We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but far away from centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but far away from centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for a bank holiday weekend and used our tesco vouchers. The hotel is very clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection available. The major downside to this hotel is the distance from the centre of Bournemouth. When I looked at the location and saw it was by the main hospital, I thought it would be pretty central with good public transport links. It is however, about 4 miles from the centre and taxis late at night cost £15 and this needs to be factored into the cost of staying

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    555
    349
    146
    101
See reviews for
413
603
64
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here as a party of 20 for a hen night, all of us very impressed, excellent value for money, had dinner, breakfast and spa included. All facilities excellent especially pool and spa, food was great. Booked at another village hotel since as enjoyed this stay so much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smittmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband had decided to take me away for the weekend for my birthday and had booked the Village Hotel in Bournemouth as we are members of our local Village Hotel! Well what we received is nothing like the service etc that we receive at our local hotel!! We wanted to stay for 1 night and the stipulation was that we had to book for 2 nights!!! When speaking to the reservations team they explained that dinner for 1 night was included for us in this price and that all we would have to pay for was my sons dinner! We felt that this sounded like a good deal so booked! We arrived at the hotel and check in was painless, quick and efficient. Our room was fine and set up for the correct number of people who would be staying! We decided that as we had arrived late in the day that we would have our free nights dinner on the first night so that we would not have to leave the hotel and would be able to organise something else for the second night! What a huge mistake!! We booked a table for 3 for 7.45pm as we had our 10 year old son with us and didn't really want to eat too late. We were taken to our seats and told that they didn't have any kids menu's so they would go and photocopy one for us. Not a problem 30 mins had passed and we had not had anyone take our drinks order and still did not have a kids menu. After 40 mins the waiter came and asked us what we would like to order, we explained that we were still waiting for a kids menu, he apologised and said that he would go an sort it, still NOT taken our drinks order!! After 50 mins he came back with kids menu and finally took our drinks order and came back 10 mins after to take food order, without drinks! 10 mins after we then achieved getting the drinks that we had ordered 30 mins previous, we have now been in the restaurant for 1 hour and 10 mins and not 1 piece of food has passed our lips!! After 1 hour and 30 mins I went to the restaurant desk and explained that I was not happy and that I had been in the resturant for 1 hours and 30 mins and had not had any food, within 5 mins the food arrived at our table, we ordered more drinks when the food arrived and waited a further 30 mins for these to arrive and had to chase them also. Starters over with and it should be time for main course, well one would think!! Waiting for 2 hours and 15 mins and no main course!! I had started to lose my temper so my husband took over, as this evening should have been a really pleasant evening to celebrate my birthday and yet this hotel seemed to be on a very different wave length to us with this outlook!! After chasing the food ŷet again we finally get our main course 2 hours and 30 mins after entering the resturant, the time now is 10.15pm and our 10 year old son is just about to start eating his dinner! The duty manager came into have a conversation with my husband regarding the experience that we had during the evening and asked for the general manager of the hotel to see him the next day, the duty manager explained that this would not be possible as he was off this weekend! My husband was not impressed by this and said that if the general manager is of any sorts at his job he will be here tomorrow, as EVERY CUSTOMER in the resturant that evening had experienced the same issues, kitchen had a shocking service, he should be here to support and put things right. Needless to say the general manager did not appear the next day and didn't contact us either!!!!!!! This ruined my birthday and do you know what, I am half tempted to organised my birthday meal for next year now as the time scales that we worked to to get 1 meal, it could just about be enough time to receive the expected service!!!!!terrible!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed 1 night, and this was plenty. The website made the place appear much higher spec than it actually is, and so i was very disappointed when we arrived. The room was very basic, and very dated decor. The bed was really uncomfortable, and we didnt manage to get much sleep (even after a bottle of wine!) We had dinner in the so called Restaurant, but again it was very disappointing. The starters were good, but the main courses were terrible!! Paying £22 for a steak, you expect good things, but it was the chewiest steak ever! My garlic mash was so dry and tasteless, and overall not an enjoyable meal. The only good thing was the service. All the staff were good, just a shame about everything else!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAIR E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed for two nights and was a pleasant stay. Staff were friendly, hotel was well presented and is in a good location, hotel is pretty central to give access to all the local attractions. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsc2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
4.2 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.4 km away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
5.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
5.6 km away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.3 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): $107 - $218
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing