. My pizza was covered in thickly sliced vegetables that had barely been warmed through. A decent insalata tricolore and an enjoyable penne arrabiatta just earned them an average rating. Next time we will look elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, great value for money”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We ate out as a family for Mothers Day and had a lovely evening. The service was very quick and the food was lovely and very reasonably priced. It was our first visit but we will be back

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 666lec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level Contributor
191 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH A VISIT.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My Wife and I have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. Comfortable, friendly & efficient staff, and EXCELLENT FOOD at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
265 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Probably the best quick lunch in the town.”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Currently, La Gondola's strategy to combat the doldrum months where restaurants traditionally struggle to survive, is to offer a menu at a staggeringly cheap £4.50. The choice of 20+ Pizza, Pasta and Risotto dishes is outrageous!
Our pizzas could not not have been less than a foot across and well topped with mozzarella and prawns. In the face of such generosity we were honour bound to have a glass of house red each. If you are meaner than us and just drink water, you will have enjoyed what has to be one of the best deals in town.
Of course the idea is to tempt you to return in the evening and spend a bit more, and in our case - we certainly will. A full restaurant and lively buzz on a Tuesday lunchtime says to me that the locals know a bargain when they see one.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beachbuddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing