We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have made my annual pilgrimage to Bournemouth the month before christmas for the last ten years and for a change this year I decided to try the New West Cliff on the recommendation of a friend that had stayed in October, just after the new owner had taken over.
When we arrived the first impressions were encouraging as the greeting was warm and welcoming. The room was immaculatley clean and very well furnished and the swimming pool so much better than we have experienced at other hotels we have stayed at locally. We had booked a package to include meals and I am so glad we did. The food was beautiful and you could tell the kitchen staff took a real pride in their work as it was presented so well.
I cannot thank my friend enough for the recommendation and I will definitly be back in the New Year to enjoy another weekend at the New West Cliff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    122
    79
    47
    48
See reviews for
95
209
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Booked to stay at the New Westcliff Hotel after seeing their offer on the Saturday Mail. Phoned the hotel and made the booking and was very pleased with the polite gentlemen that took the booking and our request as I am a gluten free customer which sometimes it can cause problems when going on holiday but was assured this wasn't an issue. A couple of days later received my confirmation letter and decided to come on trip advisor to find out what reviews the hotel had and was very chocked to read some of them and made me nervous about my future booking. Anyway I have now just came back from what I can say a true fantastic holiday where I will for sure be back soon. On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by a nice young chat who was talking to us as if he had known us for years which made us feel very comfortable as he also new that I had a gluten free diet without me mentioning it first which in my experience it hardly happens. Went down for dinner on the first night and WOW ... AMAZING dinner my husband and I had a fantastic meal every night, better than what we have experienced in 4 and 5 star hotels before. I always had a gluten free soup prepared for me and a gluten free sauce to go with my main meal. All the staffs were excellent from the moment we checked in to the moment we departed, nothing was ever too much for them. The entertainment was really good and the facilities where excellent. Talking to a lot of the guests at the hotel some come down 3 or more times a year and now I truly believe that we are going to be one of those customers as what you get at the New Westcliff Hotel is a amazing experience of having a fantastic holiday with the comforts of your own home.
Thank you all for giving us an amazing holiday and can’t wait till February when we are back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bath186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel staff good food very good presention of food very good hotel clean staff friendly and helpful a credit to your staff

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norfolklad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Tiny rooms, rockhard beds, useless shower, awfull breakfast this is the worst hotel that i have
ever stayed in bournemouth over the last 30yrs. dread to think what the old one was like

Room Tip: bring your own mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We returned to this hotel after a 12 year or so gap and were a bit disappointed. It has been refurbished and it was very clean. The staff we encountered were very nice but if you want a lazy lie in then forget it as the 2 chambermaids discuss their rooms and have a good moan about them in the corridor about 8.00am and they shout it at each other so all guests on that floor can't help but hear them. The food was ok not anything to shout about and for what we paid for our 2 night stay we were not expceting too much. The food was alot better when we stayed here several times before. I can't see us rushing back. The pool area was nice but the tiles in the pool above the water line could do with a good clean.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room and wondered what the standard room would be like as the room was quite sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
398 reviews
0.2 km away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
2.0 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,520 reviews
1.0 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.2 km away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Bournemouth

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): $119 - $196
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing