We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 164
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 376
USD 239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langtry Manor Hotel(Bournemouth)
USD 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 332
USD 259
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 151
USD 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 126
USD 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
USD 235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Green House(Bournemouth)
USD 267
USD 258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 161
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
421
458
132
63
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
458
132
63
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolwest wingsoft play areaboscombe pierkids clubsea viewhot tublovely hotelsmall gymthe main hotelbunk bedsleisure facilitiesfamily roomland trainfamily breakroom was largenight break
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Pleasant welcome, Our room clean but a long walk to find it, refreshments in room not replenished.Very good leisure facilities, the garden pretty, with easy access to the sea front at Boscombe. We were especially welcomed for dinner the waiting staff very helpful, polite smart and proficient. We liked the breakfast dining arrangements. We were large family party with every one well accommodated.

Room Tip: The main house balcony rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Photographs on the wall suggest Laurel & Hardy and Morecame & Wise stayed here and some might say the decor hasn't changed much since their day. The indoor pool and changing rooms are rather dated. It's not cheap for a 3* either - but the location is great and we had a family room with a sea view and wraparound balcony. The Funsters' children's entertainment is excellent - they soon won over our sceptical 9 and 8-year-old. The breakfast is good, offering a wide choice but with mediocre coffee. Dinner - we ate in once - was good, with an excellent children's buffet. Staff are generally friendly but the cleaner left our room half-way through the job because her shift was ending and she still had three rooms to do. We raised this with reception; the receptionist made a note but we didn't see another cleaner for a full 24 hours after raising the issue. An in-room guide to the hotel's facilities would be appreciated but the receptionist said the Chine didn't offer one....

Room Tip: Room 321 offers excellent sea views from the wraparound balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff and great charm! Food is great and is always a pleasure to stay here. Would recommend this to those that are looking for a relaxing time! Lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi! Swimming pool and gym included in the price.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank tonyblackpool501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed in a family room in August. The room was as expected, clean, nothing special really. Where the hotel does score well is the beautiful gardens and pool. Access to the beach (a short walk) and Chine gardens, which are fabulous, is through the hotel gardens, though wouldn't attempt it with a buggy due to steps and steepness..There is a small play area for kids along with softplay. The kids entertainers were a bit lacking compared to somewhere like Haven. The bar area was lovely as was the restaurant though we didn't eat there. The staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G844OTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We booked the chine for 1 night 2 day stay during August 2016 for 2 adults and daughter aged 13 to celebrate my husband's 49th birthday. We stayed in room 108, a double room with an additional camp style bed for daughter. It was in the basement area overlooking the car park. But with views of the sea in the distance. It was very tranquil and comfortable, with lovely red interior design.
Very kindly we were able to get an early check in, which enabled us to make the most of the birthday.
The gardens reminded me of the secret garden with its tiered pathway via the waterfall and pond to reach the gate out onto the lower part of boscombe chine gardens and boscombe pier.
It was near to amenities like boscombe chine gardens with its mini golf and clock café. On our way back we walked across the cliff path to see the red arrows doing lots of flight acrobatics as part of its annual Bournemouth airshow.

Later on we enjoyed the free facilities of the hotel's leisure centre such as the indoor pool, sauna and hot tub/Jacuzzi. Unfortunately it was bit windy with leaves falling that meant we couldn't use the outdoor pool. However the setting looked nice.

An additional part of the birthday treat included a pedicure for my husband with Ildiko - seaview beauty who are based in the hotel. My husband felt it was money well spent since Ildiko also gave advice on how to preserve the texture of his feet.

In the evening we walked through the gardens again to have our evening meal at urban reef with views of surfers braving the windy evening. Lovely food such as sea bass stuffed with fennel and dressed crab. Followed by light and creamy eton mess and a chocolate dessert consisting of pistachio mousse. Accompanied by good quality Italian wine.

Next day we enjoyed the indoor leisure facilities again and then had a lovely breakfast with home made porridge to order along with the normal full English buffet. The setting was beautiful with wide windows to let the sunlight in and to see the gardens below and the sea in front.

For any film buff the signed pictures in the lower hallway explain the nostalgia and heritage of the hotel. It was lovely to step back in time to this era but also have modern facilities.

We finished our trip with a long walk on the beach towards heginsbury head. Stopping midway for a drink of ginger beer at bistro on the beach and then we walked back via the cliff path.

Before we drove home we enjoyed good quality wood fired pizzas at the wood oven on the beach promenade by boscombe pier. Our choice was dorset consisting of local charcuterie meats, olives & house apple chutney. Drinks include classic milkshakes.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for its good value, facilities, location and nostalgia. Thank you for making the birthday treat so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Consider your budget and then discuss with staff what room will meet your needs.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews