We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location to explore the surrounding...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stable

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The Stable
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jay99Swin...
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location to explore the surrounding areas”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have just spent 7 very enjoyable days at the stable. On driving onto site you are greeted by many colourful hanging baskets of flowers and stables for (very aminable) horses. The stable itself is very spacious with good size bath, kitchen and bedrooms all very clean. Lovely exposed oak beams with 2 mezamine floors make it visually very appealing. Edna the owner was more than helpful and welcoming. My 2 boys where besotted with having horses on site and in particular "blue light" & "bobbi" who was just opposite us. Although you are not meant to feed the horses talking to the owners in the morning they where happy for the horses to be slipped the occasionally carrot. Location wise you have Bournemouth airport literally around the corner which my boys where very happy to be spoilt with views of helicopters and airplanes. Please don't let this put you off as I can honestly say did not distract or keep us awake. Bournemouth is a 10/15 min drive away with a ok pier and nice beeches not to mention a quite impressive aquarium. Christchurch is a slightly longer 20 min drive to and can not recommend enough Mumford quay beach. Adventure park 5 mins around the corner (great for young children but proberly not elder ones) not to mention the vast & beautiful new forest to explore (best done on the open top bus routes). Best family holiday yet and was very sad to go. Will def go back again as lots we did not get to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spaces and my boys would kill me if I did not mention horses
Liked least: Furnishings a little tired but clean if newer would have to pay more for property so happy
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 6 days in june loved the place and the surrounding area.Found Edna the owner to be the most pleasant and very helpfull. Will certainly be returning here again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keddyflip
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quirky”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

With a surprisingly spacious living area, two mezzanine levels overlooking the ground floor and a lovely big corner bath - this let is very good value for money and easy on the eye. The original hay lofts, complete with their original wooden structure give a real old fashioned quirky feel to the place. It is wonderfully warm and being located on a farm offers great interest, especially with the stables opposite complete with their equine tenants. Our cocker spaniel loved the place!
If I had one criticism it was that the fixtures and fittings were beginning to look a little tired, however, it doesn't detract from its overall appeal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHILLHILL...
Skiathos Town, Greece
1 review
“a great location for dog, fishing and plane spotting lovers!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A great long weekend break with our cocker spaniels. Edna was a pleasant and attentive host. Excellent location close to amenities, fishing and country riverside walks - we'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“PERFCT FOR THE PRICE”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at the stable for 4 nights in September and had a very enjoyable time, we were lucky enough to have some decent weather and this place was in the perfect place as it was away from the busy towns which made it very peaceful. There is a airport about a 2 miles from the property but didnt cause us any problems as most planes looked like private light aircraft. There is a lovely pub and shop in walking distance and plenty of country walks or rides which we did.

If we were to be picky at all the property could do with some modernisation but this is reflected in the cost of staying here, i would recommend to other travellers and would love to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful loaction
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing