We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,180)
Filter reviews
2,180 results
Traveller rating
507
553
512
315
293
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
553
512
315
293
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa break west cliff a lovely stay self service short break leisure facilities town centre seafront
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,180 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and a friend booked a stay here through wowcher. We had a lovely twin room (202) which the lovely guy on reception recommended, the food was very nice (I had the sea bream) but the brownie for dessert tasted very cheap. Breakfast was great with lots of variety.

The spa area was great, never too busy and perfect temperature of water in pool and very hot hot tub.

Staff throughout the whole hotel were extremely helpful and friendly

Would definitely stay again.

Rianna and Olivia

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC11217, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review following your recent Wowcher stay with us here at The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found room 202 to be lovely and throughout your stay all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We are also pleased to read that you found the food nice including the sea bream and breakfast had lots of variety. We have passed onto the kitchen team your comments in regards to the brownie.

We are pleased you also enjoyed the spa facilities during your stay with us and found the temperature of the pool perfect.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came for a weekend visit between 14/09 & 16/09. We asked to be moved once due the first room smelling of smoke and small. We then got moved to room 56 whilst it didnt smell of smoke it was in a run down state. We didnt bother complaining for fear if being moved to a worse room.

I'll let the pictures tell you how bad it is. Though its the first room I've ever stayed in where daylight is visible through the bath tub!!!

There appears to have been a leak from the room above into the bathroom in room 56 but there has been no work to cover it up.

The management will reply saying the rooms are to be refurbished as part of their phase 2 refurbishment in the Autumn but surely they should be doing minor amendments to make the rooms at least be habitable and clean looking?

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC11217, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel.

The hotel has recently been acquired by a new company and is currently going through refurbishment.

Phase 1 of the refurbishment is now complete which has seen work to the infrastructure of the hotel, heating and water pressure systems and work commence on improving our leisure facilities

Phase 2 of the refurbishment commences in the autumn /winter when our public areas and number of our bedrooms will be refurbished. We do have a full time in house maintenance team who are working hard to rectify and make minor amendments to the rooms prior to the refurbishment.

Following you mentioning about your bathroom on check out we have now painted and refreshed the bathroom in room 56 prior to refurbishment.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to see the changes we have made

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great hotel and comfortable room with large ensuite bathroom. Great breakfasts. Very friendly and helpful staff . Used spa and indoor pool all working well and very relaxing . Plenty of on street parking to avoid car park charge . Would recommend for good value and friendliness of staff

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank _rachelsouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC11217, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review following your recent stay for your birthday with us here at The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We are also delighted to read that you found the room comfortable with large ensuite bathroom.

We are pleased you also enjoyed the spa and leisure facilities and found them to be very relaxing during your time with us.

As in line with many hotels in the Bournemouth area we charge for car parking at a reasonable cost per car.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few nights and the hotel is okay.
Room was clean and very large with a nice view, but hotel inside is very dated, e.g. old lift and stairways very small, although the main lounge and breakfast area are nice.
Breakfast was again just okay, ran out of various items during our stay, which was annoying. Also noticed other review and just like ourselves we had a few problems with the room key not working.
Swimming pool area had just been updated and looked nice, although we never used it, staff were nice and pleasant at all times. Nice garden area for sitting in after breakfast.
Hotel was very quite at night time, which was slightly disappointing.

We managed to free park on the road outside which was good as parking around the hotel is chargeable.

Pleasant location , and around 15 mins walk into the town or pier areas.
Would maybe try another hotel next time in the area, but stayed in a lot worse

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC11217, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel.

We are pleased you found the room to be clean and had a nice view.

The hotel was acquired by a new company earlier this year and an extensive refurbishment programme of works has been put into place to bring the hotel up to standard.

The new owners will be refurbishing all corridors and stairways along with updating a number of bedrooms and public areas in the the winter 2018 /early start of 2019.

We are also delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful at all times. We are pleased you also enjoyed our refurbished garden area.

We have recently installed a brand new keycard door lock system across the hotel which has replaced the system we were having problems with.

We are pleased you noticed that work had been carried out to our swimming pool facilities even tho you had not used these.

We are pleased to read that you found all the staff to be nice and pleasant.

Should you be visiting Bournemouth in the future we would be delighted to accommodate you and for you to see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

At first I thought the hotel was decent until the receptionist said the room key system isn't working to which anytime I needed access to my room, we would have to wait for an employee to come and open the door for us. Very annoying. At times there wasn't anyone at reception to assist.
The room window handle was broken hence we couldn't open the window in the heat degrees.
On the plus side the hotel was happy to store my baby's milk in their fridge and warm the food when needed. I applaud you for that. The room was clean and spacious. So was the bathroom.
Parking is free on the side streets hence do not pay at the hotel. FREE PARKING. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!!!! lol

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mczak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews