We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay at the woodside”
Review of The Woodside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodside
Ranked #29 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017

New hosts every bit as lovely as the old ones,name changing to the artists studio,everything about this b&b is simply perfect,as it always has been,location is magical.You couldn't wish for a more welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms experienced have been A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We have stayed here two years running when it was the Woodside run by Hazel and Keith. We went to book this year and discovered that it had new owners so didn't know if we would get the same excellent service. I have to say the place has gone up a notch,I didn't think things could be improved on but the place has been redecorated and now offers vegan and vegetarian breakfasts of the highest standard, as well as the usual full english, cereals, toast etc. The premises are spotlessly clean. It did take me a little while to figure out the safety lock on the shower but once I did we had nice hot showers. Rachel and Martin are excellent hosts and friendly in the way that the previous owners were. Good location very near the beach and the town. The wife and I both said we would love to come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christophe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This has just been taken over by new owners who are artists and run art courses. They have refurbished and it has light, clean atmosphere with some really nice examples of their paintings. It may be in future named The Art Studio.
I enjoyed my stay the hosts were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and the pillows were the comfiest ever. Would happily stay again when I'm down that way and it's only a couple minutes walk from the cliff top with the zig zag path down to the beach.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Have stayed with Hazel & Keith on several occasions. They offer consistently high standards within a friendly and efficiently managed B&B in Southbourne. Beach access is very good - just a short walk away. Recommended. Brian P

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Enjoyed a few nights here in Aug 2016.

Parked outside and met by the friendly owners. Shown to our room which was nice and clean. We had a view over the garden. Generally there are a few things that need a bit of work like yellowing paint, old plug sockets etc. We were a little surprised there were no biscuits but that is only a small niggle.

Breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed our stay. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.0 km away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
606 reviews
3.1 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.0 km away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#24 of 132 in Bournemouth
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#12 of 132 in Bournemouth
347 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
0.2 km away
Westcotes House
Westcotes House
#28 of 132 in Bournemouth
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Bournemouth

Been to The Woodside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside

Address: 29 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodside 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodside is a highly recommended Guest House 3 miles east of the centre of Bournemouth.We pride ourselves on the Woodside's high reputation for its warm, personal and friendly atmosphere.We are situated in a very pleasant tree- lined road. The golden sandy 'Blue Flag' beach is only a 2 minute walk away offering safe bathing, cliff walks and magnificent views.Situated close to the New Forest, Christchurch, Hengistbury Head and Poole. The Woodside is in the ideal location for the perfect quiet break. It is wonderfully positioned for cliff top walks, with panoramic views over the Isle of Wight, and Dorset's Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing